Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 7th November 2006, 12:52 AM
dashdanw Offline

Changing Display Options in Rescue

I changed the settings of the display on the computer and now it wont display anything at all when i start up, sop i booted from the CD and i can get into rescue mode. Is there any way i can change the settings back on the computer so that i can reset the display information? I dont know much about shell commands since im relatively new to al this.
Old 7th November 2006, 01:43 AM
Iron_Mike Offline

When you enter rescue mode, you will have to "mount" the existing image. Once the image is mounted change to that location and at the prompt type:

system-config-display --reconfig

This will generate a "New" xorg.conf with the default settings, just like a fresh install. Reboot the computer and pull the CD, you should be back in business
Old 7th November 2006, 02:24 AM
dashdanw Offline

hmmm taht doesnt seem to be working....the rescue program mounts the installation automatically right? when i typed in that command it just went to another prompt right after, it didnt seem to do much work. But if there was an idue with the displayy would GRUB load before linux loaded, because when i boot from linux NOTHING shows, its ocmplete bnlack like the monitor isnt even recieveing signal, but kin know that its connected because it works fine when i boot from Mac OS9
Old 7th November 2006, 03:35 AM
Iron_Mike Offline

Quote:
Originally Posted by dashdanw
hmmm taht doesnt seem to be working....the rescue program mounts the installation automatically right? when i typed in that command it just went to another prompt right after, it didnt seem to do much work. But if there was an idue with the displayy would GRUB load before linux loaded, because when i boot from linux NOTHING shows, its ocmplete bnlack like the monitor isnt even recieveing signal, but kin know that its connected because it works fine when i boot from Mac OS9