Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 29th April 2004, 04:49 PM
z1xq Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15
Question Fedora Test XP dual boot

Is there any known way to dual boot XP and Fedora Test? After Installing Fedora it makes XP unbootable by any method. I edited grub, used another boot loader, and every other suggestion I could find. Even if I do not install grub to the MBR it does the same thing. I also tried installing it to a separate hard disk and write the boot record to the /dev/hdb instead of /dev/hda, but it was a total no-go. Also the GAG boot Loader will not under any circumstances boot this operating system, and I think this issue is related to the XP problem. There must be some way around this. Please help.
__________________
this is me

Last edited by z1xq; 29th April 2004 at 05:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29th April 2004, 06:13 PM
sailor Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Antonio, Texas - Home of the Alamo, the "Cradle of Texas Liberty"
Age: 56
Posts: 4,113
it sounds to me like you may installed over your win xp...the hda is the first harddrive (most likey where you have winxp)...did you make a partition before installing?...did you manually partition disk for FC when prompted during the install?...

you can fix the master boot record by booting the PC with you Winxp cdrom....and once all has loaded, select 'R' for recovery
at the prompt type "fixmbr"....you should be able to re-boot to Win XP...
__________________
**********************************************
sailor
San Antonio, Texas

Fedora 20 - Lenovo IdeaPad V570
**********************************************

Last edited by sailor; 29th April 2004 at 06:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th April 2004, 06:28 PM
z1xq Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15
I made separate partitions for all my OSs. I have been using Linux with Windows dual boots for over 5 years. It is a matter of Windows refusing to boot no matter what partition or grub layout I use. This conclusion is the result of over 10 separate installs of test 3 and XP. I can put another linux on with it as long as I put the other Linux in first. Fedora test will only load with it's own grub, but it will load other Linux. BUT it will not load XP no matter what, and another linux' grub will not load fedora test. I have no prob with Fedora 1 just the test. Has anyone encountered this and figured it out? The fixboot and fixmbr from XP disc do not work. I have to overwrite the master boot record with a pattern of 0s in order to reinstall windows. The command to do this is "#dd if=/dev/zero of/dev/hda bs=1000 count=1000" if anyone needs it to reinstall windows. It must be executed from a separate disk and not /dev/hda . I used a knoppix cd. I know using Windows sucks, but at the moment I need it for work and if I cannot figure this out I can't test Fedora. Thanks.
__________________
this is me

Last edited by z1xq; 29th April 2004 at 06:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th April 2004, 06:49 PM
sailor Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Antonio, Texas - Home of the Alamo, the "Cradle of Texas Liberty"
Age: 56
Posts: 4,113
ok ...i wasnt sure of your level of experience...so I started at the most common problems...
I have not messed with FC2 at this point...
plenty of quirks with FC1 that keep me busy...It may well be a problem with WIn XP...other folks have had problems like you described with FC1 and WinXP where XP fails to boot and nothing will fix it....I don't think it was ever figured out...
__________________
**********************************************
sailor
San Antonio, Texas

Fedora 20 - Lenovo IdeaPad V570
**********************************************

Last edited by sailor; 29th April 2004 at 06:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th April 2004, 06:57 PM
z1xq Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15
If the admin sees my thread please move it to the fedora test area, as I put it here by mistake.
__________________
this is me
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30th April 2004, 05:18 PM
sailor Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Antonio, Texas - Home of the Alamo, the "Cradle of Texas Liberty"
Age: 56
Posts: 4,113
I have been lookin around for info on grub and Fedora Test problems
and I found a similar problem in another forum:


Quote:
I have my xp on the first partition of my 40Gb hard disk .I installed Fedora core 2 test 1 in the second partiton and I installed
the grub in the master boot and I make the xp the defualt .My problem now that I am not able to boot to my xp it gives me
(hd0,1)
chainloader +1
but ican go to fedora
is it a bug in fedora ?

