Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 4th November 2006, 10:03 PM
sirius56 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 103
Sound Volume Slider in Gnome and FC6

After every reboot of FC6, the Volume Slider in the upper right hand corner of the Gnome Desktop panel, is always reset to zero. Not a major problem but shouldn't the volume setting be reset to the volume setting of the prior successful boot?

Is there a place where the volume setting can be locked?
__________________
Old Dell E150. Intel D.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 4th November 2006, 10:11 PM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello:
Just a thought?
Have a look at Open Volume Controls and check and see if something is disabled, set very low or set to mute etc.


Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th November 2006, 10:21 PM
sirius56 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 103
Seve, Volume Control just mirrors the panel slider. There do not appear to be any locking controls.
__________________
Old Dell E150. Intel D.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th November 2006, 10:34 PM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello:
Well ...... it was only a thought
Dunno why you are getting that behaviour? Are you using pcm or master to control the volume?
Just throwing out the only things I can think of at the moment.

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th December 2006, 01:16 AM
emachete Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
hi I have FC6 in my turion64 hp and alredy installed Xmms but I can't play music what can i do
turion 64 dv5220LA sorry for my english
emachete@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th December 2006, 07:41 AM
hiberphoptik Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,186
I am seeing the same issue, every time the machine is started the sound is muted
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st April 2007, 05:31 AM
SMDGomez Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
I've got an interesting problem. My volume control is fighting against me. All the volumes in alsa and Kmix are on and up...except for the most important one, master. I have master on, but no matter how I try to increase the volume (slider bar, arrow keys in alsa, or keyboard shortcuts) it always fights its way back to 0%... the whole time with a very annoying, centrally located, Volume slider display on top of all other windows. I need to get this fixed, because not all windows or dialog boxes are able to be moved around the volume slider.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1st April 2007, 03:21 PM
sirius56 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 103
SMDGomez, I had several audio problems including yours until I updated to the latest kernel, 2.6.20.1-1.2933.fc6
Now my audio functions are perfect. Please check to see if you are updated.
__________________
Old Dell E150. Intel D.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 1st April 2007, 08:22 PM
SMDGomez Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
and how would I do that? Sorry I am a bit of a n00b. I'm guess its something to the effect of:
yum -y update kernel
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2nd April 2007, 12:23 AM
sirius56 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 103
I think you are slightly beyond the noob stage. Linux is so rich in features that it would take a lifetime to master it.

To find your version, give the command

uname -r

Should say 2.6.20.1-1.2933.fc6
__________________
Old Dell E150. Intel D.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fc6, gnome, slider, sound, volume

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Volume Slider sticks at either Mute or Max theloofa Hardware & Laptops 8 19th December 2009 02:47 AM
F11 Volume Control not remembering volume after logout of gnome JEO Using Fedora 4 18th August 2009 01:19 AM
gnome volume applet won't control the volume jhetrick62 Using Fedora 17 14th June 2007 12:42 AM
Sound works, but pcm volume slider does not let to change volume PeTzZz Using Fedora 8 14th January 2005 11:47 PM
eggcups and gnome volume manager cancelled at starting gnome in fc3 copter Using Fedora 9 28th November 2004 08:59 AM


Current GMT-time: 05:47 (Friday, 01-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat