Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #31  
Old 25th February 2007, 03:10 AM
slimjimtowin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Age: 26
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by giulix
Been thinking about it.... problem is: can you plug a keyboard into a console (yes, it's a serious question) ?
PS2's also have usb ports though only certain games support keyboard mostly online multiplayer games like Everquest that allow chat. could you imagine having a conversation using your PS2 controller although there are people out there that do it, I think its a pain in the ass.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 25th February 2007, 04:23 AM
evilinux Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 113
I play Quake 4 and thats about it, so for me its fine. Quake 4 runs better especially now that I have tweaked the heck out of this OS.
I am still looking for more tweaks, but I got this machine running now so it only uses 100.5 MB of memory right after boot, with system monitor running so I can see,.
After opening and closing several apps it is running at around 106 MB of ram used by the OS
games run faster and are more responsive. even though technically it shouldnt matter if you using 168 megs of ram for the OS when you have 2 gigs it does matter and I think maybe because the adresses in ram are closer somehow? Im not sure, but it matters.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 19th March 2007, 02:10 AM
jbordelon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Poplarville, MS
Age: 29
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob
To me, gaming consoles are the way to go for gaming. I refuse to spend the big bucks to make my computer into a gaming console, especially with my performance in the games. A wonderful alternative is when my neighbors and family buy the gaming consoles, invite me over and provide the beer. I am a very gracious loser if you supply the brew!
I'm with you. I try to keep my gaming and computing separate. Of course there are those who like to blur the lines and turn their console into a computer and their computer into a console. :-P

The only problem is when they release a game for PC and not for a console. Then I have to user Winderz
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 19th March 2007, 08:16 AM
hugbees Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 46
ohh yess....

Quote:
Originally Posted by giulix
Been thinking about it.... problem is: can you plug a keyboard into a console (yes, it's a serious question) ?
the xbox is nothing but a weird looking gaming computer

the controllers are in fact plain usb. and you can replace them with any kind of usb gear (need a little plug in between though..). this is really fun when your running linux on it like me =)
__________________
Have you seen the continium transfunctioner?
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 19th March 2007, 09:46 PM
ajamison Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dundee, Michigan
Age: 34
Posts: 1,207
all next gen consoles except maybe the Wii have some form of keyboard the PS2/PS3 has a USB port and most USB keyboards will work with it
__________________
Andrew Jamison
IRC:ajamison5579
Linux Counter # 435228
-----------------
Wiki page helping to show appropriate Fedora versions of Ubuntu commands [url=https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/FedorianDictionary]Fedora Dictionary[/url <--- Outdated been very busy looking to update it soon
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 20th March 2007, 09:26 AM
Thetargos Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mexico City, Mexico
Age: 36
Posts: 4,422
The Wii also supports USB keyboards (and unless you're not familiar with the system, the Wii has two USB ports on the back)
__________________
If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

Systems: Laptop, Main System, Netbook.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 20th March 2007, 09:25 PM
sailor Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Antonio, Texas - Home of the Alamo, the "Cradle of Texas Liberty"
Age: 56
Posts: 4,100
With CrossOver Office I am able to play Half-Life, I have 2 of the loki games that are ported windows games...and with free installers from id I have successfully run DoomIII, Return to Castle Wolfenstein and I still play all the old Doom games (I, II, Plutonia and TNT: Evilution).

I love BZFlag a native linux online 3d tank battle...Scorched Earth 3d is cool...I play the old point and click games, the Dig, Beneath a Steel Sky, Flight of the Amazon Queen and the Indiana Jones. I use Scummv to play those.

There are hundreds of old DOS games that will work in dosbox...I am old too, so I still like those
__________________
**********************************************
sailor
San Antonio, Texas

Fedora 20 - Lenovo IdeaPad V570
**********************************************

Last edited by sailor; 20th March 2007 at 09:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 20th March 2007, 10:32 PM
Thetargos Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mexico City, Mexico
Age: 36
Posts: 4,422
I use DosBox to play my old DOS game selections too.
__________________
If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

Systems: Laptop, Main System, Netbook.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 21st March 2007, 04:03 AM
strikeforce Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 1,464
Has anyone tried using VMWare to play games. As in install windows xp and play the games that way.

If you guys have do you have a list of what games you tried and what works. I'm getting sick of switching to windows to play WoW properly. Yes I do need to play WoW in windows since I have a lot of addons that mostly can't be reduced since I'm a GL and the mods enable me to upload raid data etc...
__________________
- Helping New Users
Fedora Solved

- How to pay forward
Fedora Help Wanted

- Need a quick guide
Fedora Guide
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 21st March 2007, 08:09 PM
Thetargos Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mexico City, Mexico
Age: 36
Posts: 4,422
As far as I know, VMWare uses a generic 2D video device, I'm not sure if you'll be able to use any accelerated 3D applications under a VMWare Windows session.
__________________
If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

Systems: Laptop, Main System, Netbook.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 21st March 2007, 11:53 PM
strikeforce Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 1,464
Yeah I figured as much. I just remember reading somewhere that VMWare is trying to achieve that so you can run 3D accelerated games and programs under it. I wasn't sure whether anyone had tried it thats all.
__________________
- Helping New Users
Fedora Solved

- How to pay forward
Fedora Help Wanted

- Need a quick guide
Fedora Guide
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gaming, linux, trouble, worth

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Update/upgrade. Is it really worth the trouble? joe.pelayo Using Fedora 1 23rd March 2009 04:55 AM
F8: Worth it or too much trouble? RobG Using Fedora 6 9th January 2008 02:31 AM
Linux Gaming! PiP... Linux Chat 4 18th November 2005 02:01 PM
Linux and Gaming Sneltrekker Wibble 15 17th February 2005 07:29 AM
Linux Gaming? wct1490 Wibble 14 10th December 2004 04:10 PM


Current GMT-time: 13:13 (Friday, 18-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat