Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 9th June 2007, 02:17 PM
Quaxo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 36
Posts: 39
LimeWire and Java... I broke one of the two, but which?

Now I did this before and everything worked perfectly. I recently had to reinstall Linux though, and something appears to have screwed up somewhere along the line. Either Java isn't installed correctly or LimeWire isn't.

I installed Java. 'rpm -q jre' reports 'jre-1.6.0_01-fcs' only. I guess that's normal (?). Next, I installed LimeWire using LimeWireOther from LimeWire's website, the same as I did before when it worked fine. It was recommended to me by someone to use that one instead of LimeWireLinux. However, when I ran LimeWire, the LimeWire window would open, it would place its icon on the tray, and the 'Upgrade Limewire' box would appear, followed by the 'Tip of the Day' box. However, the Limewire window itself is empty. No menus, no tabs, nothing. Right clicking the tray icon and selecting 'Exit' works just fine, the little 'Exiting LimeWire' box opens and LimeWire closes.

What I've tried:
Removing LimeWire and installing again. No change.
Removing and installing LimeWireLinux. No change.
Removing and reinstalling Java. No change.

'rpm -q java' reports 'jre-1.6.0_01-fcs'

'which java' gives an odd report though:
Quote:
[root@localhost ~]# which java
/usr/bin/which: no java in (/usr/kerberos/sbin:/usr/kerberos/bin:/opt/jdkl.6.0_01/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/root/bin)
From what I read, this isn't the way the report from this should look.

Any ideas of where to go from here?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 9th June 2007, 09:24 PM
dominikm86 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
hi. this is not answering your question but i have a related question so i decided to add to this rather then starting new topic. i downloaded LimeWireLinux.rpm off the linux site and am trying to install it onto my linux fedora 6 and when i try to install it it start to retrieve software information and then gets a error resolving dependency and in the details it says "Missing Dependency: j2re >= 1.4.1 is needed by package LimeWire-free". does anyone know why it does this and how i can fix it?
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th June 2007, 02:40 AM
Quaxo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 36
Posts: 39
Do a search for 'j2re >= 1.4.1'. That's a common problem.

Last edited by Quaxo; 10th June 2007 at 04:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th June 2007, 04:28 AM
GammaPoint Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 102
Use Frostwire instead of Limewire. It was developed by the Limewire community and you can install it with 'yum'.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th June 2007, 04:37 AM
Quaxo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 36
Posts: 39
That isn't a solution to my problem. I don't need to know what programs one person or the other might think is better. I need to know what's wrong with mine and how to fix it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th June 2007, 04:48 AM
u-noneinc-s Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wine Country, California
Posts: 2,850
You can test your java here.
http://sfports.wr.usgs.gov/wind/streaklines.shtml
__________________
Mark N.

Perpetual Newbie
--
I wanted to proclaim myself "The Typo King" but there's way too much competion. :p

411874 Get Counted
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10th June 2007, 06:25 AM
Quaxo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 36
Posts: 39
It appears Java isn't working in Firefox either. Java items on webpages aren't loading. Reports that 'Additional plugins are required'.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10th June 2007, 06:42 AM
Quaxo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 36
Posts: 39
Ok, I've installed Frostwire just to see what happens, and it's the exact same result. The program loads, but there's nothing in the window (see screenshot). I take it I screwed up something installing Java, but how to I track down what might have gone wrong?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	frost.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	54.0 KB
ID:	12395  
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10th June 2007, 07:16 AM
u-noneinc-s Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wine Country, California
Posts: 2,850
http://www.mjmwired.net/resources/mjm-fedora-fc6.html
If this is for F7, there is a link to those notes.
I'm not sure but I think Limewire only needs the jre and not the full java.
I think different people install jre to different locations. I have jre just installed to /usr/lib/jre1.5_10 (guess I'm a little behind). But it seems to work fine. I think some install it in /opt. And maybe others somewhere else.
I have the plugin (/usr/java/jre1.5.0_10/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so) linked to ~/.mozilla/plugins
I can't tell you whether or not the plugin has anything to do with limewire.
__________________
Mark N.

Perpetual Newbie
--
I wanted to proclaim myself "The Typo King" but there's way too much competion. :p

411874 Get Counted
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10th June 2007, 08:19 AM
leadgolem Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Age: 30
Posts: 2,857
I would suggest disabling desktop effects, and/or beryl, and relaunching it. Sometimes they can give you problems. Out of curiosity, do you have an nvidia card with kmod-nvidia installed?
__________________
S.C.O.U.R.G.E. Heroes of lesser renown, contributor.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11th June 2007, 01:26 AM
Quaxo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Age: 36
Posts: 39
No, it's an ATI card. But, you were right about something. The one difference I forgot about from my previous install... I've got Gnome+XGL working now. I disabled it and LimeWire works fine. I can't believe I didn't even think about that. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11th June 2007, 02:20 AM
leadgolem Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Age: 30
Posts: 2,857
No problem. Where you aware that fedora 6 and up has compiz installed by default? AIXGL is what compiz uses fom the default install. Usually it works better then XGL. You could also give beryl a shot.
Code:
yum install beryl-gnome
__________________
S.C.O.U.R.G.E. Heroes of lesser renown, contributor.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
broke, java, limewire

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
limewire or java nnadithya Using Fedora 7 24th February 2007 12:42 AM
limewire and java kelxso Using Fedora 10 14th December 2006 09:12 PM
Limewire Pro and java Rick069 Using Fedora 5 1st October 2005 04:40 PM
limewire and java nacchrist Using Fedora 3 5th July 2005 08:20 PM
Limewire/Java? carlwill Using Fedora 13 19th May 2005 12:27 PM


Current GMT-time: 00:37 (Thursday, 23-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Ambanja Travel Photos - Payshanba Travel Photos - Piazza Armerina Instagram Photos