Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 17th September 2007, 06:28 PM
HayZam Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 80
Gnome problem

when i click on Applications , then choose add/remove software ,
the mouse keeps giving me working icon , and then , starting add/remove software window opens in the lower tool bar and nothing happens , it doesn't open ,

any help ?!

Last edited by HayZam; 17th September 2007 at 06:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17th September 2007, 08:06 PM
glennzo Offline
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Posts: 14,543
Internet connection working?
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th September 2007, 08:28 PM
jbannon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 909
You could try reinstalling pirut:

Code:
sudo yum remove pirut
sudo yum install pirut
Also, if you're running NetworkManager make sure it's giving the correct readings for your IP address and Netmask.
__________________
Best regards,
Jim Bannon
(Registered Linux User #405603 :) )
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th September 2007, 09:28 PM
HayZam Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 80
yes . the connection working ,

and i tried re-installing the pirut , and the problem still the same
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th September 2007, 09:30 PM
HayZam Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 80
yes the internet is working
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th September 2007, 11:52 PM
RJFUatHOME Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 437
Does the software updater still work?

It might be a corrupt rpm db or something. You could try repairing your rpm db.

rm /var/lib/rpm/__db*
rpm --rebuilddb


Note: That is two underscores before the db.


Just guessing..hope it helps...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18th September 2007, 03:25 PM
jbannon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 909
Look in /tmp for the lock file and remove it (you need to be root).
__________________
Best regards,
Jim Bannon
(Registered Linux User #405603 :) )
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gnome, problem

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gnome Problem(s) fedorafan2 Using Fedora 4 14th June 2007 03:53 AM
GNOME Problem discuss Servers & Networking 1 14th August 2006 09:25 AM
KDE/GNOME NIS problem anjin84 Using Fedora 0 1st August 2005 04:10 PM
A Gnome problem aodeath Using Fedora 2 11th July 2005 12:13 AM
gnome-ppp problem adityavaidya Servers & Networking 0 28th June 2005 03:30 PM


Current GMT-time: 15:44 (Wednesday, 23-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat