Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Other Versions > EOL (End Of Life) Versions
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

EOL (End Of Life) Versions This is a Forum to discuss problems and workarounds for versions of Fedora that have passed End of Life.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th September 2006, 01:47 AM
b82b14b7 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Scotland
Age: 26
Posts: 2
Problem configuring GRUB for dual-booting Win XP on SATA, FC5 on IDE

Hi, thanks for taking a look at this.

I've only recently started using Linux (as of earlier today), I did spend a good few hours searching for an answer to this problem, which is probably something simple, before posting here.

I have four hard drives (details in signature), Windows XP is installed on my 36Gb SATA Raptor drive, with the 250Gb SATA and 80Gb IDE drives being used for Windows storage/backup, both NTFS, earlier today I installed FC5 in the 38Gb IDE drive which went fine, however I cannot boot FC5 without chaing around my boot options in Setup, e.g. - if I want to boot Win XP I need to tell my machine to look at the drive with Windows on it first and if I want to boot FC5 I need to tell it to look at the Linux drive first.

Now when I boot Linux GRUB will load fine, however it only gives me the option to boot FC5 - I've obviously completely screwed up installing GRUB. I've been trying to fix it by editing the grub.conf file but I can't seem to find the right name for my Windows drive, here's what my grub.conf file looks like now -

Code:
default=0
timeout=5
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title Fedora Core (2.6.15-1.2054_FC5)
	root (hd0,0)
	kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.15-1.2054_FC5 ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 rhgb quiet
	initrd /initrd-2.6.15-1.2054_FC5.img
title Windows XP
	rootnoverify (sd0,0)
	chainloader +1
I've tried experimenting around with the name of the Windows drive but I can't get it to work. : /

Like I mentioned before, this is probably something extremely simple, but if someone could help me fix GRUB for dual-booting it would be nice, thank for looking.

EDIT:- I'm going to have to sleep now but I'll check up on this in the morning.
__________________
Asus A8N-SLi
Athlon 64 3500+
1 Gb DDR2 667 MHz
WD 36Gb Raptor
Maxtor 250 Gb SATA
Maxtor 80Gb IDE
Maxtor 38Gb IDE
2 x nVidia 7600GT 256Mb PIC-e
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15th September 2006, 04:44 AM
silvagroup Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 356
b82b14b7,
What do people call you b, b8, bbb, bad joke I know.
Anyway, Not being an expert either but having had to mess with grub a few times I would say your grub should be looking at either hd2,0 or hd1,0 (order dependent) for windows not sd.
At the grub menu do ^c and at the grub> prompt and try root (hd1,0) and root (hd2,0) it will tell you what file type you have may help. Here is an example of my grub for xp:
Code:
title		Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
root		(hd0,1)
savedefault
makeactive
chainloader	+1
Hope this helps
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th September 2006, 12:19 PM
b82b14b7 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Scotland
Age: 26
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by silvagroup
b82b14b7,
What do people call you b, b8, bbb, bad joke I know.

Quote:
Originally Posted by silvagroup
Anyway, Not being an expert either but having had to mess with grub a few times I would say your grub should be looking at either hd2,0 or hd1,0 (order dependent) for windows not sd.
At the grub menu do ^c and at the grub> prompt and try root (hd1,0) and root (hd2,0) it will tell you what file type you have may help. Here is an example of my grub for xp:
Code:
title		Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
root		(hd0,1)
savedefault
makeactive
chainloader	+1
Hope this helps
I've tried those with no luck, I would have thought it would be sd0 because the drive I'm trying to boot Windows from is an SATA drive. :S
__________________
Asus A8N-SLi
Athlon 64 3500+
1 Gb DDR2 667 MHz
WD 36Gb Raptor
Maxtor 250 Gb SATA
Maxtor 80Gb IDE
Maxtor 38Gb IDE
2 x nVidia 7600GT 256Mb PIC-e
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th September 2006, 02:04 PM
13sio Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Macau
Posts: 30
/boot/grub/device.map describes how GRUB treats devices. For the following example, GRUB treats /dev/sda as hd2.
Code:
(fd0) /dev/fd0
(hd0) /dev/hda
(hd1) /dev/hdb
(hd2) /dev/sda
You can take a look on this file.

Another, Windows always wants to be the first drive. If it doesn't, we should use GRUB command 'map' to swap.

Actually, i have no experience about Linux and SATA HDD. The above are what i see on web. Hope it becomes your starting point.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
configuring, dualbooting, fc5, grub, ide, problem, sata, win

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GRUB problem dual booting WinXP and Fedora Core 4 Glorioso Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 7th June 2006 06:50 PM
dual booting into winxp using grub problem mjlior Using Fedora 5 31st March 2006 01:57 PM
GRUB problem when Dual Booting Win XP and Fedora core 4 iamroot Using Fedora 2 26th July 2005 03:19 AM


Current GMT-time: 00:37 (Saturday, 25-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Kaneohe Photos - Milton Keynes - Torbat-e Jam Travel Photos on Instagram