Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 22nd October 2006, 04:36 AM
Roybert Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Age: 25
Posts: 61
Font

Anyone have the problem of Text not displaying when playing some online games, such as advanture quest?
When i get to the log in screen, its just blank, but u can still type in it and stuff. Anyone recoomend anything?
I actually have the same problem when running Steam in Wine. Suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22nd October 2006, 04:38 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello:
Have you installed true type ms fonts?
http://www.mjmwired.net/resources/mj...a-fc5.html#ttf

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd October 2006, 05:17 AM
mtl2002 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 263
If the games that cause this problem involve using Macromedia Flash, this is a known problem with text display. Try this fix
Quote:
Originally Posted by http://stanton-finley.net/fedora_core_5_installation_notes.html#Flash
At the moment there is a bug in Flash that prevents it from displaying normal text in FC5. To resolve this enter the following command as root: "mkdir -p /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fs/", hit enter and then enter the following command also as root: "ln -s /etc/X11/fs/config /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fs/config", hit enter and then log out and back in.
OR, try updating to flash9 from here: http://labs.adobe.com/downloads/flashplayer9.html

OR try both?

If the games don't involve flash, then obviously just ignore this!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd October 2006, 05:47 AM
Roybert Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Age: 25
Posts: 61
when using the rpm, i get the error
"error: can't create transaction lock on /var/lib/rpm/__db.000"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd October 2006, 05:51 AM
Roybert Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Age: 25
Posts: 61
It worked! Thanks for the M$ font rpm!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
font

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
font.conf - how to make multiple families have one preferred font? mrmailer Using Fedora 2 7th May 2011 04:19 PM


Current GMT-time: 00:11 (Saturday, 30-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat