Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 26th April 2004, 01:21 PM
spottyrover Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 19
how do you back up linux from hda5 to hdb1

I am trying to make a backup (working) from hda5 to hdb1 so that I have a working version that I can fiddle with. I tried copying hda5 to hdb1 but some files would not copy

My other problem is getting grub to boot the second hard drive

from what I can remember doing I copied the
kernel (hd0,4) etc part of the grub.conf file pasted it lower, changed the label to linux 2 and then changed the (hd0,4) to (hd1,0) and the root=/dev/hda5 to root=dev/hdb1 etc

as i'm not logged in as root I cann't read what I did


I hope this is enough info

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26th April 2004, 11:16 PM
Jman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 7,909
For an exact copy of the disk you can use dd. I'm not familiar with it, however. You should be able to use the device name of the primary drive as the input and the backup device as the output file.

Run "man dd" and "info dd" in a terminal for the documentation.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th April 2004, 02:21 AM
ieatlint Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 31
dd is a waste, it copies blocks, not data.. have a 40GB hdd and just using 2GB? dd would create a 40GB backup image.

Just mount both partitions and use tar. Simple and effective.
See the tar manpage, but your syntax will probably resemble something to the effect of:
tar czvf /path/to/backup.tar.gz files

tar also supports incremental backups, scanning your current backup and just saving what's changed.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th May 2004, 04:23 AM
spottyrover Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 19
sorry I think I did not explain myself properly
what I am looking to do is copy a partition (/) of a 40 gig drive and copy it to an 80 gig drive then install grub or lilo and have a functioning linux system after removing the 40 gig drive
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hda5, hdb1, linux

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
error mounting device hda5 as video: mount: - Upgrading from Fedora 6 to 10 Joe Gwinn Using Fedora 2 18th January 2009 09:51 PM
error mounting device hdb1 as /db: no such file or directory ekubec Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 7 8th October 2007 04:37 PM
FC5 on hda5 to hda1 laiseng EOL (End Of Life) Versions 2 13th June 2006 03:50 PM
how to boot GRUB on /dev/hdb1 from ntloader? Ge0rge Using Fedora 2 27th October 2004 03:35 AM


Current GMT-time: 02:03 (Monday, 21-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat