Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 29th November 2006, 10:55 PM
ToddEichel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8
New FC6 install

Hi all, I'm a Fedora (and linux, for that matter) noob, just installed FC6, install went fine, first log in found 160-something updates, ran that, those all completed fine, rebooted, and now the kernel won't load.

So here's some specifics:

Older box:
Dual P-III 550 MHz
512 MB RAM
13 GB IDE HD
IDE CD-RW
Intel 10/100 NIC
and that's about it, pretty old system.

Downloaded FC6 x86 to CD, verified all check-sums for the iso files. Install was more or less generic, with the exception of changing some of the volume names and sizes, added a separate volume for /home, so in additon to the boot partition, I've got a partition called "main", with a "/root" volume (8 GB), a swap volume (1 GB) and a "/home" volume (2 GB). Anyway, as I said, the install goes fine, I can log in and do whatever I want, it finds all the package updates, downloads and installs them, then requests an update. On boot, I get to a line that says "Uncompressing Linux... OK, booting the kernel" and it locks up there. If I go into GRUB on boot, there are now two kernels listed, 2.6.18-1.2849.fc6 first, and 2.6.18-1.2798.fc6 second. If I change it to the previous version (prior to updates, I'm assuming), it boots fine and everything seems to work and it's not able to find any packages that need to be updated now.

Any help would be appreciated. Obviously, I could just remove that kernel from GRUB, but I'd rather try to fix it.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30th November 2006, 09:13 PM
tbl Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: France (Bretagne)
Age: 47
Posts: 360
Hi,
Just forget your old kernel. Keep all what you have in grub.conf. and just boot off the new kernel.
Deps have been updated according to the new kernel.
__________________
LarryT, GParted-project Admin
Main site : http://gparted.sourceforge.net/index.php
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th November 2006, 09:34 PM
nick.stumpos Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lansing, Mi
Age: 30
Posts: 2,222
did you fix the i586 kernel bug before you updated? I dont think that would cause panic though unless some kernel dependent apps were upated to 686, but its worth a try to fix it.
__________________
As always
Love, Life, Loyalty, Wisdom, Knowledge, And Understanding
FC6: Common Questions answered
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th November 2006, 09:41 PM
Dies Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbl
Hi,
Just forget your old kernel. Keep all what you have in grub.conf. and just boot off the new kernel.
Deps have been updated according to the new kernel.
I could have sworn he said that's what the problem was, he can't.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th November 2006, 09:51 PM
u-noneinc-s Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wine Country, California
Posts: 2,850
Yeah he did, but I think we all read a little too fast sometimes. At least I know I've done my share (of reading too fast)
__________________
Mark N.

Perpetual Newbie
--
I wanted to proclaim myself "The Typo King" but there's way too much competion. :p

411874 Get Counted
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st December 2006, 12:54 AM
ToddEichel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8
Yeah, the new kernel is the problem. Can't boot off of it.

Nick - no, didn't do anything about the i586 bug, I'll look into it to see if that helps... Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st December 2006, 01:09 AM
ToddEichel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8
no, both kernals are i686. I'm removing the more recent one in yum-ex right now, see what happens from there....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1st December 2006, 07:37 AM
tbl Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: France (Bretagne)
Age: 47
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by u-noneinc-s
Yeah he did, but I think we all read a little too fast sometimes. At least I know I've done my share (of reading too fast)
Then i am on the list too

Sorry for that, Dies
__________________
LarryT, GParted-project Admin
Main site : http://gparted.sourceforge.net/index.php
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 1st December 2006, 02:10 PM
Dies Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbl
Then i am on the list too

Sorry for that, Dies
We all are, no need for an apology I just thought it was funny so I figured I'd call you on it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 1st December 2006, 02:14 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickisgod1
did you fix the i586 kernel bug before you updated? I dont think that would cause panic though unless some kernel dependent apps were upated to 686, but its worth a try to fix it.
this not a bug , just the default kernel to change at install , you just have use the option linux i686
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 1st December 2006, 03:54 PM
ToddEichel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8
Both kernels were installed as i686. When I removed the 2849 kernel in yumex, it hosed my X server. Tried doing an update from the CD, that didn't work, so I just installed again. When it found all the updates at first log in, I just unselected the kernel update, allowed everything else, and it's working fine now. I just won't update the kernel until I see a newer build number....
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 1st December 2006, 07:41 PM
nick.stumpos Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lansing, Mi
Age: 30
Posts: 2,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by leigh123
this not a bug , just the default kernel to change at install , you just have use the option linux i686
You wouldnt call the fact the anaconda install the wrong arch kernel at default a bug? what would you call it? It performs an operation differently then was intended and is documented, to me this is a bug. Not really important, and easy to fix. But i would say installing the wrong kernel definitely qualifies as a bug in anaconda
__________________
As always
Love, Life, Loyalty, Wisdom, Knowledge, And Understanding
FC6: Common Questions answered
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 1st December 2006, 08:05 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickisgod1
You wouldnt call the fact the anaconda install the wrong arch kernel at default a bug? what would you call it? It performs an operation differently then was intended and is documented, to me this is a bug. Not really important, and easy to fix. But i would say installing the wrong kernel definitely qualifies as a bug in anaconda

its easy to fix dont install i586 kernel at install.
when booting install disk just type in

linux i686

and it will install the i686 kernel instead

it seems the developers made a small error.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 1st December 2006, 08:09 PM
nick.stumpos Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lansing, Mi
Age: 30
Posts: 2,222
I know how to fix it, and im not saying it is not easy to fix but isn't the developers making a small error, or big error the definition of a bug, A program doing smething different then the programs intended due to a mistake in the coding
__________________
As always
Love, Life, Loyalty, Wisdom, Knowledge, And Understanding
FC6: Common Questions answered
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 1st December 2006, 08:34 PM
u-noneinc-s Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wine Country, California
Posts: 2,850
Quote:
Originally Posted by leigh123
its easy to fix dont install i586 kernel at install.
when booting install disk just type in

linux i686

and it will install the i686 kernel instead

it seems the developers made a small error.
I have thought of it as a bug too, not that that matters.

This post is to say thanks for that linux i686 installation option. I think this is the first time I have seen it posted anywhere and I'll definitely remember that when the time comes.

D@mn, I love this forum
__________________
Mark N.

Perpetual Newbie
--
I wanted to proclaim myself "The Typo King" but there's way too much competion. :p

411874 Get Counted
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fc6, install

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install Experience needed to install Fedora 7 on HP tx1000 series laptop jiabo Hardware & Laptops 33 6th May 2010 12:23 PM
Fedora 10 default install fails with ATI 4850 graphics card (but text install works) Jeff72 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 20th January 2009 05:27 PM
Is it possible to install GUI's, install browsers, install IP addresses? booter Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 13th June 2007 11:40 PM
FC4 DVD Install - Unable to get past Select Driver option for Local CDROM install flashgordon EOL (End Of Life) Versions 2 28th February 2006 05:54 AM
FC3 SCSI MegaRAID : No drive detected on install, RH9 install is flawless. sladetf EOL (End Of Life) Versions 2 4th March 2005 06:53 PM


Current GMT-time: 23:08 (Wednesday, 22-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
La Calera - Bucharest Instagram Photos - Isieke