Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 17th June 2007, 08:02 AM
mrmailer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 122
Suspend to ram on HP ze4400 - on resume, no keyboard/video

Suspend to ram on HP ze4400 - on resume, no keyboard/video

Any ideas? Fedora 7
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17th June 2007, 01:24 PM
hceylan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Istanbul Turkey
Age: 40
Posts: 93
Hello,

I was surprised to see how far linux has gone in M$ world when I installed Fedora7. On my HP DV8000 everything (including dialup, wireless, SD reader etc.) works.

The only remaining thing is the suspend/hibernate.

I am having the same problem. Linux has a very wide contributer community. I think as suspend requires some activities to stop and start after coming alive, not all the modules in kernel are very good at.

For suspend/hibernate I think we should give another 1 year or so for it to become mature...

Hasan Ceylan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th June 2007, 11:12 PM
mrmailer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 122
suspend to ram works well with my dell e1505.
I had a similar machine to this HP with same problem a while back.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th June 2007, 08:12 PM
hceylan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Istanbul Turkey
Age: 40
Posts: 93
Could you plase try to suspend with minimum boot like init 1 and most kernel modules rmmod'ed and post back if it works?

Thanks,

Hasan Ceylan
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th June 2007, 12:45 AM
mrmailer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 122
Can you explain how to do so? Using pm-utils, or what?
so telinit 1 and rmmod most modules, then pm-suspend?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th June 2007, 05:13 AM
hceylan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Istanbul Turkey
Age: 40
Posts: 93
Yes that is what I mean.

Not that it is the solution but just out of curiosity. I will try the same...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th June 2007, 01:28 PM
hceylan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Istanbul Turkey
Age: 40
Posts: 93
This morning I tried to suspend from tty1 with init 1 and rmmod'ed almost all the modules. Still my HP could not get back on its feet on resume....

Hasan Ceylan
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th June 2007, 02:39 PM
Dan Online
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,220
Hmmm.

My HP ze4427 and HP ze5170 both suffer the same problem. My HP dv4217, however, works flawlessly in this regard.


Dan
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20th June 2007, 04:44 PM
jlc Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 83
For anyone to really be able to help you all, you need to give some specs on your laptop's like wireless/video.

Have any of you tried this page?
http://people.freedesktop.org/~hughsient/quirk/

Here is what I needed to do to get F7 to suspend on my Dell E1505 with ati x1400 and ipw3945

fglrx how too
http://blog.justinconover.com/2007/0...on-dell-e1505/

ipw3945 how too.
http://blog.justinconover.com/2007/06/20/ipw3945-f7/
__________________
blog
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22nd June 2007, 07:38 AM
hceylan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Istanbul Turkey
Age: 40
Posts: 93
Hi There,

I tried to start my system with emercengy boot option (which loads minimum of everything). Then tried pm-suspend. That did not worked either.

May be starting with the emergency olsa skips some of the modules required to come back from suspend mode, I do not know. But it did not work out...

I will do what you asked for jlc...

Hasan Ceylan
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
keyboard or video, ram, resume, suspend, ze4400

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suspend/Resume neoire Hardware & Laptops 0 14th September 2009 12:21 AM
f7 suspend resume on a T41 ?? dan sawyer Hardware & Laptops 1 15th September 2007 11:24 PM
suspend/resume kirby92 Hardware & Laptops 5 12th March 2005 04:54 PM


Current GMT-time: 12:44 (Tuesday, 29-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat