Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 10th April 2007, 07:35 PM
ownxdbyps3 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15
bootloader?

question...im about to install fedora core 6 on my compaq presario amd athlon 64 3500+
i already have the dvd with the i386 iso. i've also downloaded yellowdog linux on my ps3. when i installed ydl i had to download a bootloader and installer aside from the iso. now. does the fedora 6 iso dvd contain the bootloader?? or is that something i have to download on my own. i think its called grub if im not mistaken. im still very new to linux. but i've liked my experience on ydl so much i want to work on it on my desktop as well. thanks for all your help guys.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th April 2007, 07:51 PM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 69
Posts: 22,125
Yes, grub is also the default bootloader for Fedora. By default, it will install on the mbr of your primary hard drive and will allow you to boot multiple distros as well as keep track of the new kernels in Fedora, so you'll always have the option to boot into the latest kernel.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th April 2007, 08:02 PM
ownxdbyps3 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15
so, all i need is the fc6 dvd and thats all. once that goes in, it'll install the bootloade r and such. and i also could have the option to boot up xp 1st? or will it go into grub and give me a list of all the os that i have and let me choose which one i want?

thanks for your help bob.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th April 2007, 08:37 PM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 69
Posts: 22,125
After the install, grub will automatically boot Fedora first but also show Windows (labelled "other") as an option. If you want to boot Windows first, go into Fedora and use the text editor gedit to change the boot order. Open a terminal as root (su -), give your password, and then type:
Quote:
gedit /boot/grub/grub.conf
That will open a new window and you'll find the line "default=0" which means that, since a computer counts up from zero, it will boot the first kernel it finds. So, counting from zero, you'll find that Windows (you can rename it here too) is "1". Change to "default=1" to boot Windows. One other thing will apply though. By default, Fedora will not only show the newest kernel but also will keep one prior version for safety's sake and then remove the oldest one afterwards. So, after you update to the newest kernel, you'll have to advance that 'default=1' to 'default=2' to keep Windows booting first.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th April 2007, 08:41 PM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 69
Posts: 22,125
Actually, I forgot to mention that when it begins booting, you can stop the automatic boot by hitting any key and then move up or down to select the one you want. If you want to keep that menu in front of you without hitting that key, you can edit the grub.conf to do that too. Just put a 'comment' (#) before the 'hiddenmenu' entry and you'll automatically see that menu during the boot.

Hmmm....might also want to increase or decrease the 'timeout=5' which gives you 5 seconds to make your decision to some other number. Don't choose zero!
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th April 2007, 09:45 PM
ownxdbyps3 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15
by the way, when i partition my drive. im creating 3 partitions right? i got my / partition then i got /home partition and a linux swap partition...do i need a /boot partition...????
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10th April 2007, 10:09 PM
techmatt Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: In My Head (I Think)
Posts: 932
I allways have I find it make is alot easyer to restore you're Linux install if you do have problems
__________________
If you know how to do something in Fedora or how to do it better, please help us at Fedora Wiki.

Registered Linux user number 433760
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11th April 2007, 01:47 AM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 69
Posts: 22,125
Frankly, I've always just used root and swap. Swap is double the size of your ram, but not more than a gig and root can be the rest. Many, many people like to include a separate /home partition if they are concerned about their data. I don't keep that much on my machine and prefer to back everything onto CD's instead, but that choice is yours.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11th April 2007, 09:48 AM
ownxdbyps3 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15
thanks for your help guys. i'll take your advice and just make a / (root) and a swap. i dont really need a /home. thanks anyways.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bootloader

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bootloader help parabraves Using Fedora 3 3rd October 2009 04:38 PM
Where's My Bootloader? metatron Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 11 Only) 7 7th April 2009 03:38 AM
bootloader thick0 Using Fedora 7 25th December 2007 11:57 PM
Bootloader help Hidarisei Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 22nd December 2006 05:04 AM
bootloader ieuuk Using Fedora 2 12th November 2004 08:01 PM


Current GMT-time: 14:05 (Tuesday, 02-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat