Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 1st December 2006, 02:52 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Arrow Fedora 6 install kernel option & kernel swapping

I have read so many posts complaining about fedora core 6 installing the wrong kernel at install. (This stops your ATI & Nvida and any other 3rd party drivers working)
The i586 seems to be the default, To change this just type in at cd/dvd boot linux i686 this will install the i686 kernel instead.

The option for installing i686 kernel is.( doesn't work always )

Quote:
linux i686
Or

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjoe4265
To apply an installer update image during install, here are the instructions from the Fedora project.

http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Anaconda/Updates

There is a link for the update image below the Common problems heading here.

http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Bugs/FC6Common

In my case, I downloaded rawrite on a Win machine and wrote the image to a floppy then booted the FC6 disk and entered "linux updates" at the boot installer prompt. You will be prompted for the floppy.

Bigjoe

Additional boot option's for hardware problems

Quote:
More options
__________________________________________________ _________________________
HOWTO CHECK & CHANGE THE KERNEL AFTER INSTALL

NOTE
Quote:
uname -a
Cannot be relied on as it returns the wrong kernel arch.



1) To check kernel type.

a) quick test.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wmc1369
yum list installed kernel
b) full test.

Quote:
rpm -qa --queryformat "%{NAME}-%{VERSION}-%{RELEASE}.%{ARCH}\n"|grep kernel|sort
[leigh@localhost ~]$ rpm -qa --queryformat "%{NAME}-%{VERSION}-%{RELEASE}.%{ARCH}\n"|grep kernel|sort
kernel-devel-2.6.18-1.2239.fc6.i686
kernel-2.6.18-1.2239.fc6.i686
[leigh@localhost ~]$

Quote:
There should be no kernel i568

2) first you need to download yum-utils

A)
Quote:
su -c "yum install yum-utils"
To get the current i686 kernel:

You will need to update the kernel first as other packages have now changed , use the C2) command to swap kernel

Quote:
yum update kernel
B)
Quote:
yumdownloader kernel.i686
If the version of the kernel downloaded is larger than currently installed:*

C1)
Quote:
su -c "rpm -ivh kernel-2*.i686.rpm"
Alternatively, if the version of the kernel downloaded is the same as that currently installed:*

C2)
Quote:
su -c "rpm -ivh --replacefiles --replacepkgs kernel-2*.i686.rpm"

Leigh

Last edited by leigh123linux; 16th May 2007 at 09:17 PM. Reason: updated
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2nd December 2006, 03:38 PM
kylin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
I have the same question.
My CPU is also dual core.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd December 2006, 03:58 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by kylin
I have the same question.
My CPU is also dual core.

This is not a question .

This is posted here to help people installing Fedora core 6 x86
the default fc6 install will try and install kernel i586 to stop this and install with the right kernel
you have to type at dvd/cd install boot this option


linux i686

leigh
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th December 2006, 10:41 PM
selwyn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
Noob question then.
How do I find what version mine has installed? Tried:

[root@localhost ~]# cat /proc/version
Linux version 2.6.18-1.2849.fc6 (brewbuilder@hs20-bc1-5.build.redhat.com) (gcc version 4.1.1 20061011 (Red Hat 4.1.1-30)) #1 SMP Fri Nov 10 12:36:14 EST 2006

but that doesn´t seem to do it for me (or maybe I just can´t translate correctly). I´ve got FC6 running OK with an Intel 945D on an asus P5B but maybe I should blow it all away and start again if the version is incorrect.

Cheers, Selwyn
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th December 2006, 11:08 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
got mental block for command for kernel version.
in terminal type

su -
pirut

select search then select installed packages ,then in search box type kernel then hit search
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 7th December 2006, 02:01 AM
selwyn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
Thanks,

Was i586. Reinstalled using the linux i686 option and now have kernel ....2798.fc6.i686

Cheers, Selwyn.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 7th December 2006, 04:50 AM
u-noneinc-s Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wine Country, California
Posts: 2,850
Code:
uname -a
Linux spongie 2.6.18-1.2239.fc5 #1 Fri Nov 10 13:04:06 EST 2006 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux
Kernel=Linux
node=spongie (hostname)
kernel-release=2.6.18-1.2239.fc5 #1 Fri Nov 10 13:04:06 EST 2006
kernel version=i686
machine=i686
processor=i386
Operating system GNU/Linux
__________________
Mark N.

