Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 11th November 2006, 04:30 AM
cj100570 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 39
Last Try Before Going Back To Windows

After moving to SUSE from Windows just over 2 years ago I'm on the verge of heading back to Windows. SUSE has been my preferred distro but 10.1 is an absolute mess. I've toyed with Ubuntu, Kubuntu and Mandriva but they just don't do it for me. So, here I am giving Fedora a try but having no luck at all. After getting it installed I'm greeted with a black screen and a frozen pc that doesn't respond to any input. I have a previous post asking for help but nothing has solved my problem. For 2 weeks now I've been using a live cd but I've grown tired of that and need an OS installed. The information I need is simple; how do I get FC6 to boot into vesa so that I can at least have a graphical desktop? My graphics card is an nVidia GeForce 6600. Before anyone asks, I can't post my xconfig file because when I've tried to gedit it claims it doesn't exist. Thanks in advance for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11th November 2006, 04:48 AM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,201
Hi
Dunno if this will work, but try appending vga=791 to the grub boot command.

Dan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th November 2006, 04:52 AM
Coolerthanyou Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 644
You probably should go back to windows. Out of those distros you mention, I can't imagine what problems you might be having. If it's the same with things like ubuntu then you might have some hardware damage on your hands. Testing it would sound like a good idea if I were you. Unless things like ubuntu 'not doing it for you' mean something stupid that is not 'failing to work'.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cj100570
how do I get FC6 to boot into vesa so that I can at least have a graphical desktop?
I whined myself about nvidia in FC6 a little while ago. All I had to do was visit the nvidia site for the newest driver. This installed on FC6 as it should. I have to say, for all the whining people do about the nvidia driver, they seem to be really on the ball with supporting "bleeding edge" stuff like Fedora releases. The driver now even supports selinux. Installing the driver is a simple short process if you follow the directions.

If your X config file doesn't exist, then create it. I think the nvidia driver install will create one though I always choose to change it manually.
__________________
Beware of he who would deny you access to information, for in his heart, he dreams himself your master.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th November 2006, 04:52 AM
Finalzone Offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2,465
Could you post message log if you can?
vi /var/log/message
__________________
Desktop CPU: AMD Phenom II(tm) X4 Processor 940 AM2+ - Memory: 8GB DDR2-RAM - GPU: Nvidia Geforce GTX 460 v2 - OS: Fedora 20 Heisenbug x86-64 and Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
Laptop Toshiba Satellite C650D - OS: Fedora 20 Heisenbug x86-64 and Microsoft Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium Power output bust.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th November 2006, 05:05 AM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coolerthanyou
You probably should go back to windows. Out of those distros you mention, I can't imagine what problems you might be having. If it's the same with things like ubuntu then you might have some hardware damage on your hands. Testing it would sound like a good idea if I were you. Unless things like ubuntu 'not doing it for you' mean something stupid that is not 'failing to work'...
Cooney and several others are having this headache with the 6600 series too. We're still chewing on it. Cooney can't get the *buntus to load either. Haven't tried it on my 5200 yet.

Hi Finalzone, Any ideas?

Dan
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th November 2006, 05:10 AM
JN4OldSchool Offline
"Sean The Terrible" -- The forum(er) Vista® rep
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8,823
lol, yeah, pop in the live CD and change the /etc/X11/xorg.conf file to "vesa" then save. reboot into FC6 then enable Livna and get the kmod-nvidia driver. It will be the one that says "nvidia" in xorg.conf instead of "nv." "nv" is trash, that is your problem. It is an easy fix, just have patience my friend.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th November 2006, 05:11 AM
cj100570 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coolerthanyou
You probably should go back to windows. Out of those distros you mention, I can't imagine what problems you might be having. If it's the same with things like ubuntu then you might have some hardware damage on your hands. Testing it would sound like a good idea if I were you. Unless things like ubuntu 'not doing it for you' mean something stupid that is not 'failing to work'.



I whined myself about nvidia in FC6 a little while ago. All I had to do was visit the nvidia site for the newest driver. This installed on FC6 as it should. I have to say, for all the whining people do about the nvidia driver, they seem to be really on the ball with supporting "bleeding edge" stuff like Fedora releases. The driver now even supports selinux. Installing the driver is a simple short process if you follow the directions.

