Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 2nd January 2007, 12:11 AM
CAlan Offline

Wow, Linux has come a long way, and a samba question..

I tired linux about 7 years ago. I installed suse on my windows box, and tied to configure it and get it running. I had a lot of trouble with the configuration, and It never did seem to run the way I wanted it to.

Fast forward to last week. I ditched my windows box a few months ago in favor of an Imac. I am a civil engineer by trade, so I have Parallels installed on my Imac for the simple purpose of running Autocad Land Desktop. I need that program to access a bunch of old job files from the days when I did consulting work. My old windows box had been sitting in the garage gathering dust for a couple of months when I got the bright Idea of putting Linux on it inorder to run a file server, and to run a webserver.

The difference in installing and configuring Linux (Fedora 6) is ALOT better than it was 7 years ago. It has been three days since I started the project, and It has only taken me about 8 hours total to get samba and apache configured and up and running. My experience with Fedora has for the most part been positive.

So on to my question: I am having an issue with file permissions on my Samba Shares. I have set up Samba with one common share I call TRONSERVER. If user 'A' creates a folder on TRONSERVER, user 'B' can browse this folder and files, but is not able to manipulate files for folders in the directory. I am finding that any new files or directories created by my users are being restricted to the users that created them. I would like it be set up such that all files, and directories created by any Samba user on TRONSERVER can be edited by any other Samba user. My config file for this share reads as follows:

Code:
[TronServer]
	path = /usr/TronServer
	writeable = yes
	browseable = yes
	guest ok = yes