Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 22nd October 2006, 09:44 PM
greenmetal Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 45
Question How to remotely administer a Linux box from Win XP Home PC

Hi,

I have two monitors and three machines. The one machine has windows 2000. and other two machines have Win XP Home. I have only two monitors and I use RealVNC to administer W2K machine from a Win XP machine.

Now I want to load Fedora 6 on a machine with W2K. Is there a way for me to administer this machine running Fedora from Windows XP machine?

Thanks for your time.

Greenmetal
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22nd October 2006, 09:49 PM
mwette Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Los Angeles area
Posts: 887
I use vnc. Set up vncserver on your Linux boxes and download the vnc
client from ... RealVNC.

In /etc/sysconfig/vncservers I have something like
Code:
VNCSERVERS="4:mwette"
VNCSERVERARGS[4]="-geometry 1024x768"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd October 2006, 09:50 PM
geertsky Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
hello, you could try putty for ssh access but vnc is also possible google for Xvnc
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd October 2006, 10:09 PM
Zigzagcom Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: CALIFORNIA, yeah
Age: 87
Posts: 1,657
Another great way, but more like Norton Commander/Explorer is WinScp3.82. If you have putty.exe, you can navigate the file system very easily and have the cli at your fingertips (there is a button on the menu bar, to invoke the shell). You also can transfer files easily, via scp/ssh, set permissions...tons of fun.
__________________
Ziggy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd October 2006, 11:00 PM
snoze Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: INDIA
Posts: 796
try cygwin, ssh, windows virtual PC's(version 7 is in test), vnc etc
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd October 2006, 11:15 PM
Doug G Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
WinSCP (as mentioned), PuTTy, and VNC are the only tools I need on my XP computer to do whatever I need on any of the headless linux servers on the network.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23rd October 2006, 03:40 PM
belsidaam Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Luxembourg
Age: 34
Posts: 8
I agree completely. I use it at worl top access my linux box.
WinSCP and Putty. Just remeber the firewall settings for ssh and scp (22 and 21)
VNC is also nice because it adds the desktop instead of a simple CLI.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31st October 2006, 11:34 PM
greenmetal Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 45
What is "mwette" and "4" in your /etc/sysconfig/vncservers file?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 31st October 2006, 11:44 PM
Doug G Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenmetal
What is "mwette" and "4" in your /etc/sysconfig/vncservers file?
If you're asking me, I don't know, never looked. vncserver worked for me without having to do anything (FC5)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 1st November 2006, 01:42 AM
greenmetal Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 45
For some reason I am not getting anywhere with RealVNC.

So I turned to TightVNC. But when I try to install the tightvnc-server-1.2.9-1.i386.rpm I get a message saying that "Missing Dependency: XFree86 is needed by package tightvnc-server". Can anyone can give me some what should I do to get rid of this message.

Sorry for my stupid questions but I am stranger in the Linux world.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 1st November 2006, 04:21 AM
pdb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 269
The vnc package included in the FC core is vnc-server. You can install it by yum.

EDIT: IMO the SSH command line will probably be the most efficient way to do most if not all of what you want as far as server administration goes.
__________________
http://pdb.homelinux.net
Registered Linux User # 348314

Last edited by pdb; 1st November 2006 at 04:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 3rd November 2006, 03:23 PM
greenmetal Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 45
I installed vnc-server on my linux and on my WinXP Home I installed the RealVNC Viwer. When I started the vncserver on my Linux box, by issuing the command vncserver, I saw the following message -
New 'localhost.localdomain:1 (tm)' desktop is localhost.localdomain:1

Starting applications specified in /root/.vnc/xstartup
Log file is /root/.vnc/localhost.localdomain:1.log

On my windows in New Connection windows as server I tried "192.168.1.100", I got a message saying "failed to connect: Connection refused (10061)". When I tried "ocalhost.localdomain:1", I got a message saying "getaddrinfo: No such host is known (11001)"

Can some one tell me what I should I enter as my server in VNC Viewer on WinXP Home?

Thanks for your time and help.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 3rd November 2006, 04:44 PM
pdb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 269
You should enter the IP of the server you are trying to connect to. You will need to be sure the firewall on the Linux box has the right port open for you to be able to connect.
__________________
http://pdb.homelinux.net
Registered Linux User # 348314
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 3rd November 2006, 04:54 PM
wdgiles Offline
Still Nothing
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Dallas, Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 684
The standard for VNC is to start at port 5901 and work upwards from there. When it reports "localhost.localdomain:1" what it means is that you should use vncviewer to open localhost.localdomain:5901. It might work better using the IP address unless you've correctly configured your hosts file.
__________________
You can call me Bill
Registered Linux user: 435641
1 F?? workstation, 1 XBMC PVR and two Win7 workstations.
Too many other pc's - some that are even still running.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 3rd November 2006, 04:58 PM
tw56 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: GA, USA
Posts: 311
http://fedoranews.org/tchung/vnc/
This step by step how to will get it going.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
administer, box, home, linux, remotely, win

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't open Linux remotely using netbios name dfryers Servers & Networking 5 10th June 2008 06:42 PM
connecting to my linux box remotely b3nny Servers & Networking 4 11th January 2007 04:46 AM
Administer Windows servers via FC# Linux Bone Using Fedora 7 15th May 2006 10:34 PM


Current GMT-time: 15:53 (Sunday, 21-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Casa dos Frios Travel Photos - Moonah Links Resort - Beijing Instagram Photos - McDonald's Travel Photos on Instagram