Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 11th November 2007, 08:02 PM
joe.pelayo Offline
An ape descendant
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mexico City
Age: 30
Posts: 3,104
Question How can I easily set up a network with Fedora 7 & 8?

Hello everybody.

Yesterday I faced the problem of managing my information and decided to keep a copy (for editing & accessing and such) in my desktop's computer big HDD, and keep a backup in an USB HDD.

I have a small router (4 ports) in which are plugged both my desktop and my laptop, and I want to give the laptop access to the files stored in the desktop through the network (it only provides internet to both machines now), I know it can be done because I did it in the past with Windows.

My question here is, what is the easiest way to do it? I mean, I have read a book I have "The Linux Bible" which deals with commands like export and such, but those commands simply fail with rpc/portmapper error messages! Up to this point I've edited the /etc/hosts file and can ping both machines, I have set the directory to share in /etc/exports, I've installed all NFS related stuff and made sure it is being run in both machines (rebooted several times to make changes take effect), I've told the router to keep the same IP for both machines (it used to change it from time to time), but to no avail: I can not share files between the machines! I'd like to see the file I am actually sharing in the "Network" section of Nautilus.

Something as simple as VNC remote desktop, which works like a charm with Ubuntu, simply refuses to work with Fedora (?). Is there something extra I have to do? It is supposed to be Linux at the end...

Thanks.
Joe.
__________________
Notebook: Acer Aspire 5536-5112.
AMD Athlon X2 QL64 @ 2.1GHz, 4GB DDR2 PC2-5300, ATI Radeon HD3200 (256MB), 250GB Toshiba HDD, HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GT20N
Fedora 16 x86_64

Netbook: Acer Aspire One A150
Intel Atom N270 @ 1.6GHz, 1.5 GB DDR2 PC2-4200, Intel Graphics (8MB?), 160GB Seagate HDD
Fedora 15 i686
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11th November 2007, 08:10 PM
Brian1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Seymour, Indiana
Posts: 2,509
Several post here describe setup for VNC. Check them out.
Yes Fedora can be be a server. All Linux distros are server. Just have to have the server app installed.

Brian
__________________
Distribution: RHEL 5.1 with Pieces of this and that.
Kernel 2.6.23.9, KDE 3.5.8 and KDE 4.0 beta, Plus Development src.rpm, ATI fglrx64_7_1_0-8.433-1 rpm with 3D and DRI working.
Acer 5100-5840 with webcam, ati, sdcard reader, sound, atheros based wireless, all working. Only thing not working is the memory stick reader.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th November 2007, 08:34 PM
joe.pelayo Offline
An ape descendant
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mexico City
Age: 30
Posts: 3,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian1
Several post here describe setup for VNC. Check them out.
Yes Fedora can be be a server. All Linux distros are server. Just have to have the server app installed.

Brian
Well, you see.. I am not really interested in setting up VNC, I just want to set up a basic network, and yes, all the NFS stuff is already installed and somehow configured, but it does not work still.

Any good tutorial at hand to set up NFS shares with Fedora? I found this one http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=94257 but don't know what server to configure.

Thanks.
Joe.
__________________
Notebook: Acer Aspire 5536-5112.
AMD Athlon X2 QL64 @ 2.1GHz, 4GB DDR2 PC2-5300, ATI Radeon HD3200 (256MB), 250GB Toshiba HDD, HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GT20N
Fedora 16 x86_64

Netbook: Acer Aspire One A150
Intel Atom N270 @ 1.6GHz, 1.5 GB DDR2 PC2-4200, Intel Graphics (8MB?), 160GB Seagate HDD
Fedora 15 i686
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th November 2007, 08:42 PM
Brian1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Seymour, Indiana
Posts: 2,509
Hi Joe is there a firewall enabled on the nfs server?
If so disable it for the moment and try connecting. If that works then NFS and some other things must be done if Firewall is up on Fedora systems. I would have to search for that link. But first disable the firewall if up.

Brian
__________________
Distribution: RHEL 5.1 with Pieces of this and that.
Kernel 2.6.23.9, KDE 3.5.8 and KDE 4.0 beta, Plus Development src.rpm, ATI fglrx64_7_1_0-8.433-1 rpm with 3D and DRI working.
Acer 5100-5840 with webcam, ati, sdcard reader, sound, atheros based wireless, all working. Only thing not working is the memory stick reader.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th November 2007, 08:45 PM
joe.pelayo Offline
An ape descendant
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mexico City
Age: 30
Posts: 3,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian1
Hi Joe is there a firewall enabled on the nfs server?
If so disable it for the moment and try connecting. If that works then NFS and some other things must be done if Firewall is up on Fedora systems. I would have to search for that link. But first disable the firewall if up.

