Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 1st October 2007, 10:43 PM
tuna Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 30
Sopcast - anyone got it to work on F7

Hi everyone, I just wondered if anyone have got Sopcast or gsopcast to work on F7?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2nd October 2007, 11:30 AM
BlueC Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 733
No, but I may try. Did you try yet and did you find any problems?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd October 2007, 04:42 PM
tuna Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 30
I got the older versions to run (on FC6), but not anything later. Now I can't seem to find a working version....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd October 2007, 07:29 PM
BlueC Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 733
I just got it working. There was no problem. I just did...

Code:
wget http://apt.magiclinux.org/magic/2.1/unstable/RPMS.os/qsopcast-0.2.4-4mgc.i686.rpm
rpm -ivh qsopcast-0.2.4-4mgc.i686.rpm
That was it. Do "qsopcast" to run it.

It uses kaffeine as the player, so I guess you need that installed too. The menus are full of rubbish characters but I seem to recall that was the same in Windows too... other than that, it works nicely.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th October 2007, 12:45 AM
tuna Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 30
I ran qsopcast, but even though I got 100% I did not get video (I installed kaffeine as well). Does not anyone know a working gsopcast version that uses mplayer?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14th October 2007, 02:23 PM
moujik
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
i had the same problem running sopcast on windows as tuna.
do you know of other equivs working on linux i.e. tvants, tvu, ppmate(never got that one to work)?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th October 2007, 01:43 PM
tuna Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 30
I think only sopcast is available on Gnu/Linux. I don't think any of the other streaming programs work in wine either, but I would be quite pleased if I was wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19th October 2007, 11:43 PM
moujik
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
so, what do you have to do to make it work with kaffeine?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19th October 2007, 11:46 PM
moujik
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
do you have to have some additioanal plugins for firefox?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25th February 2008, 11:59 PM
asymptote Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueC
I just got it working. There was no problem. I just did...

Code:
wget http://apt.magiclinux.org/magic/2.1/unstable/RPMS.os/qsopcast-0.2.4-4mgc.i686.rpm
rpm -ivh qsopcast-0.2.4-4mgc.i686.rpm
That was it. Do "qsopcast" to run it.

It uses kaffeine as the player, so I guess you need that installed too. The menus are full of rubbish characters but I seem to recall that was the same in Windows too... other than that, it works nicely.
This link is outdated. Do you have a new download link (the one on the sopcast site doesn't work either) or can you send the rpm? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 26th February 2008, 08:40 AM
BlueC Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 733
Can't you use google like everyone else?

http://code.google.com/p/qsopcast/downloads/list

http://rpm.pbone.net/index.php3/stat....i586.rpm.html

etc
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 26th February 2008, 06:53 PM
asymptote Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 61
Believe it or not I actually did. A majority of the googling links to those chinese servers that aren't hosting the packages anymore. And what in god's name is the point of the forums if I should be googling then?? You know what, let's just take down all forums - from now on google is our forum! Makes perfect sense...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 26th February 2008, 08:12 PM
BlueC Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 733
great idea!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 22nd April 2008, 12:04 AM
asymptote Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 61
I haven't been Sopcast'ing lately because all the games are on people's embedded tv channels on justin.tv. Makes no sense to use this application that sucks up so much bandwidth you cannot navigate to other websites or use IRC. Praise for justin.tv/rags2riches
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sopcast, work

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New App: SopCast Player for Fedora and Ubuntu flyguy97 Using Fedora 152 6th September 2010 12:35 AM
Sopcast and gSopcast on Fedora 8 tuna Using Fedora 9 1st December 2008 11:58 AM
massenger work but firefox and program update didnt work mahmoud200m Servers & Networking 0 27th July 2008 07:27 PM
sopcast proglem in F8` cmanlee Using Fedora 4 16th December 2007 03:46 AM
Great work Fedora´s programmers, Fedora8 doesnt work on PS3. akenateb Mac Chat 5 9th November 2007 07:56 PM


Current GMT-time: 21:09 (Friday, 18-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat