Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 13th May 2007, 08:39 AM
marklf Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: China
Posts: 128
yum problem in F7t4

That is what I find today with my newly installed F7t4:
Quote:
[marklf@Home_Of_Mark ~]$ sudo yum update yum
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Could not retrieve mirrorlist http://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/mir...evel&arch=i386 error was
[Errno 14] HTTP Error 500: Date: Sun, 13 May 2007 07:23:11 GMT
Server: Apache/2.2.4 (Fedora)
Content-Length: 632
Content-Type: text/html; charset=iso-8859-1
Connection: close

Setting up Update Process
Resolving Dependencies
--> Running transaction check
---> Package yum.noarch 0:3.1.7-2.fc7 set to be updated
Checking deps for yum.noarch 0-3.1.7-2.fc7 - u
Checking deps for yum.noarch 0-3.1.6-3.fc7 - None
--> Processing Dependency: yum = 3.1.6-3.fc7 for package: yum-updatesd
--> Processing Dependency: yum-metadata-parser >= 1.1.0 for package: yum
--> Restarting Dependency Resolution with new changes.
--> Running transaction check
Checking deps for yum-updatesd.noarch 0-3.1.6-3.fc7 - None
---> Package yum-updatesd.noarch 0:3.1.7-2.fc7 set to be updated
Checking deps for yum-updatesd.noarch 0-3.1.7-2.fc7 - u
Checking deps for yum-metadata-parser.i386 0-1.0.4-1.fc7 - None
---> Package yum-metadata-parser.i386 0:1.1.0-1.fc7 set to be updated
Checking deps for yum-metadata-parser.i386 0-1.1.0-1.fc7 - u

Dependencies Resolved

================================================== ===========================
Package Arch Version Repository Size
================================================== ===========================
Updating:
yum noarch 3.1.7-2.fc7 development 527 k
Updating for dependencies:
yum-metadata-parser i386 1.1.0-1.fc7 development 24 k
yum-updatesd noarch 3.1.7-2.fc7 development 22 k

Transaction Summary
================================================== ===========================
Install 0 Package(s)
Update 3 Package(s)
Remove 0 Package(s)

Total download size: 573 k
Is this ok [y/N]: y
Downloading Packages:
(1/3): yum-metadata-parse 100% |=========================| 24 kB 00:01
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/yum", line 29, in <module>
yummain.main(sys.argv[1:])
File "/usr/share/yum-cli/yummain.py", line 172, in main
base.doTransaction()
File "/usr/share/yum-cli/cli.py", line 301, in doTransaction
problems = self.downloadPkgs(downloadpkgs)
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/yum/__init__.py", line 808, in downloadPkgs
cache=po.repo.http_caching != 'none',
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/yum/yumRepo.py", line 534, in getPackage
cache=cache
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/yum/yumRepo.py", line 516, in _getFile
http_headers=headers,
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/urlgrabber/mirror.py", line 411, in urlgrab
return self._mirror_try(func, url, kw)
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/urlgrabber/mirror.py", line 397, in _mirror_try
return func_ref( *(fullurl,), **kwargs )
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/urlgrabber/grabber.py", line 927, in urlgrab
return self._retry(opts, retryfunc, url, filename)
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/urlgrabber/grabber.py", line 845, in _retry
r = apply(func, (opts,) + args, {})
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/urlgrabber/grabber.py", line 922, in retryfunc
apply(cb_func, (obj, )+cb_args, cb_kwargs)
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/yum/__init__.py", line 705, in verifyPkg
if not po.verifyLocalPkg():
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/yum/packages.py", line 531, in verifyLocalPkg
(csum_type, csum) = self.returnIdSum()
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/yum/sqlitesack.py", line 162, in returnIdSum
return (self.checksum_type, self.checksum_value)
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/yum/sqlitesack.py", line 102, in __getattr__
(self.pkgId,))
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/yum/sqlutils.py", line 148, in executeSQLQmark
return cursor.execute(query, params)
sqlite3.OperationalError: no such column: checksum_value
anyone knows what should I do? Thanks a lot!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th May 2007, 02:11 PM
ryptyde Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tragic City, Michigan USA
Posts: 1,647
You could wait and retry as there could be a short lag time for dependencies to become available. Also I normally just let "Package Updater" alert me to available updates and it has been working fine here as I initially installed F7T2 and have been progressing along with a few minor problems that were resolved by waiting and retrying.

Edit: sometimes you can:
Code:
# yum clean all
and retry your package updater.

Last edited by ryptyde; 13th May 2007 at 02:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th May 2007, 02:43 PM
marklf Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: China
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryptyde
You could wait and retry as there could be a short lag time for dependencies to become available. Also I normally just let "Package Updater" alert me to available updates and it has been working fine here as I initially installed F7T2 and have been progressing along with a few minor problems that were resolved by waiting and retrying.

Edit: sometimes you can:
Code:
# yum clean all
and retry your package updater.
Thanks! I have tried 'clean all' with no luck at all!

I spend hours to newly REINSTALL the F7 t4, and find the problem remains!!!
Maybe that is the problem of the repositories?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th May 2007, 03:14 PM
lunixfanboy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MidWest
Age: 63
Posts: 16
I ran into the same problem last evening. Today, I went to one of the mirrors listed and went to the developement directory and grabbed yum, yum-metadata-parser, and yum-updatesd rpms, downloaded and updated locally (rpm -Uvh yum*) and that cleared up the problem with the "no such column: check-sum" error. My update is proceeding now. Unfortunately, it is 134 packages, so will be a while.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th May 2007, 03:21 PM
ryptyde Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tragic City, Michigan USA
Posts: 1,647
Quote:
Originally Posted by marklf
Thanks! I have tried 'clean all' with no luck at all!

I spend hours to newly REINSTALL the F7 t4, and find the problem remains!!!
Maybe that is the problem of the repositories?
That is a possibility although I am currently in the process of updating and have downloaded through Package Updater and currently going through the "updating software" part. Maybe the repos are overburdened at the moment. Have you tried to install a package using yum eg:
Code:
# yum install smolt*
to see if it downloads and installs? Smolt is a hardware profiler that will give you and Fedora if you choose all of your hardware info. There will be an entry for smolt available from Applications>System Tools>Smolt from Gnome.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13th May 2007, 03:45 PM
marklf Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: China
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryptyde
That is a possibility although I am currently in the process of updating and have downloaded through Package Updater and currently going through the "updating software" part. Maybe the repos are overburdened at the moment. Have you tried to install a package using yum eg:
Code:
# yum install smolt*
to see if it downloads and installs? Smolt is a hardware profiler that will give you and Fedora if you choose all of your hardware info. There will be an entry for smolt available from Applications>System Tools>Smolt from Gnome.
Thanks a lot! Yes, it seems there are some problems with repositories. Maybe waiting for a couple of days is the only choice.
Quote:
[root@HomeOfMark marklf]# yum install smolt*
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Could not retrieve mirrorlist http://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/mir...hide&arch=i386 error was
[Errno 14] HTTP Error 502: Date: Sun, 13 May 2007 14:37:17 GMT
Content-Length: 324
Connection: close
Content-Type: text/html; charset=iso-8859-1



Cannot find a valid baseurl for repo: development
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14th May 2007, 11:22 AM
laczar Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
any updates on yum
Downloading Packages:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/yum", line 29, in <module>
yummain.main(sys.argv[1:])
File "/usr/share/yum-cli/yummain.py", line 172, in main
base.doTransaction()
File "/usr/share/yum-cli/cli.py", line 301, in doTransaction
problems = self.downloadPkgs(downloadpkgs)
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/yum/__init__.py", line 770, in downloadPkgs
if not po.verifyLocalPkg():
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/yum/packages.py", line 531, in verifyLocalPkg
(csum_type, csum) = self.returnIdSum()
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/yum/sqlitesack.py", line 162, in returnIdSum
return (self.checksum_type, self.checksum_value)
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/yum/sqlitesack.py", line 102, in __getattr__
(self.pkgId,))
File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/yum/sqlutils.py", line 148, in executeSQLQmark
return cursor.execute(query, params)
sqlite3.OperationalError: no such column: checksum_value


Im getting that error
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14th May 2007, 03:12 PM
marklf Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: China
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by lunixfanboy
I ran into the same problem last evening. Today, I went to one of the mirrors listed and went to the developement directory and grabbed yum, yum-metadata-parser, and yum-updatesd rpms, downloaded and updated locally (rpm -Uvh yum*) and that cleared up the problem with the "no such column: check-sum" error. My update is proceeding now. Unfortunately, it is 134 packages, so will be a while.
Thanks for lunixfanboy! With his instruction the problem has been solved!

I am now downloading 130 packages...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15th May 2007, 11:41 AM
chagascon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 3
I have same problem. help!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15th May 2007, 11:45 AM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by chagascon
I have same problem. help!

Read post #4 ( theres your help )
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 15th May 2007, 09:29 PM
koko85 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by lunixfanboy
I ran into the same problem last evening. Today, I went to one of the mirrors listed and went to the developement directory and grabbed yum, yum-metadata-parser, and yum-updatesd rpms, downloaded and updated locally (rpm -Uvh yum*) and that cleared up the problem with the "no such column: check-sum" error. My update is proceeding now. Unfortunately, it is 134 packages, so will be a while.
Thanks for the post, I was having the same problems. A more complete solution based my errors: Download files: yum-3.1.7-2.fc7.noarch.rpm , yum-metadata-parser-1.1.0-1.fc7.i386.rpm.

First I tried to install the new yum, but it requires the metadata-parser 1.1
so then i tried to install the metadata thing, and it threw up an error, so I used yum remove "insert error package here" then installed the metadata rpm (rpm -i yum-metadata-parser-1.1.0-1.fc7.i386.rpm) then I installed the yum package (rpm -i yum-metadata-parser-1.1.0-1.fc7.i386.rpm)

and then i typed yum update and its chuntering away as I type this, currently updating 10/118

(sorry for non linux terms - i'm a bit of a noob. I'm trying to convert myself purely to linux....)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 17th May 2007, 08:02 PM
Iberian80 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
Updater Stalls

I am not sure this is exactly the same issue. Updater will display in the taskbar that there are X number of updates available. From there I click to view the updates and instead it stalls and never gets to the point where it is able to show the updates.

In response I went to reinstall Yum (found at Duke) which oddly enough would not run the RPM saying that there are no packages to install. (most likely I am just and idiot but I am not sure why)

Ran make install and this worked to reinstall Yum. Then updater refreshed itself and told me that X number of updates were available. Clicked and it worked. Was able to see available updates, resolve dependencies and download packages.

Hope this helps someone.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
f7t4, problem, yum

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F7t4 - graphical issues coyoteboy Using Fedora 0 9th May 2007 02:59 PM
F7T4 Vesa only goes to 1280x1024 on widescreen? byroniac Hardware & Laptops 0 3rd May 2007 05:48 AM
F7T4 installation failed glenngds2006 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 3rd May 2007 03:55 AM
ipw3945 on f7t4 amitrana Hardware & Laptops 0 1st May 2007 06:29 PM
upgrading from f7T3 to F7T4 razx Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 28th April 2007 02:16 PM


Current GMT-time: 10:13 (Tuesday, 30-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat