Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 16th November 2006, 01:28 PM
garrincha Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Krizevci, Croatia, Europe
Posts: 11
Unable to access resume device (SWAP-hda6)

Hi there!

I'm having some problems with swap partition. During the boot time I'm
getting the following annoying message:

Unable to access resume device (SWAP-hda6)

Here's what Anaconda generated into my fstab:

LABEL=SWAP-hda6 swap swap defaults 0 0

I even tried to changed the above line with this one:

/dev/hda6 swap swap defaults 0 0

and it didn't help. I'm still getting the annoying message, hibernation
does not work (probably because the system can't access to swap
partition during the boot process) etc. Does anyone have any idea what
the heck is wrong? I found no related bugs on Red Hat's bugzilla (and I
even don't know to which package this bug is related to), but I found on
Google that some people experienced the same problem as well:
http://tinyurl.com/vzu7z

Thanks in advance. Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30th November 2006, 04:43 PM
b.dewolf Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Belgium
Age: 42
Posts: 2
I had the same problem today here. I figured out the initrd file also makes an internal copy of /etc/fstab during creation as well. And I had some changes in my partition layout after kernel installation (which caused the problem).
The solution for me: reinstall the kernel rpm:
download from one or another mirror and then
rpm -i --replacepkgs kernel....rpm
This will trigger mkinitrd which re-reads your (hopefully correct) /etc/fstab en create an initrd from that.
(an althernative would be to run mkinitrd yourself).

Let me know if it works.

Bruno

Last edited by b.dewolf; 30th November 2006 at 04:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th November 2006, 05:33 PM
dodd Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 20
try to do(as root):
e2label /dev/hda6 SWAP-hda6
this may help.
__________________
Two hours of broadband to ftp the Linux package, 15¢.
CDs to burn the files, $1.00.
The knowledge that nothing on your computer is from Microsoft, PRICELESS.

There are some operating systems that you don't need money to buy.
For everything else there's Windows.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th November 2006, 09:21 PM
meijer.o Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: netherlands
Posts: 61
try this "/sbin/mkswap -L SWAP-hda6 /dev/hda6" reboot, or read man mkswap.

One cannot create a label on a swap partition with e2label

Kind regards,

O. Meijer
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th November 2006, 09:39 PM
dodd Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by meijer.o
One cannot create a label on a swap partition with e2label
yeah, you are right, i forgot e2label is not for swap.
__________________
Two hours of broadband to ftp the Linux package, 15¢.
CDs to burn the files, $1.00.
The knowledge that nothing on your computer is from Microsoft, PRICELESS.

There are some operating systems that you don't need money to buy.
For everything else there's Windows.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30th November 2006, 11:58 PM
garrincha Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Krizevci, Croatia, Europe
Posts: 11
It did help, thanks. I didn't have to create initrd, reinstalling the kernel packages went just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15th February 2007, 12:09 PM
anupam9 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San diego, California
Posts: 13
thank you meijer.o
I had exactly the same problem as garincha described on top. Your solution worked for me. I also did "swapon -a" after "/sbin/mkswap" command.
I had never seen my laptop successfully come back alive after hibernation and now it works !! thanks again!
__________________
"Peace is within us"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
access, device, resume, swaphda6, unable

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
unable to access resume device (LABEL=SWAP=hda3) hbol Using Fedora 11 14th October 2010 12:29 AM
Unable to access resume device westand Using Fedora 2 29th January 2009 06:28 PM
Unable to access resume dev SWAP-sdb5 lynnevan Using Fedora 1 18th November 2007 05:00 AM
getting message : cannot access resume device LABEL=swap-sda10 ilovegnulinux Using Fedora 5 18th July 2007 04:32 AM
Unable to access resume device (SWAP-hda3) jestemradek Using Fedora 0 6th May 2006 10:36 AM


Current GMT-time: 01:06 (Sunday, 26-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Niteroi Instagram Photos - York - Duba