Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 4th May 2004, 02:55 AM
Bana Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Austin, Texas
Age: 27
Posts: 581
Why Blender as an extra?

Why isn't blender included in fedora? It is ~ 3 megs and singlehandedly covers the entire 3D modeling niche in linux (opensource). Is this some kinda oversight?
__________________
http://coolhands.blogspot.com/
binarybana AT gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 4th May 2004, 03:07 AM
Picomp314 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 532
hmmm... perhaps it has issues with some other more important (deemed) software... or the 2.6 kernel
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th May 2004, 03:35 AM
Finalzone Offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2,487
I think it is more about users' request to include this package as Blender 3D source can be freely distributed by commercial company. I am waitting for rpm Blender 2.33 as it includes the game engine(finally). Meanwhile, Blender 2.32 truly rocks for a 3D modeling though it is a bit steep for a learning curve.
__________________
Desktop CPU: AMD Phenom II(tm) X4 Processor 940 AM2+ - Memory: 8GB DDR2-RAM - GPU: Nvidia Geforce GTX 460 v2 - OS: Fedora 21 Workstation Alpha x86-64 and Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
Laptop Sony VAIO N250E - OS: Fedora 21 Alpha Design Suite i386.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th May 2004, 05:02 AM
Bana Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Austin, Texas
Age: 27
Posts: 581
I am trying to get into blender, have to get my ATI opengl working though, kinda slow in the 3dview. I have always wanted to do 3d modeling and blender is the absolute best way to do it.
__________________
http://coolhands.blogspot.com/
binarybana AT gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th May 2004, 05:43 AM
crackers Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 58
Posts: 3,423
Perhaps it's not included because not everyone wants/needs 3D modelling capabilities? Heck, for that matter, why do distros still include "bc" by default? I think I've used it once and that was only to see how/what it did...
__________________
Linux User #28251 (April '93)
Professional Java Geek :cool:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25th November 2004, 03:05 PM
clearer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Odense, Denmark
Age: 32
Posts: 588
Quote:
Originally Posted by crackers
Perhaps it's not included because not everyone wants/needs 3D modelling capabilities? Heck, for that matter, why do distros still include "bc" by default? I think I've used it once and that was only to see how/what it did...
Perhaps I don't need KDE, GIMP, all the server software or most of what else is in Fedora Core 1/2/3 - still, it's included. Not everyone needs every piece of software, but if enough do, it will be included. More interessting is, why no proper media players are included - I think we got past the point where people are scared of patent issues. Or what?
__________________
I am not a lawyer.
Fedora: AMD Phenom II 905e @ 4x2500 MHz, Raspberry Pi B 512 MB @ 1x800 MHz, Raspberry Pi B 256 MB @ 1x700 MHz
Debian: BeagleBoard xM @ 1x1000 MHz, Apple PowerMac G5 @ 2x1800 MHZ
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25th November 2004, 03:56 PM
crackers Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 58
Posts: 3,423
Quote:
Originally Posted by clearer
More interessting is, why no proper media players are included - I think we got past the point where people are scared of patent issues. Or what?
No, it's not that they're "scared" of patent issues - the problem is the patent issues are quite real for a public company. They're a sitting duck for a lawsuit if they just ignore the patents. On the other hand, it's not worth it to the patent holders to go after an individual that has no real money (less than $10 million, say), so that's why we can still get the codecs via non-official respositories.
__________________
Linux User #28251 (April '93)
Professional Java Geek :cool:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25th November 2004, 04:49 PM
foolish Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Aalesund, Norway
Age: 28
Posts: 1,888
You won't see new packages added to the Core unless they're requested by a huge amount of users. It's much more likely that when Extras is in place, more packages will be removed from Core and moved to Extras.

However, I imagine some smart people will add the "extras cd" functionality to anaconda which will allow you to download cds containg some extra software you'd like and use them in the installer. If this does not happen, you can always just yum install blender after install.

What I'm trying to say is that blender won't make it into Core, it's just not vital enough. It will be in Extras, and there might be some way to make Extras much better integrated into the Core. We'll see when Extras is ready.
__________________
Sindre Pedersen Bjørdal || http://www.fedorasolved.org || Hardware Profile
- Please adhere to the FedoraForum Guidelines.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26th November 2004, 06:03 AM
Jman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 7,909
I seem to remember the first boot config asking me for another CD. That's a good place for extras CDs.

Blender does look nice. For sure it needs to be packaged for Fedora. Whether it gets in Core depends on if Core needs a 3D modeler and if Blender is the best one for the job.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27th November 2004, 09:04 PM
sailor Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Antonio, Texas - Home of the Alamo, the "Cradle of Texas Liberty"
Age: 56
Posts: 4,113
Blender is a cool app...but it certainly is kinda confusing. I probably need to find some documentation and figure it all out.
__________________
**********************************************
sailor
San Antonio, Texas

Fedora 20 - Lenovo IdeaPad V570
**********************************************
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 27th November 2004, 10:13 PM
Finalzone Offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2,487
Latest version of Blender 2.35 is impressive, customizable. The team finally include the global undo (ctrl+z). The good thing is Blender can run on any non-accelerate hardware.
For the documentation, I suggest to get a book or visit www.blender3d.com. Once you will get used to the command, Blender is fun to use.
__________________
Desktop CPU: AMD Phenom II(tm) X4 Processor 940 AM2+ - Memory: 8GB DDR2-RAM - GPU: Nvidia Geforce GTX 460 v2 - OS: Fedora 21 Workstation Alpha x86-64 and Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
Laptop Sony VAIO N250E - OS: Fedora 21 Alpha Design Suite i386.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 28th November 2004, 04:43 AM
crackers Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 58
Posts: 3,423
I just found something that's really puzzling. In KDE 3.1, the program kpovmodeler was a part of the kdegraphics package. Now, in FC's version of 3.3.1, it's not there - but the user documentation is! Go figure...
__________________
Linux User #28251 (April '93)
Professional Java Geek :cool:
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 28th November 2004, 05:16 AM
Finalzone Offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2,487
I think kpovmodeler is included in another package. That was the same thing with Quanta which is now a part of kdewebdev package.
__________________
Desktop CPU: AMD Phenom II(tm) X4 Processor 940 AM2+ - Memory: 8GB DDR2-RAM - GPU: Nvidia Geforce GTX 460 v2 - OS: Fedora 21 Workstation Alpha x86-64 and Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
Laptop Sony VAIO N250E - OS: Fedora 21 Alpha Design Suite i386.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 28th November 2004, 06:16 AM
crackers Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 58
Posts: 3,423
Then why would the docs be installed without the application? I can't seem to find it any FC kde-related package - would you happen to hazard a guess where it is? I don't mind compiling stuff myself, but I really prefer managing through RPMs - mostly because I'm lazy and hate having to keep track of stray tarballs in case I need to uninstall...

As for quanta, it used to be a separate package, which actually makes it moving to the webdev package pretty sensible.
__________________
Linux User #28251 (April '93)
Professional Java Geek :cool:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
f10 and Blender S. Chapelin Hardware & Laptops 4 3rd September 2009 11:54 PM
Blender 2.45 bug 601210 Using Fedora 0 31st October 2007 03:02 PM
Extra, Extra - Bittorrent update in rawhide SlowJet Fedora Focus 2 21st January 2007 05:54 AM
Blender Berticus Using Fedora 7 15th November 2005 10:35 PM
Blender cederstrom Using Fedora 0 16th August 2005 09:27 AM


Current GMT-time: 17:37 (Monday, 24-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Imzourene Travel Photos on Instagram - Esposende - Ilkal