Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 26th October 2006, 09:55 AM
WastedYouth Offline

Core 6 installation hangs raid problem?

When i try to install FC6 it hangs just after starting the Xwindows after anaconda starts, i ran it again in text mode, and found it got to this...

"/dev/sdb: "pdc" and "isw" formats discovered (using isw)!"
"/dev/sdb: "sil" and "isw" formats discovered (using isw)!"
"dev/sda: "sil" and "isw" formats discovered (using isw)!"

then it stops and does nothing, im new to linux and dont know what this means so any advice would be greatly appreciated. I have been through the instalation some times now, and have found if i try to put a drive in, (i dont have any i was just looking) but it sees i have 2 harddrive partitions, which is correct, and then sees four sd's eg sda, sdb, sdc and sdd, (i think) but i dont know what these are i only have 2 cd drives.

My system spec is :
P4 prescott 3.2 @ 4ghz
1Gb DDR400 @ 500mhz
Abit IC7-G mobo
3 x 80gb SATA hdds off a pci sata raid card running in RAID 0
geforce 5700LE

Cheers Chris
Old 26th October 2006, 10:42 AM
annuzzer Offline

@ WastedYouth:

I'm facing the issue too. There seems to be absolutely NO WAY to get FC6 installed to either my desktop pc (AMD 64, nVIDIA GeForce 7600) or my laptop. Graphical installer freezes reproducibly after selecting the partitions to mount and the packages to install (means: at the beginning of the actual installation process.

Ann
Old 26th October 2006, 10:50 AM
JEO Offline

Chris -
It sounds like you have some old raid controller metadata left on your drives and it is confusing the installer. pdc is promise and sil is silicon image. The metadata gets written to the drives when you attach them to the particular vendor's card and create an array.

I don't know the solution, but it probably involves putting the drives back on the vendors cards to erase the unwanted metadata. I would back up all your data first of course.
Old 26th October 2006, 10:56 AM