Perpetual Newbie
--
I wanted to proclaim myself "The Typo King" but there's way too much competion. :p

411874 Get Counted
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 8th December 2006, 05:53 AM
A.Serbinski Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by kylin
I have the same question.
My CPU is also dual core.
Aren't all dual-core chips 64bit? You should be installing x86_64 instead of i386. There is no kernel selection problem with x86_64.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 8th December 2006, 06:52 AM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by A.Serbinski
Aren't all dual-core chips 64bit? You should be installing x86_64 instead of i386. There is no kernel selection problem with x86_64.
I do run some 64 bit OS , but prefer 32 bit fedora for everyday general use.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10th December 2006, 12:50 PM
selwyn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6
Quote:
I do run some 64 bit OS , but prefer 32 bit fedora for everyday general use.
Care to elaborate on 32 vs 64 a little? I went 32 because (a) I have 32 bit FC5 running on another box and I like baby steps where possible and (b) I've seen comments that 64 is a little flaky, at least in FC5.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10th December 2006, 01:29 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
FC5 64 was rock solid for me, never locked up. I prefer 32 bit for multimedia purposes .
XV xvideo wont work with the graphics card I use when I use 64 bit. Linux (fu*king ati thing)

Last edited by leigh123linux; 10th December 2006 at 01:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11th December 2006, 07:28 AM
A.Serbinski Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,123
If you use Linux, why did you buy an ATI video card? I could understand if it was a LAPTOP, since you don't have much flexibility, but for a desktop, USE NVIDIA!!!

Hopefully the AMD buyout of ATI will filter out to better drivers (eventually). I see that they've already stepped up to Xorg 7.1 when previously they seemed stuck at 6.8.



SELWYN: Flakey? Not in the slightest. Maybe in FC2 or 3 back when combined 32/64 was in its infancy, but its very good now. I run critical servers (where there's piles of $$ riding) on 64bit FC5. The ONLY area I can think of people having problems is with browser plugins - neither flash nor java make a 64 bit plugin. Easy fix though, use 32bit firefox.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11th December 2006, 12:30 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I had a Nvidia 6800GT but it overheated and cooked CPU . I needed a cheap graphics card quickly and found this one secondhand it was cheap and had similar spec. (I know nvidia cards are easier to setup and are better supported)

The latest ATI drivers have been a little better.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11th December 2006, 02:43 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,805
Typing linux i686 did nothing for me. Still ended up with the i586 kernel.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11th December 2006, 03:12 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by glennzo
Typing linux i686 did nothing for me. Still ended up with the i586 kernel.
you must have typed it in wrong or something


rpm -qa --queryformat "%{NAME}-%{VERSION}-%{RELEASE}.%{ARCH}\n"|grep kernel|sort

su -c "yum install yum-utils"

yumdownloader kernel-2.6.18-1.2849.fc6.i686
su -c "rpm -Uvh --replacefiles --replacepkgs kernel-2.6.18-1.2849.fc6.i686.rpm"


http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Bugs/FC6Common

Last edited by leigh123linux; 12th February 2007 at 03:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fedora, install, kernel, option

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
f9 kernel option CONFIG_IP_ROUTE_MULTIPATH_CACHED hinrich Servers & Networking 0 28th November 2008 04:48 PM
Kernel option with Grub tkoco Using Fedora 3 15th February 2008 04:47 AM
FC4 DVD Install - Unable to get past Select Driver option for Local CDROM install flashgordon EOL (End Of Life) Versions 2 28th February 2006 06:54 AM
How to enable kernel option: REGPARM - Kernel: 2.6.14-1.1653_FC4 Camino Using Fedora 4 6th January 2006 08:48 PM
kernel 2.6, nvidia and the 4kstack option bazzoon Using Fedora 6 4th July 2004 05:30 AM


Current GMT-time: 22:23 (Sunday, 23-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Ramon Photos - Crystal - Larnaca Photos on Instagram