Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 14th November 2006, 10:47 PM
micxuy Offline

How to edit root files...

Hi guys;

I am kinda new to Linux as well as Fedora.

I am trying to get used to it. However have one thing i do not get it, I am the only one using Fedora on my computer. So I have the root access.. I have seen some files with root access, I tried to edit it but it did not allow me to edit the file. I know how to log in as root -terminal-su ... but in the terminal how can i edit files, such as .PHP , .HTML etc... So now I only know one way to edit file is #chown username /dir/file.name then i can edit it.

So my question is how do i can edit the root files?

Thanks a lot. Hope you guys can help me out.

Regards.
Old 14th November 2006, 10:57 PM
Wayne

Quote:
Originally Posted by micxuy
Hi guys;

I am kinda new to Linux as well as Fedora.

I am trying to get used to it. However have one thing i do not get it, I am the only one using Fedora on my computer. So I have the root access.. I have seen some files with root access, I tried to edit it but it did not allow me to edit the file. I know how to log in as root -terminal-su ... but in the terminal how can i edit files, such as .PHP , .HTML etc... So now I only know one way to edit file is #chown username /dir/file.name then i can edit it.

So my question is how do i can edit the root files?

Thanks a lot. Hope you guys can help me out.

Regards.
I usually just open a Terminal, su to root and type:

gedit

Then open and edit the file. Of course, you can use vi or any other text based editor but why torture yourself

Wayne
Old 14th November 2006, 11:02 PM
micxuy Offline

nice thanks...

but i do not get your sentence:
Quote:
Then open and edit the file. Of course, you can use vi or any other text based editor but why torture yourself
are there other ways or what do you mean?

Thanks for your reply

Regards
Old 14th November 2006, 11:07 PM
Wayne

Quote:
Originally Posted by micxuy
nice thanks...