Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 25th December 2006, 03:31 AM
THE Ralfinator Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vermont, USA
Age: 25
Posts: 184
HP Deskjet D1320 not listed

I'm trying to install a new printer, HP Deskjet D1320, and the Printer Configuration thing recognized that it was a USB Deskjet D1300 Series, but not a single printer in that series is listed in the list that next comes up. How do I know which driver to choose, or is this printer not supported by Linux?
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA785GPM-US2H
Athlon II X2 240 @2.8 GHz
2 GB G.Skill ddr2 pc2-6400
500 GB Western Digital Caviar Blue HDD
40 GB Western Digital HDD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th December 2006, 05:57 AM
b_martinez Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pueblo,Colorado
Posts: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by THE Ralfinator
I'm trying to install a new printer, HP Deskjet D1320, and the Printer Configuration thing recognized that it was a USB Deskjet D1300 Series, but not a single printer in that series is listed in the list that next comes up. How do I know which driver to choose, or is this printer not supported by Linux?

It should be supported. Use the hplip drivers for it. The hplip come from a colllaboration between HP and the Linux Inkjet Printing project. Setup will be for the D1300 series ,since the differences in the 1300s are incorporated into the drivers. You have to be in "Administrator mode" in the configuration utility, but not in / [root] mode to get there. You will also need to ensure that the hplip, and snmp daemons are running in the services. (Start>Administration>Server Settings>Services in KDE, not "Applications" or "Places" in Gnome, but the 3rd on, then "Administration>Server Settings [or Settings]>Services" (I think that's the daisy chain to it).
The driver's site/setup link from HP or hplip links at sourceforge ought to handle any question you have about it.
hth
Bill

edit: come to think on it, I was wanting a 1350 a few years back, because it was well supported on Linux. Got a 1610 instead, just when hplip was being released.
__________________
Registered Linux User : 361761 Registered Machine (2nd time): 332471
Work is for people who don't know how to fish.......;)
Sometimes the obvious is so well hidden that it boggles the mind.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th December 2006, 03:58 PM
THE Ralfinator Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vermont, USA
Age: 25
Posts: 184
Okay, I started the hplip daemon in services, but i cant find anything about snmp. What exactly is it for? Is it for sharing the printer? I googled it and it seems its some network protocol or something. Thanks for the answer, and MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!!!!!!!
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA785GPM-US2H
Athlon II X2 240 @2.8 GHz
2 GB G.Skill ddr2 pc2-6400
500 GB Western Digital Caviar Blue HDD
40 GB Western Digital HDD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th December 2006, 04:54 PM
b_martinez Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pueblo,Colorado
Posts: 724
snmp= simple network management protocol -- from the usage if not exactly the true name. HPLIP uses this to manage the printer, it's part of the needed [dependencies] packages.
SYSTEM>ADMINISTRATION>SERVICES to see if you have it running.
hth
Bill
__________________
Registered Linux User : 361761 Registered Machine (2nd time): 332471
Work is for people who don't know how to fish.......;)
Sometimes the obvious is so well hidden that it boggles the mind.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th December 2006, 09:45 PM
THE Ralfinator Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vermont, USA
Age: 25
Posts: 184
Thank you so much for your help, b_martinez. What I ended up doing was yum remove hplip, and then I compiled from source the Hplip driver from sourceforge.net. Having the newest drivers was exactly what I needed, and my printer now works! The only thing I need to do now is make the margins a little bigger, as some things get a little bit of them cut off from the page. I love the way HP decided to support Linux! It's awesome!
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA785GPM-US2H
Athlon II X2 240 @2.8 GHz
2 GB G.Skill ddr2 pc2-6400
500 GB Western Digital Caviar Blue HDD
40 GB Western Digital HDD
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th December 2006, 01:00 AM
b_martinez Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pueblo,Colorado
Posts: 724
You are very welcome. Glad to be of assistance.
[HP is all I'll buy,simply because of this.]
Bill
__________________
Registered Linux User : 361761 Registered Machine (2nd time): 332471
Work is for people who don't know how to fish.......;)
Sometimes the obvious is so well hidden that it boggles the mind.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th December 2006, 01:54 PM
THE Ralfinator Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vermont, USA
Age: 25
Posts: 184
Hey all, last night (after I was so excited that HP supported Linux) I HAD to go to my friend's house and see if I could set up his Photosmart 8250. He already had Hplip version 1.6.10 I think. ( I guess FC6 is a little ahead of FC5 as far as that goes.) We were able to print a test page to it, using hp-setup to setup the printer. But the problem is that we were simply getting a whole lot of nonsense getting printed the first three lines, and then a blank page, and then it kept doing the same thing over and over to all the sheets it had. So then I tried to go to localhost:631 to try and see if i could do anything with the Cups interface, but instead I got redirected to http://p2p.cs.mu.oz.au/software/Localhost/. So anyone got any ideas?
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA785GPM-US2H
Athlon II X2 240 @2.8 GHz
2 GB G.Skill ddr2 pc2-6400
500 GB Western Digital Caviar Blue HDD
40 GB Western Digital HDD
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27th December 2006, 02:20 PM
b_martinez Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pueblo,Colorado
Posts: 724
Get into the setup and make sure there is no banner or other stuff it's trying to print. Also , make sure it is not listed multiple times, using different drivers.
Bill
__________________
Registered Linux User : 361761 Registered Machine (2nd time): 332471
Work is for people who don't know how to fish.......;)
Sometimes the obvious is so well hidden that it boggles the mind.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28th December 2006, 02:05 AM
THE Ralfinator Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vermont, USA
Age: 25
Posts: 184
Okay, I'll check that next time I'm at his house. Any ideas as to why the CUPS server page won't show up?
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA785GPM-US2H
Athlon II X2 240 @2.8 GHz
2 GB G.Skill ddr2 pc2-6400
500 GB Western Digital Caviar Blue HDD
40 GB Western Digital HDD
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30th December 2006, 04:32 AM
b_martinez Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pueblo,Colorado
Posts: 724
2 days late checking back in. My apologies for leaving you hanging. localhost:631 (is that the address) is likely why the HPLIP driver needs snmp. Did that get installed? Is it enabled in system services?
Those are the only 2 reasons I could think of.
hth
Bill
__________________
Registered Linux User : 361761 Registered Machine (2nd time): 332471
Work is for people who don't know how to fish.......;)
Sometimes the obvious is so well hidden that it boggles the mind.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 3rd January 2007, 10:42 PM
THE Ralfinator Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vermont, USA
Age: 25
Posts: 184
Okay, I checked snmpd in services, and it wasnt running. I turned it on, and some other thing that had snmp in it, and set them both to start automatically, but even after that I couldnt connect to localhost:631. Kinda confusing.........
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA785GPM-US2H
Athlon II X2 240 @2.8 GHz
2 GB G.Skill ddr2 pc2-6400
500 GB Western Digital Caviar Blue HDD
40 GB Western Digital HDD
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
d1320, deskjet, listed

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XP listed as other at start posterartist Using Fedora 2 23rd March 2009 09:43 PM
screensavers not listed kkjcr Using Fedora 2 21st June 2008 09:05 AM
listed more than once message jdave51 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 4 17th January 2007 01:04 AM


Current GMT-time: 21:32 (Friday, 31-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Oskarshamn Travel Photos on Instagram - Mount Clemens Travel Photos - Mirpur Mathelo