If your X config file doesn't exist, then create it. I think the nvidia driver install will create one though I always choose to change it manually.
You could've kept this response to yourself!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11th November 2006, 05:37 AM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,201
Quote:
Originally Posted by JN4OldSchool
lol, yeah, pop in the live CD and change the /etc/X11/xorg.conf file to "vesa" then save. reboot into FC6 then enable Livna and get the kmod-nvidia driver. It will be the one that says "nvidia" in xorg.conf instead of "nv." "nv" is trash, that is your problem. It is an easy fix, just have patience my friend.
...Provided the liveCD isn't one of the 6.10 *buntus or the FC6 live CD. That's the wall we've hit.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11th November 2006, 05:48 AM
Coolerthanyou Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 644
that's very strange, my friends runs geforce 6600 gt on kubuntu without special problems (or at least it functions, direct rendering and all) and i imagine it would be the same on fedora (or as he calls it, FUDora). maybe it's not the video card causing the problem but the motherboard, or something.

And yes, "nv" is trash. And it offsets your screen to the right. (And no, don't tell me my modelines are not set up, or something to that effect, because they shouldn't have to be. )
__________________
Beware of he who would deny you access to information, for in his heart, he dreams himself your master.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11th November 2006, 02:38 PM
cj100570 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 39
I've had great results with every distro I've tried except Fedora. On the occassions that I have had problems booting into a graphical desktop the fix has been painless. In SUSE I used sax2 -m 0=vesa, in Mandriva I used XFdrake and in Ubuntu/Kubuntu I used dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg. Fedora on the other hand seems to have no such configurator from the replies I've gotten to my issue and from what I can find in various forums. Surely there must be a way to log in in text mode and then configure the X server to use vesa!? I know that the issue revolves around my nVidia card but I can't believe that after 2 weeks of asking, I'm no closer to getting a "straight" answer.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11th November 2006, 02:44 PM
cj100570 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coolerthanyou
You probably should go back to windows. Out of those distros you mention, I can't imagine what problems you might be having. If it's the same with things like ubuntu then you might have some hardware damage on your hands. Testing it would sound like a good idea if I were you. Unless things like ubuntu 'not doing it for you' mean something stupid that is not 'failing to work'.



I whined myself about nvidia in FC6 a little while ago. All I had to do was visit the nvidia site for the newest driver. This installed on FC6 as it should. I have to say, for all the whining people do about the nvidia driver, they seem to be really on the ball with supporting "bleeding edge" stuff like Fedora releases. The driver now even supports selinux. Installing the driver is a simple short process if you follow the directions.

If your X config file doesn't exist, then create it. I think the nvidia driver install will create one though I always choose to change it manually.
3

Non of my hardware is damaged in any way since it works with every distro I've tried except Fedora. And since that is the case, I can safely say that Fedora is the issue.

As for your statement that I probably should go back to Windows, that's not a very good answer in response to a queation posed by someone trying to support open source software. The forums are here to help people make Linux work for them, not have them decide that it's too difficult and run back to windows.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11th November 2006, 02:51 PM
jim Offline
Retired Community Manager & Avid Drinker Of Suds
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Age: 39
Posts: 4,175
have you looked here ?

http://stanton-finley.net/fedora_cor...es.html#nVidia
__________________
Registered Linux User: #376813
Western NY
My linux site
Smolt Profile

please remember to say if you problem was solved

Did you get your id10t award today?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11th November 2006, 03:11 PM
nick.stumpos Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lansing, Mi
Age: 29
Posts: 2,222
if you can boot init 3 just login and change your xorg.conf to use vesa as a driver
__________________
As always
Love, Life, Loyalty, Wisdom, Knowledge, And Understanding
FC6: Common Questions answered
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11th November 2006, 03:27 PM
cj100570 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickisgod1
if you can boot init 3 just login and change your xorg.conf to use vesa as a driver
Can you post a walk thru on how to do this? I'm new to FC and I've never really had to edit any files in the other distros I've used.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11th November 2006, 03:28 PM
cj100570 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim
I actually tried this before and it didn't work. Perhaps I'll revisit it tonight when I get home.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
windows

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hello Windows. I'm back. kona0197 Wibble 2 19th July 2009 06:21 AM
seriously...im about to go back to windows egelston Using Fedora 2 11th December 2007 08:31 PM
i'm going back to windows..... norton Using Fedora 18 9th April 2007 02:39 AM
Going Back To Windows..... tready Using Fedora 12 31st March 2006 12:08 AM
I just want my windows back. :( Curlydave Using Fedora 7 20th May 2005 08:25 PM


Current GMT-time: 03:43 (Wednesday, 23-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat