Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 21st March 2007, 07:40 PM
PhillipGreen Offline

Linux/Fedora 6 NEWBIE: Linksys Wireless Card Help

Hi, my name is Phillip and I finally took the leap and move from Windows XP to Linux (Fedora Core 6). I am a complete newbie in that I have never used Linux before. Last night I installed Fedora Core six to my Gateway 450SX4 Laptop without a problem. I then spent the rest of the time running the Software Updater under System Tools. So far everything is running very nice and I am enjoying the OS. However, I need assitance in getting my home wireless network to work. I have read through many of the forums regarding this topic; however, I remained confused because it seems all of the post assume some basic knowledge on how to use Linux (I.e., terminal commands and usage, kernal updating procedures, locating and updating ndiswrapper software, etc.). While I think I can follow some of it, there are still too many assumptions for a newbie like me. Therefore I was hoping someone would be kind enough to step me through the process, keeping in mind that I have NEVER used Linux before. I don't might learning something, even if it's complex, but I need to start from the beginning. I really want to give Linux a fair shake. Below is some information that may be helpful in getting me started.

OS: Fedora Core Six (Just Installed Base Version and ran Automatic Software Updates immeadiately after installation).

Linksys Wireless-G Notebook Adapter 2.4 GHz: Model No. WPC54G ver. 3

Linksys Wireless-G Broadband Router 2.4 GHz: Model No. WRT54G ver. 6

Laptop Hardware: Gateway 450SX4, Pent. IV, 1.5 Ghz, 512 Ram (Full Specs at http://support.gateway.com/s/Mobile/...01271sp2.shtml)

Please let me know if you need any more information. If you need more information regarding something in Linux, please tell me how to find that information for you.

Thank you all very much for your time and help.

Sincerely,
Phillip