Old 22nd April 2007, 07:55 AM
pedrider2008 Offline

Boot Problem

First my specs:
AMD 3800+ x2
2GB DDR
ATi x1300
dual Gateway FD1975W 19" Widescreens

When I boot Fedora Core 6, it begins to start up with all the text and then it gets to the "starting udev" part and my monitors go blank. One monitor says it has no signal and the other says "Frequency Out of Range" I have it set to dual boot with windows for my gaming addiction. I am a newbie to linux in general and I ran Ubuntu 6.06 for awhile but couldn't get it to support my 1440x900 resolutions so I got rid of it for FC6, recommended by my Computer teacher.
Old 22nd April 2007, 04:19 PM
pedrider2008 Offline

Okay, I typed the "$su- $password <rootpw> #setup" and I got to the setup screen after the loading. Now after that my monitors went blank again and then started to just show a series of majorly corrupted images. Anymore ideas?
Old 22nd April 2007, 05:19 PM
herrib Offline

There is a trouble in the display support. Did you try first to boot with acpi=off (in case of interrupts malfunction) in runlevel 3 and then check what kernel is currently implemented?

First, boot on runlevel 3:

when grub message is displayed press any key(the menu will be displayed) and then, press e (edit)

use the arrows to get on the line beginning by 'kernel'

remove rhgh

add acpi=off 3 (the number 3) at the end of the line

validate (enter) and boot.

n case of success (boot in runlevel 3), just enter the following commands, to check what kernel is implemented, in reference to the Wiki.

If the kernel is an i586, proceed as mentioned. Otherwise, do try setup another time.

If setup succeeded, set the parameters in /boot/grub/grub.conf to drive them to be permanent.
Old 23rd April 2007, 02:22 AM
pedrider2008 Offline