Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 22nd October 2007, 10:49 AM
Prabhat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
install centos 5

Hi

I have a server running CentOS 4 with internet on it.
This server does not have floppy drive or CD drive (its Remote server)
How do i install CentOS 5 on it.

Thanks,
--

Prabhat
__________________
Prabhat Kumar
System Administrator
www.grmtech.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22nd October 2007, 10:51 AM
Wayne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Personally, I'd ask the CentOS people:

http://www.centos.org/modules/newbb/index.php?cat=8

Wayne
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd October 2007, 11:07 AM
Prabhat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
thank you very much, can you please give me that post.
__________________
Prabhat Kumar
System Administrator
www.grmtech.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd October 2007, 11:10 AM
Wayne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prabhat
thank you very much, can you please give me that post.
There is no post. Join the CentOS forum and ask your question

Wayne
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd October 2007, 11:18 AM
Prabhat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
thanks again,

actually my problem is that, I have remote server currently its on running state.
What I need,
Files that required to boot the system and that boot program can start install from ISO Image over any mirror site or from my hard drive or local network.

let me ask those people.
__________________
Prabhat Kumar
System Administrator
www.grmtech.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd October 2007, 12:35 PM
hermouche Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Algeria
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prabhat
thanks again,

actually my problem is that, I have remote server currently its on running state.
What I need,
Files that required to boot the system and that boot program can start install from ISO Image over any mirror site or from my hard drive or local network.

let me ask those people.
So, most of your setting will be on the Bios of this server box!!!
If you can config your Bios booting from a usb stick for example where you put the bootimage which is located on the iso image Fedora 7 CD/DVD, i guess it could work!!!

So as it was said earlier, you should ask those Centos Guru's, even though it's almost the same (Fedora/Centos)!!

red
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25th October 2007, 11:19 AM
Prabhat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
Hi, I got the sol,
I am writting here what excataly I have done.

Since, I have net connection on current system,

1. I have downloaded ISO image of centos 5 (1 CD only)
2. mkdir /mnt/temp
3. mount -o CentOS-5.0-x86_64-bin-1of7.iso /mnt/tmp
4. cp -a /mnt/tmp/isolinux/vmlinuz /boot/vmlinuzMy
5. cp -a /mnt/tmp/isolinux/initrd.img /boot/initrdMy.img
6. umount /mnt/tmp
7. Add entry to your /etc/grub.conf
title Fedora Core 2 Installation
root (hd0,0) kernel /boot/vmlinuzMy
initrd /boot/initrdMy.img
8. Reboot system
9. Now your is booted and ready for new installation.
10. Select installation method you want (FTP, HTTP or NFS probably). I have selected http
11. Give your Name server and ipdetails.
12. Give site & Dir (I have given)
mirror.stanford.edu
/yum/pub/centos/5/os/x86_64/

I think its ok to install now

even I have done post on my blog
__________________
Prabhat Kumar
System Administrator
www.grmtech.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
centos, install

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CentOS grub load vmlinuz-f11: can't found install.img (/dev/hda /dev/sda name issue) lovetide Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 25th June 2009 08:42 AM
Can I install both Fedora and CentOS on a Netbook? markw10 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 8 5th April 2009 05:20 AM
Installed F9 after CentOS, can't boot CentOS now drokmed Using Fedora 4 1st August 2008 02:39 AM
CentOS 1slorunner Linux Chat 11 18th February 2006 08:18 PM


Current GMT-time: 18:30 (Monday, 22-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Gare de Laroche - Migennes Instagram Photos - Parque De Las Ciencias Granada Instagram Photos - Frontier Park - Cheyenne, Wy Photos - Blacklisted, Street Gallery Instagram Photos - Vico Pempek Dan Es Kacang