Brian
In both the server and the client?
__________________
Notebook: Acer Aspire 5536-5112.
AMD Athlon X2 QL64 @ 2.1GHz, 4GB DDR2 PC2-5300, ATI Radeon HD3200 (256MB), 250GB Toshiba HDD, HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GT20N
Fedora 16 x86_64

Netbook: Acer Aspire One A150
Intel Atom N270 @ 1.6GHz, 1.5 GB DDR2 PC2-4200, Intel Graphics (8MB?), 160GB Seagate HDD
Fedora 15 i686
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th November 2007, 08:47 PM
joe.pelayo Offline
An ape descendant
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mexico City
Age: 30
Posts: 3,104
Can't I simply find out which ports are to be used and open them in the firewall?
__________________
Notebook: Acer Aspire 5536-5112.
AMD Athlon X2 QL64 @ 2.1GHz, 4GB DDR2 PC2-5300, ATI Radeon HD3200 (256MB), 250GB Toshiba HDD, HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GT20N
Fedora 16 x86_64

Netbook: Acer Aspire One A150
Intel Atom N270 @ 1.6GHz, 1.5 GB DDR2 PC2-4200, Intel Graphics (8MB?), 160GB Seagate HDD
Fedora 15 i686
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th November 2007, 09:11 PM
joe.pelayo Offline
An ape descendant
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mexico City
Age: 30
Posts: 3,104
Well, I used this tutorial/scripts, and it is now up & running http://fconfig.wordpress.com/2006/08...ra-nfs-server/

Thanks.
Joe.
__________________
Notebook: Acer Aspire 5536-5112.
AMD Athlon X2 QL64 @ 2.1GHz, 4GB DDR2 PC2-5300, ATI Radeon HD3200 (256MB), 250GB Toshiba HDD, HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GT20N
Fedora 16 x86_64

Netbook: Acer Aspire One A150
Intel Atom N270 @ 1.6GHz, 1.5 GB DDR2 PC2-4200, Intel Graphics (8MB?), 160GB Seagate HDD
Fedora 15 i686
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11th November 2007, 09:44 PM
Brian1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Seymour, Indiana
Posts: 2,509
Here is the info i used for NFS through a Firewall. http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...d.php?t=294069
Check post number 4.

Brian
__________________
Distribution: RHEL 5.1 with Pieces of this and that.
Kernel 2.6.23.9, KDE 3.5.8 and KDE 4.0 beta, Plus Development src.rpm, ATI fglrx64_7_1_0-8.433-1 rpm with 3D and DRI working.
Acer 5100-5840 with webcam, ati, sdcard reader, sound, atheros based wireless, all working. Only thing not working is the memory stick reader.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11th November 2007, 09:52 PM
joe.pelayo Offline
An ape descendant
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mexico City
Age: 30
Posts: 3,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian1
Here is the info i used for NFS through a Firewall. http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...d.php?t=294069
Check post number 4.

Brian
Thanks, I'll check it out.

Joe.
__________________
Notebook: Acer Aspire 5536-5112.
AMD Athlon X2 QL64 @ 2.1GHz, 4GB DDR2 PC2-5300, ATI Radeon HD3200 (256MB), 250GB Toshiba HDD, HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GT20N
Fedora 16 x86_64

Netbook: Acer Aspire One A150
Intel Atom N270 @ 1.6GHz, 1.5 GB DDR2 PC2-4200, Intel Graphics (8MB?), 160GB Seagate HDD
Fedora 15 i686
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11th November 2007, 10:34 PM
joe.pelayo Offline
An ape descendant
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mexico City
Age: 30
Posts: 3,104
Thanks a lot Brian1, I used the configuration you suggested and it worked! Now I don't even need to run strange scripts. Your's is a more civilized method.

Joe.
__________________
Notebook: Acer Aspire 5536-5112.
AMD Athlon X2 QL64 @ 2.1GHz, 4GB DDR2 PC2-5300, ATI Radeon HD3200 (256MB), 250GB Toshiba HDD, HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GT20N
Fedora 16 x86_64

Netbook: Acer Aspire One A150
Intel Atom N270 @ 1.6GHz, 1.5 GB DDR2 PC2-4200, Intel Graphics (8MB?), 160GB Seagate HDD
Fedora 15 i686
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11th November 2007, 10:36 PM
Brian1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Seymour, Indiana
Posts: 2,509
Your welcome. glad to be of help.
Brian
__________________
Distribution: RHEL 5.1 with Pieces of this and that.
Kernel 2.6.23.9, KDE 3.5.8 and KDE 4.0 beta, Plus Development src.rpm, ATI fglrx64_7_1_0-8.433-1 rpm with 3D and DRI working.
Acer 5100-5840 with webcam, ati, sdcard reader, sound, atheros based wireless, all working. Only thing not working is the memory stick reader.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
easily, fedora, network, set

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I update KDE offline easily? Hambo Using Fedora 4 5th October 2006 09:35 AM
How do install rpms files easily banner Using Fedora 10 28th April 2005 03:51 AM
How to easily install dev tools (gcc) Jman Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 2 15th November 2004 10:07 PM


Current GMT-time: 02:25 (Wednesday, 24-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat