Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 7th February 2007, 07:44 PM
justmonkey23 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Remote Desktop Fedora?

I am running Fedora core 6 and would like to remote desktop in from work...all the machines are running XP. I see you can remote from Fedora to windows but can it be done vice versa?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 7th February 2007, 08:55 PM
wintersm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 293
yes.. many threads talk about this..

serch on the internet for X-Ming, its a windows X-server then get Putty, this works with x-ming, then find information on setting up your ssh server on the fc box, enable the remote x connections (also to be found by searching the forums) then you will be happy as larry using ssh to forward the x-server connections and x-ming as the x-server on windows..

Theres plenty of how-to type information to be found on the forums on how to do this, even the x-ming web site might tell you..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th February 2007, 09:08 PM
jtang613 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,931
The two most popular solutions are FreeNX and VNC. I would recommend FreeNX. Configuration is slightly more advanced, but it is much faster and somewhat more secure than any other approach.

Jason
__________________
There is no 'CTRL' button on Chuck Norris's computer. Chuck Norris is always in control.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th February 2007, 09:11 PM
chicom9 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 107
try NX server, I am able to connect to my NX box only from my local network not from the outside ....
let me know....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th February 2007, 09:09 PM
justmonkey23 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
chicom9 i about to try this tonight but i assume you just open the ports you need on your router and firewall then use your public ip?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th February 2007, 03:24 PM
chicom9 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 107
i dont known what port NFX is using please let me know
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th February 2007, 04:17 PM
SLudJ Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 18
I use Putty & VNC to get remote access to my FC6 Box at home.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th February 2007, 07:23 PM
jtang613 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,931
NX, or FreeNX (IMHO) is the best solution for Fedora remote access. It operates over SSH, so only port 22 is required. The server supports multiple client logins and is much faster than VNC, RDP, or pretty much any other protocol you can name. Plus, all communication is encrypted and logins are key-authenticated

To install FreeNX on your machine:
Code:
yum install NX freenx
Then, download the client for your operating systems from:
http://www.nomachine.com/download.php

In order to complete the authentication process, you will need the client key from /etc/nxserver/client.id_dsa.key

For a more complete howto, please refer to:
http://fedoranews.org/contributors/rick_stout/freenx/

Regards,
Jason
__________________
There is no 'CTRL' button on Chuck Norris's computer. Chuck Norris is always in control.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 9th February 2007, 09:13 PM
chicom9 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 107
Ok i am trying FreeNX at home the service is running; yet i cannot connect to my fedora6 box... what could i be doing wrong??. I have a similar setup in my office and it does work.
The my house box is running fedora6 64bit w/ Freenx server.
I am trying to connect from a windows box using the Freenx-client. I know port 22 is working because i can ssh from the outside of my Network as well as the inside.
When i try to connect all i get is a time out. No errors, I see that it does authenticate, because it passes the authentication window, but in the next stage it times out.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 9th February 2007, 09:14 PM
chicom9 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 107
times out

Ok i am trying FreeNX at home the service is running; yet i cannot connect to my fedora6 box... what could i be doing wrong??. I have a similar setup in my office and it does work.
My house box is running fedora6 64bit w/ Freenx server.
I am trying to connect from a windows box using the Freenx-client. I know port 22 is working because i can ssh from the outside of my Network as well as the inside.
When i try to connect all i get is a time out. No errors, I see that it does authenticate, because it passes the authentication window, but in the next stage it times out.
any ideas??
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 9th February 2007, 09:58 PM
MSUdom6 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Starkville, MS
Age: 31
Posts: 11
I've never used FreeNX, but I know with VNC it will ask for a confirmation on the box you're trying to connect to. This can be disabled. But if it goes unconfirmed, the connection will time out.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 9th February 2007, 10:00 PM
fnmblot Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 300
did you copy the key auth file to the windows machine?
__________________
Gee Ricky, I'm sorry your mom blew up.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 9th February 2007, 11:02 PM
chicom9 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 107
how would i copy that file ?? where is it located?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 9th February 2007, 11:18 PM
jtang613 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,931
Quote:
Originally Posted by chicom9
how would i copy that file ?? where is it located?
Read the posts above. Read the tutorial link I posted. PLEASE show us you are worthy of helping.
__________________
There is no 'CTRL' button on Chuck Norris's computer. Chuck Norris is always in control.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 9th February 2007, 11:20 PM
chicom9 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 107
sorry i miss that link thanks u
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
desktop, fedora, remote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
remote desktop for fedora 10 kite Using Fedora 4 18th March 2009 05:29 AM
Where is Remote Desktop in Fedora 10? Hertzy3 Using Fedora 15 12th February 2009 06:21 PM
Remote Desktop, VNC, from XP Pro to Fedora 9 and etc. pksky_45 Servers & Networking 3 7th November 2008 04:15 PM
Remote Desktop Fedora 8 ElwoodBlues Servers & Networking 4 28th October 2008 07:13 AM
Remote Desktop on Fedora 6 ionracing Using Fedora 10 18th April 2007 10:43 PM


Current GMT-time: 23:52 (Friday, 24-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Hepo - Santos Photos on Instagram - Canterbury Instagram Photos