Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Using Fedora
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Using Fedora General support for current versions. Ask questions about Fedora and it's software that do not belong in any other forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 28th March 2007, 04:02 PM
tech291083 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,019
SQL Plus command line: Arrow keys not giving previous commands back

Hi,

I am using Oracle 10g Express Edition on Fedora core 5 32+ bit os. The problem is when I use the SQL Plus command line to make SQL statements I can not get the previously typed command back at the prompt when I use the up and down arrow keys on my keyboard. This is quite easy when I am using a shell, but here with this Oracle command line interface it is not working at all. Here is the example as what actually is happening whe I press the up or down arrow keys.

SQL> drop table mailorders;

Table dropped.

SQL> ^[[A^[[A^[[A^[[A^[[A^[[A^[[A^[[A^[[A^[[A^[[A^[[A


Any suggestions ? Thanks............
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28th March 2007, 06:30 PM
offcenter77 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 318
This is not a feature of SQL Plus. The buffer only holds the current command, but has no history.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31st March 2007, 10:32 AM
tech291083 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by offcenter77
This is not a feature of SQL Plus. The buffer only holds the current command, but has no history.

Thanks mate.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st March 2007, 12:11 PM
Shakes Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 445
You may already know this but "/" does the last command and "edit" opens the last command for editing, so you can change it and save it, then run the modified command.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd April 2007, 01:02 PM
opasveer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 41
Before starting SQL Plus be sure to do 'export EDITOR=vi' This ensures that vi is used as an editor.

Also, when on the command editing is possible:
SQL> l => gives listing of command
SQL> l2 => lists line 2
SQL> c/abc/def/ => substitute abc by def
SQL> a text => append text to current (or last) line
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th April 2007, 03:09 PM
tech291083 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by opasveer
Before starting SQL Plus be sure to do 'export EDITOR=vi' This ensures that vi is used as an editor.

Also, when on the command editing is possible:
SQL> l => gives listing of command
SQL> l2 => lists line 2
SQL> c/abc/def/ => substitute abc by def
SQL> a text => append text to current (or last) line
Brilliant, thanks a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 8th April 2007, 06:38 PM
sej7278 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,008
if you use gqlplus instead of sqlplus, you get bash-like history and completion (kinda cool pressing tab and getting table names completed!)

there is a way to get history using sqlplus, something to do with the termtype i think, if you don't want to use an editor.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th May 2007, 02:21 PM
tech291083 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by sej7278
if you use gqlplus instead of sqlplus, you get bash-like history and completion (kinda cool pressing tab and getting table names completed!)

there is a way to get history using sqlplus, something to do with the termtype i think, if you don't want to use an editor.
Thanks very much....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
arrow, command, commands, giving, keys, line, previous, sql

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dosbox & Fedora 10-arrow keys don't work StephenH Using Fedora 6 15th December 2008 04:51 AM
Commands missing from my command line... spaze Using Fedora 8 29th November 2007 11:40 AM
missing arrow keys with evdev (multiseat) olithered Using Fedora 1 1st August 2007 10:53 AM
minicom not sending arrow keys Jeff Sadowski Using Fedora 2 19th June 2006 08:44 PM
Command line commands not working. [Loki] Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 7th September 2005 09:41 AM


Current GMT-time: 18:27 (Thursday, 17-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat