Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 26th January 2007, 06:15 AM
lancedance Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beijing, China
Age: 28
Posts: 131
can't find the "Desktop effect" in system-->Preferences any more

hey guys, I can't find the "Desktop effect" in system-->Preferences any more, And when I run 'desktop-effect' in a terminal
[root@localhost ~]# desktop-effect
bash: desktop-effect: command not found

how to fix this, please?
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26th January 2007, 06:34 AM
Dies Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,754
Because you removed it when you installed XGL.

Have you tried running compiz yet ??
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th January 2007, 06:40 AM
lancedance Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beijing, China
Age: 28
Posts: 131
yes,I have xgl+compiz installed yet. but I don't know what can i do wit the compiz and how to enable the 3D effect?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th January 2007, 06:44 AM
Dies Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,754
Then why would you bother removing what works for something you don't understand ?

Anyways, search for compiz to find out what options are available and how to use it.

Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th January 2007, 06:46 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dies
Then why would you bother removing what works for something you don't understand ?
Hello:
Crap .... that's how I got into Linux

lancedance
Are you running FC6 ?

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th January 2007, 06:50 AM
lancedance Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beijing, China
Age: 28
Posts: 131
yes I am, seve
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th January 2007, 06:53 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello:
Open a terminal and log in as root using
su -
yourpassword
and type
yum install compiz* <------- with the asterik

You may have to reboot to see the menu item ..... sorry I cannot recall.

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26th January 2007, 06:59 AM
lancedance Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beijing, China
Age: 28
Posts: 131
hello but
[root@localhost yum.repos.d]# yum -y install compiz*
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Install Process
Setting up repositories
livna-testing-debug 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
livna-testing-source 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
Reading repository metadata in from local files
Parsing package install arguments
No Match for argument: compiz*
Nothing to do
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26th January 2007, 07:14 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello:
compiz is located in the fedora core repo

You appear to have your repositories borked ?

First you need to disable
livna-testing-debug
livna-testing-source
they are located in /etc/yum.repos.d/
set
enabled=1
to
enabled=2

There is absolutely no reason to have these enabled unless you are running rawhide or like living on the edge

In the same directory /etc/yum.repos.d
you should have the following 4 .repos

PHP Code:
fedora-core.repo
fedora
-extras.repo
fedora
-updates.repo
livna
.repo 
If you do not, you have a problem.

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26th January 2007, 07:21 AM
lancedance Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beijing, China
Age: 28
Posts: 131
haha! i have all the fedora.repo enable=0...
I know what to do now. thanks man!! I love u
c u later
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 26th January 2007, 07:24 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by lancedance
haha! i have all the fedora.repo enable=0...
I know what to do now. thanks man!! I love u
c u later
Hello:
Whoa ...... Slow down a step or two.

Each of those .repo packages has several sub-sections .... so only enable=1
the first of each .repo

Don not enable debug / source for example.

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 26th January 2007, 07:39 AM
Dies Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seve
Hello:
Crap .... that's how I got into Linux
Seve
O.K. so good point, haha you got me there.

But, I still see no sense in removing AIGLX and replacing it with XGL.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 26th January 2007, 07:49 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dies
O.K. so good point, haha you got me there.

But, I still see no sense in removing AIGLX and replacing it with XGL.
Hello Dies:
I meant no harm ....
It was just such a great opening line ........
And yes you have a very good point.

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 26th January 2007, 08:05 AM
Dies Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seve
Hello Dies:
I meant no harm ....
It was just such a great opening line ........
Seve
I know, none done.

Yes it was.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 26th January 2007, 10:46 AM
lancedance Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beijing, China
Age: 28
Posts: 131
Quote:
[root@localhost yum.repos.d]# yum -y install compiz*
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Install Process
Setting up repositories
development-source 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
development 100% |=========================| 1.1 kB 00:02
core 100% |=========================| 1.1 kB 00:00
extras-source 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
updates-testing-debuginfo 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
extras-debuginfo 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
updates 100% |=========================| 1.2 kB 00:00
legacy-testing 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
Error: Cannot find a valid baseurl for repo: development-debuginfo
[root@localhost yum.repos.d]# ls
fedora-core.repo fedora-extras.repo fedora-updates.repo~ livna-devel.repo livna.repo~
fedora-development.repo fedora-legacy.repo fedora-updates-testing.repo livna-devel.repo~ livna-testing.repo
fedora-extras-development.repo fedora-updates.repo fedora-xgl.repo livna.repo livna-testing.repo~
[root@localhost yum.repos.d]# vi fedora-core.repo
[root@localhost yum.repos.d]# vi fedora-development.repo
[root@localhost yum.repos.d]# vi fedora-extras-development.repo
[root@localhost yum.repos.d]# vi fedora-extras.repo
[root@localhost yum.repos.d]# vi fedora-legacy.repo
[root@localhost yum.repos.d]# vi fedora-updates.repo
[root@localhost yum.repos.d]# vi fedora-updates.repo~
[root@localhost yum.repos.d]# vi fedora-updates-testing.repo
[root@localhost yum.repos.d]# yum -y install compiz*
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Install Process
Setting up repositories
updates-testing 100% |=========================| 1.2 kB 00:00
extras 100% |=========================| 1.1 kB 00:00
Reading repository metadata in from local files
primary.xml.gz 100% |=========================| 157 B 00:00
primary.xml.gz 100% |=========================| 1.3 MB 00:09
extras-dev: ################################################## 4093/4093
primary.xml.gz 100% |=========================| 810 kB 00:11
developmen: ################################################## 2282/2282
primary.xml.gz 100% |=========================| 421 kB 00:04
updates : ################################################## 1109/1109
primary.xml.gz 100% |=========================| 35 kB 00:01
updates-te: ################################################## 96/96
Parsing package install arguments
Resolving Dependencies
--> Populating transaction set with selected packages. Please wait.
---> Downloading header for compiz-devel to pack into transaction set.
compiz-devel-0.3.6-1.fc7. 100% |=========================| 10 kB 00:00
---> Package compiz-devel.i386 0:0.3.6-1.fc7 set to be updated
--> Running transaction check
--> Processing Dependency: libdecoration.so.0 for package: compiz-devel
--> Processing Dependency: compiz = 0.3.6-1.fc7 for package: compiz-devel
--> Finished Dependency Resolution
Error: Missing Dependency: libdecoration.so.0 is needed by package compiz-devel
Error: Missing Dependency: compiz = 0.3.6-1.fc7 is needed by package compiz-devel
[root@localhost yum.repos.d]# yum -y install libdecoration.so.0
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Install Process
Setting up repositories
Reading repository metadata in from local files
Parsing package install arguments
Nothing to do
any ideas???
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
desktop effect, system>preferences

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Warning : cannot find root file system" clare314 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 22nd April 2009 11:08 PM
"WARNING: Cannot find root file system", when F10 Live CD boots. cybercytes Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 27th January 2009 10:37 AM
Compliz Fusion: "Wobbly Windows" effect kills "Reflection" while moving windows premudriy Using Fedora 3 1st January 2009 11:24 AM
Prolem enabling "Desktop Effect" waltersk20 Using Fedora 3 5th March 2008 07:57 AM
"WARNING: Cannot find root file system!" when booting Live CD Lollan Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 5th December 2007 06:14 AM


Current GMT-time: 19:28 (Monday, 22-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Yerinde Pide Travel Photos on Instagram - SM City Manila Instagram Photos - Penny Black Pub Travel Photos on Instagram