Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 29th November 2006, 12:15 AM
claudio7c0 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Question Show City Name in Weather Applet

Hi folks

Is it possible do show the name of the city for which I get the weather report beside the temperature? (e.g. Zurich 4°C)

Thank you for your help. Claudio.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29th November 2006, 12:16 AM
jim Offline
Retired Community Manager & Avid Drinker Of Suds
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Age: 40
Posts: 4,175
Short answer No

you could install gdesklets and the weather applet for gdesklets
__________________
Registered Linux User: #376813
Western NY
My linux site
Smolt Profile

please remember to say if you problem was solved

Did you get your id10t award today?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th November 2006, 12:35 AM
u-noneinc-s Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wine Country, California
Posts: 2,850
And then it depends on which desklet you use. iweather shows the city goodweather does not.
__________________
Mark N.

Perpetual Newbie
--
I wanted to proclaim myself "The Typo King" but there's way too much competion. :p

411874 Get Counted
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th November 2006, 01:29 AM
claudio7c0 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Talking

Thanks for your answers!

The weather happens anyway...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th November 2006, 01:37 AM
Iron_Mike Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ft Huachuca, AZ
Posts: 3,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by u-noneinc-s
And then it depends on which desklet you use. iweather shows the city goodweather does not.
This is goodweather........
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th November 2006, 01:40 AM
u-noneinc-s Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wine Country, California
Posts: 2,850
Bora Bora, French Polynesia, I'll bet it is very-goodweather

EDIT: This was in reply to Iron Mike. I don't know if he deleted it or if he's editing it (maybe left out an attachment?). But, I'll leave it or delete it accordingly
__________________
Mark N.

Perpetual Newbie
--
I wanted to proclaim myself "The Typo King" but there's way too much competion. :p

411874 Get Counted

Last edited by u-noneinc-s; 29th November 2006 at 01:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th November 2006, 01:41 AM
Iron_Mike Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ft Huachuca, AZ
Posts: 3,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by u-noneinc-s
And then it depends on which desklet you use. iweather shows the city goodweather does not.

Ang.........This is goodweather......
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot.png
Views:	102
Size:	111.4 KB
ID:	10542  
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29th November 2006, 01:46 AM
u-noneinc-s Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wine Country, California
Posts: 2,850
I had a feeling you were editing it. I have goodweather too, but mine doesn't show the City. Maybe because I entered my zipcode instead of the weather.com citycode?
I didn't know how to find the city code so I was just happy when the zip code worked.
__________________
Mark N.

Perpetual Newbie
--
I wanted to proclaim myself "The Typo King" but there's way too much competion. :p

411874 Get Counted
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29th November 2006, 02:08 AM
Iron_Mike Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ft Huachuca, AZ
Posts: 3,772
Here's one of the folk's place is Mesa, AZ, It shows the city but not the state, this is just the zip code. But who knows, I could be using Gimp...... Right click the desklet and hit configure, it is the "location" option in one of the drop downs....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot-1.png
Views:	100
Size:	100.6 KB
ID:	10543  

Last edited by Iron_Mike; 29th November 2006 at 02:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
applet, city, weather

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weather sometimes not displaying in Clock applet (F10) Palooka EOL (End Of Life) Versions 1 12th January 2010 08:08 PM
Hong Kong Weather Applet stevenjd13 Using Fedora 0 13th June 2009 06:21 AM
Gnome Weather applet kama Using Fedora 1 10th April 2007 09:10 AM
Question about weather report applet philip_w Using Fedora 1 22nd July 2005 09:59 PM


Current GMT-time: 13:13 (Thursday, 27-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
dusun bambu Family Leisure Park