Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 9th July 2007, 07:54 PM
KiwiPete Offline

How to share /home partition with Ubuntu

Hi there from a newbie Fedora user.
I've been dabbling with Linux for 6 months or so, and initially set up a dual boot system with WinXP and Ubuntu (6.10 and recently upgraded to 7.04).
I had heard a lot of good things about Fedora, so thouht I'd add Fedora 7 as a third OS on my machine.
Here is how my two hard drives are partitioned and used:

Drive 1 - 60 Gb - just one partition - NTFS - WinXP and files/docs.

Drive 2 - 300Gb - partitioned as follows:
Partition 1 - 10Gb - NTFS - reserved in case I ever want to add another Win OS - nothing on it at the moment.
Partition 2 - about 263 Gb - ext3 - used for /home by Ubuntu 7.04
Partition 3 - 15Gb - logical partition divided into 3 sub-partitions, 5,6 and 7 see below.
Partition 4 - 2Gb - swap
Partition 5 - 5Gb - ext3 - / for Ubuntu 7.04
Partition 6 - 5Gb - ext 3 - / for Fedora 7
Partition 7 - 5Gb - ext3 - reserved for / for another Linux partition if I ever want it.

Right, here is my question...
I want Fedora and Ubuntu to share the /home partition (partition 2) so that user settings and files are common to both OS.
When I installed Fedora, I specified Partition 2 as /home but afterwards had prblems with files in that partition appraently locked - could read them but not write them - problem with permissions I assume. I was unable to fix that - and there were other problems too.
Someone on the Ubuntu foum suggested that Ubuntu and Fedora would need to share common User abd Group IDs before they coukld share the /home partition. So I used grep <my user name> /etc/passwd in both OS to se the UID and GID and yesd they were different - Ubuntu was 1000:1000 and Fedora 500:500. So I edited the Fedora passwd file to make it 1000:1000. And I then copied the mount details for /home in Ubuntu and appeneded them to /etc/fstab in Fedora. Tis was all on the advice I got in the Ubuntu forum.