Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 10th April 2007, 07:35 PM
ownxdbyps3 Offline

bootloader?

question...im about to install fedora core 6 on my compaq presario amd athlon 64 3500+
i already have the dvd with the i386 iso. i've also downloaded yellowdog linux on my ps3. when i installed ydl i had to download a bootloader and installer aside from the iso. now. does the fedora 6 iso dvd contain the bootloader?? or is that something i have to download on my own. i think its called grub if im not mistaken. im still very new to linux. but i've liked my experience on ydl so much i want to work on it on my desktop as well. thanks for all your help guys.
Old 10th April 2007, 07:51 PM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)

Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Yes, grub is also the default bootloader for Fedora. By default, it will install on the mbr of your primary hard drive and will allow you to boot multiple distros as well as keep track of the new kernels in Fedora, so you'll always have the option to boot into the latest kernel.
Registered Linux User #362651

Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Old 10th April 2007, 08:02 PM
ownxdbyps3 Offline

so, all i need is the fc6 dvd and thats all. once that goes in, it'll install the bootloade r and such. and i also could have the option to boot up xp 1st? or will it go into grub and give me a list of all the os that i have and let me choose which one i want?

thanks for your help bob.
Old 10th April 2007, 08:37 PM
bob Online

After the install, grub will automatically boot Fedora first but also show Windows (labelled "other") as an option. If you want to boot Windows first, go into Fedora and use the text editor gedit to change the boot order. Open a terminal as root (su -), give your password, and then type:
Quote:
gedit /boot/grub/grub.conf