Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 25th November 2006, 08:18 PM
New Fedora User Offline

Unhappy Newbie stupidity

Scratching my head...obviously I missed something somewhere when I was installing FC6 last night.

I could've sworn I set myself as the administrator, but it's telling me now that I don't have permissions to place files in the bin filder.

I'm trying to figure out how to install a program that I downloaded offline, specifically RealPlayer 10. As you can see, I'm totally new to Fedora, and Linux altogether. So far, I'm really liking it.
Old 25th November 2006, 08:26 PM
JN4OldSchool Offline
"Sean The Terrible" -- The forum(er) Vista® rep

This isnt like Windows. When you were in anaconda before the actual install you were asked a root password. This is your administrator account. You can either log in as

user: root (the actual word "root" here!)
password: YOUR ROOT PASSWORD

EDIT: I am also obligated to put in the warning disclaimer here- You do not want to preform day to day operations in the root account! In fact, I wouldnt even come into this account unless I had to, then I would get back out as fast as possible. Another little trick I do is set my wallpaper in this root account to a bright red. This is a constant reminder I am root and should be very very careful!

or, while using your user account (the one under your name) you can open a terminal and type:

Code:
$ su -
password: YOUR ROOT PASSWORD
#
the pound sign shows you are now root. You can also set up a sudo link like ubuntu if you prefer that.

Last edited by JN4OldSchool; 25th November 2006 at 08:30 PM.
Old 25th November 2006, 08:27 PM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager

Hello;
Welcome
If you are new then please take a few minutes to read through here:
http://www.fedorafaq.org/basics/
and
http://easylinux.info/wiki/Fedora_fc5
which is a well written guide to get you off the the right foot

Edit: Sorry JN4, didn't mean to post over ....
Seve