I solved it by changing :

rootnoverify (hd0,1) to rootnoverify (hd0,0)

because grub starts counting from 0 so(hd0,0) means first partition in the first hard disk
__________________
**********************************************
sailor
San Antonio, Texas

Fedora 20 - Lenovo IdeaPad V570
**********************************************

Last edited by sailor; 30th April 2004 at 05:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30th April 2004, 11:11 PM
Prometheus Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 374
Which test are you using, T2 or T3? I dont know of anyone having this problem with T2 thats why im asking, but maybe windows is just being really pissy. I know when i installed FC1 Grub wouldnt do anything with windows so i had to overwrite the MBR and stuff, still havent figured out how to get it to work without manually pulling the cables on hdds. In grub, you might want to try changing (hd0,1) to (hd0,0)) assuming that is that windows is on the primary partition. If windows is on anyother partition it refuses to work, just how windows is designed. Oh, well looks what i just said was said by sailorsgh, oh well, hope you get it working
__________________
Registered Linux User #371104

Become a Registered Linux User Here
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1st May 2004, 01:42 PM
comprookie2000 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: ft.lauderdale fl.
Age: 59
Posts: 2
Same thing happened to me,only worse,I could not even boot from a cd anymore and I don't have a floppy,had to edit bios to get cd to boot,never had this with any other dist. and I have tried many.david
__________________
We are having fun now!!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 1st May 2004, 04:46 PM
Darkmage Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 462
I never had a problem with dual booting with Win and I use partition magic to partition the hard drive. I just did an install of FC2T3 and it is running like a champ.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 4th May 2004, 03:05 AM
larkguit Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4
Cool Partition Magic

I waited until my copy of Partition Magic arrived before I even tried installing Fedora.

(Now that Fedora is running I'm deleting the windows versions for the real Linux versions)
__________________
larkguit
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 26th May 2004, 02:49 PM
dragon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 72
Lots of people are having this problem - please take a look at my fedora forum posts at http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/sho...=&postid=14703

I've noted a couple of solutions which have been discussed on various mailing lists.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 13th May 2007, 08:25 PM
dgato Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: montana
Posts: 15
got the same issue with fc7 test 4
grub shows :
(hd0,1)
chainloader +1

changed rootnoverify (hd0,1) to rootnoverify (hd0,0)
this did not work. when trying safe mode for windows it gives me the choice then i get the black screen with
GRUB_
besides that it starts into the recovery console for a soft restore,that doesnt do anything because the reboot goes straight into the recovery again.
cant do anything after that. ive read alot and am going to try some other stuff.
if i get it by some godly means i will post how i did it.
im thinking its booting into a seperate partition in which compaq stores the recovery?
__________________
:D :eek: :confused: :p :mad: :) ;) :mad: ;) :D
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 15th May 2007, 04:43 AM
dgato Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: montana
Posts: 15
after reading the first # is the drive and the second is the partition on the drive i changed the grub boot to hda 0,2
first thing i seen was the xp screen.
so my dual boot is going now except when it was booting to the recovery i got frustrated and did it. so im back to a bit of updateing again.

but it is working.
i had the feeling that would do the trick in the first place, but i think i sabotage myself when it comes to stuff so ill have something to do.
__________________
:D :eek: :confused: :p :mad: :) ;) :mad: ;) :D
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 15th May 2007, 04:44 AM
dgato Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: montana
Posts: 15
******by the way it was by no means "godly"******
__________________
:D :eek: :confused: :p :mad: :) ;) :mad: ;) :D
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, dual, fedora, test

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to create a dual-boot (dual boot) with Windows XP Home Edition and Fedora Core 5: Genecks Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 5 18th October 2011 01:05 PM
Dual boot FC4 & FC5 (test 2) Joe48 EOL (End Of Life) Versions 1 30th January 2006 10:33 AM
Fedora Core 2 test 2 (redhat) doesn't boot! Geck Using Fedora 1 18th April 2004 11:02 PM


Current GMT-time: 16:19 (Tuesday, 23-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat