Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 28th September 2007, 05:56 PM
Conquistador Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 18
Alacarte - Permission Error

Hello, I recently just re-installed F7 on my machine, and have run into a problem when trying to run alacarte. Here's the output when I try to run it from a terminal:

Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/alacarte", line 36, in <module>
    main()
  File "/usr/bin/alacarte", line 32, in main
    app = MainWindow(datadir, version, sys.argv)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/Alacarte/MainWindow.py", line 49, in __init__
    self.editor = MenuEditor()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/Alacarte/MenuEditor.py", line 36, in __init__
    self.__loadMenus()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/Alacarte/MenuEditor.py", line 59, in __loadMenus
    self.save(True)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/Alacarte/MenuEditor.py", line 63, in save
    fd = open(getattr(self, menu).path, 'w')
IOError: [Errno 13] Permission denied: '/home/Alex/.config/menus/applications.menu'
If anybody could help me out here, that'd be great.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28th September 2007, 06:01 PM
Iron_Mike Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ft Huachuca, AZ
Posts: 3,772
Have you tried running it as root?????
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th September 2007, 06:16 PM
Conquistador Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 18
Yes, I have, and yes, it works, but I've never had to do that before. Is there a way to fix it so I don't have to run it as root?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th September 2007, 06:42 PM
SlowJet Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,048
It works as user and is on the Control Center.
But a simple permissions denied would not cause a trace back or IOError
This looks supect fd =open(getattr(self, menu).path, 'w')
The disk may have an IO error
Or a bug.
How are your update? Check bugzilla.

SJ
__________________
Do the Math
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th September 2007, 07:55 PM
Conquistador Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 18
I got it working. It turns out that the folders .local and .config and everything in them were owned by root. I changed the ownership back to me, and everything works fine now.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
alacarte, error, permission

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Samba cifs error (mount error 13 = permission denied) jlrq74 Servers & Networking 10 23rd March 2009 06:01 PM
Alacarte kaiwan Using Fedora 0 16th May 2008 04:50 PM
Alacarte isn't sync'ed with the menu?!? duni Using Fedora 4 30th November 2006 01:40 AM
Alacarte Problem in FC6 RIKT Using Fedora 2 5th November 2006 10:07 AM
new menu editor, alacarte soongwoo Using Fedora 1 4th November 2005 11:37 PM


Current GMT-time: 21:08 (Monday, 01-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat