Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 30th March 2007, 04:17 AM
mat.hunt Offline

Arrow netgear wg311v2 wireless pci

Howdy! I have a netgear wg311v2 wireless pci adapter and am needing to install the driver in fc6. Everything I read on this says I need to use ndiswrapper to install this driver.Im not sure what that is for I am new to linux. I was curious tho' if anyone knows of any resources or past discussion on installing this I coud use to try and get this driver installed. I appreciate any help. Thanks.

mat
Old 30th March 2007, 04:39 AM
Zyris Offline

http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net/ - is a good place to start as theres installation instuctions and help on how to actualy use the program.

If your not game to try and compile the soruce you can find an rpm version of it here
http://atrpms.net/dist/fc6/ndiswrapper/

The basic idea behind ndiswrapper is that you can load the windows driver with in linux to get your wireless card working.
Old 30th March 2007, 04:44 AM
mat.hunt Offline

oh! so all i got to do is download the ndiswrapper and that will allow me to install the driver??
Old 30th March 2007, 04:51 AM
Zyris Offline

Thats pretty much the idea
http://www.jimbo7.com/wiki/index.php?title=WG311v3
the above link is realy quite helpfull you willl need to adapt some of the comands as to load your driver for your card.
but the idea is install ndiswrapper
load the windows driver
check everything works and away you go

as a note there is a different chipset used between v2 and v3 of the card so the v3 drivers that the site links to will not work for you just use the ones that came with the card or download them from the netgear site

also as your using fedora you can pass on the first 2 apt installations and use either the source or the rpm i linked to earlier

Last edited by Zyris; 30th March 2007 at 04:56 AM. Reason: extra note
Old 30th March 2007, 05:20 AM
mat.hunt Offline