Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora Resources > Guides & Solutions (No Questions)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Guides & Solutions (No Questions) Post your guides here (No links to Blogs accepted). You can also append your comments/questions to a guide, but don't start a new thread to ask a question. Use another forum for that.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 22nd August 2006, 05:35 AM
Alan_Hill Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firewing1
rpm -e compiz error is OK, the "rpm -e" is to remove any previous versions of compiz to avoid conflicts. As for your yum error - That I haven't seen before from that repo. Try downloading the packages directly:
http://users.telenet.be/quenta/5/i38...1-2.noarch.rpm
Firewing1
I've got the same problem:
Quote:
Error Downloading Packages:Error Downloading Packages:
fedora-xgl-settings - 0.0.1-2.noarch: failure: fedora-xgl-settings-0.0.1-2.noarch.rpm from fedora-xgl: [Errno 256] No more mirrors to try.
__________________
Life is NOT fair, get used to be, and GET OVER it.
- Bill Gate -
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 22nd August 2006, 05:37 AM
jvroig Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 281
Just reboot and it'll start working ok when you try yum again
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 22nd August 2006, 07:37 AM
Alan_Hill Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
seem like I've got another problem.
after the screen saver appear for a while, then the screen turn off (as usual). but It can't be on again, even I tried to move the mouse of press any button.
I have the NVIDIA card.
any idea ?
__________________
Life is NOT fair, get used to be, and GET OVER it.
- Bill Gate -
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 22nd August 2006, 10:53 AM
Salamandra Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Spain
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by landoncz

Yep, I got that same error when trying to install aiglx on my laptop (intel graphics), and I searched the web for that package, but couldn't find a version newer than 2.14.2... I am not sure, but I don't know that you need to actually install compiz for aiglx? Once you have the aiglx repo, you should just need to do a yum update, and then turn it on... I am not sure though. Firewing, do you know why you need to install compiz for aiglx? The wiki I read did not say anything about installing compiz, but the wiki could be outdated...
I'm at work and i can't test it but I've found:
HTML Code:
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=120680&highlight=aiglx
There is a
Code:
yum update metacity compiz gnome-session
And that is where the problem is solved. So it seems that the wiki is wrong.
I think i will get the same dependency problem.

And i can't find the "libwnck >= 2.15.4" anywhere. I think that is possible that Firewing has libwnck 2.15.4 from FC6 test 2.

But if a Radeon 340m works, my 320m (AKA mobility U1) should.

I have just find:
HTML Code:
http://rudd-o.com/wp-content/projects/files/rpm-contrib/
I will try it later, and tell results
__________________
Linux User #365705

Last edited by Salamandra; 22nd August 2006 at 10:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 22nd August 2006, 02:52 PM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 22
Posts: 9,224
yes, it's probably from the development - Try:
download.fedora.redhat.com/pub/fedora/linux/core/development
download.fedora.redhat.com/pub/fedora/linux/core/extras/development
It'll be in there. As for the metacity, that could, too, be an issue as because I'm on FC6T2 I'm already running the net metacity...
Firewing1
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 22nd August 2006, 04:09 PM
Salamandra Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Spain
Posts: 324
Hi, back home i am trying. Installed the rpm from
http://rudd-o.com/wp-content/project...s/rpm-contrib/
and installed compiz from aiglx repo.
Then:
desktop-efects
command not found
Then:
gconftool-2 -s '/apps/metacity/general/compositing_manager' --type bool true

the reusult is: flickering screen, grey, blue when pressed a key goes blue, the task bar is visible and you can see the windows borders, but everything is blue and you can't see a letter.

Logged in in safe mode in order to :
gconftool-2 -s '/apps/metacity/general/compositing_manager' --type bool false

Now everithing is ok. But no efects, of course.
__________________
Linux User #365705

Last edited by Salamandra; 22nd August 2006 at 04:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 22nd August 2006, 04:35 PM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 22
Posts: 9,224
What videocard do you have?
BTW - two 'f's in effects, not desktop-efects
Firewing1
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 22nd August 2006, 04:49 PM
Salamandra Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Spain
Posts: 324
Ati radeon igp320m
compaq presario 2105
amd athlon 2500
ram 768 Mb
The same with "effects"

Thanks.
__________________
Linux User #365705

Last edited by Salamandra; 22nd August 2006 at 05:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 22nd August 2006, 05:15 PM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 22
Posts: 9,224
Are you using the fglrx or the 'radeon' driver? In my test I used 'radeon' with 'load dri' and 'load glx', the preformance is the same as accellerated drivers - Try with that...
Firewing1
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 22nd August 2006, 05:28 PM
Salamandra Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Spain
Posts: 324
This is my xorg.conf:

Code:
# Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
	Identifier     "single head configuration"
	Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
	InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
	InputDevice    "Synaptics" "CorePointer"
	InputDevice    "Mouse0" "AlwaysCore"
EndSection

Section "Files"

# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, a font server independent of the X server is
# used to render fonts.
	FontPath     "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
	Load  "dbe"
	Load  "extmod"
	Load  "fbdevhw"
	Load  "glx"
	Load  "record"
	Load  "freetype"
	Load  "type1"
	Load  "synaptics"
	Load  "dri"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
#	Option	"Xleds"		"1 2 3"
# To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.
#	Option	"XkbDisable"
# To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
# lines below (which are the defaults).  For example, for a non-U.S.
# keyboard, you will probably want to use:
#	Option	"XkbModel"	"pc102"
# If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
#	Option	"XkbModel"	"microsoft"
#
# Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
# For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
#	Option	"XkbLayout"	"de"
# or:
#	Option	"XkbLayout"	"de"
#	Option	"XkbVariant"	"nodeadkeys"
#
# If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
# control keys, use:
#	Option	"XkbOptions"	"ctrl:swapcaps"
# Or if you just want both to be control, use:
#	Option	"XkbOptions"	"ctrl:nocaps"
#
	Identifier  "Keyboard0"
	Driver      "kbd"
	Option	    "XkbModel" "pc105"
	Option	    "XkbLayout" "es"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
	Identifier  "Mouse0"
	Driver      "mouse"
	Option	    "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
	Option	    "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
	Option	    "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
	Option	    "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
	Identifier  "Synaptics"
	Driver      "synaptics"
	Option	    "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
	Option	    "Protocol" "auto-dev"
	Option	    "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"

 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
	Identifier   "Monitor0"
	VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
	ModelName    "LCD Panel 1024x768"
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
	HorizSync    31.5 - 48.5
	VertRefresh  40.0 - 70.0
	Option	    "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier  "Videocard0"
	Driver      "radeon"
	VendorName  "Videocard vendor"
	BoardName   "ATI Technologies Inc Radeon Mobility U1"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "Screen0"
	Device     "Videocard0"
	Monitor    "Monitor0"
	DefaultDepth     24
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     16
		Modes    "800x600" "640x480"
	EndSubSection
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     24
		Modes    "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
	EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
	Group        0
	Mode         0666
EndSection

Section "extensions"
     Option "Composite"
EndSection
So i think it is the radeon driver, with "load dri" and "load glx" as well.

Thanks for your help.
__________________
Linux User #365705

Last edited by Salamandra; 22nd August 2006 at 05:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 22nd August 2006, 05:39 PM
FynitE Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 45
Im getting this error while trying to touch:

Code:
[root@localhost ~]# touch /etc/sysconfig/xgl/status
touch: cannot touch `/etc/sysconfig/xgl/status': No such file or directory
anyone know what ive done wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 22nd August 2006, 05:45 PM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 22
Posts: 9,224
That's normal - The touch was to create the file, but for some reason it's not creating a blank file... Just ignore the error...
As for the xorg.conf - That's almost identical to what I had... Odd...
Firewing1
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 22nd August 2006, 05:48 PM
FynitE Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 45
Ok. But:

Code:
[root@localhost ~]# gnome-xgl-info
bash: gnome-xgl-info: command not found
[root@localhost ~]# gnome-xgl-switch --enable-xgl --auto
bash: gnome-xgl-switch: command not found
Sorry if im being stupid :P
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 22nd August 2006, 05:51 PM
Salamandra Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Spain
Posts: 324
Just as an example, i have managed to take a screenshot.
You can "see" the terminal in the middle and the gdesklet on the right.
I think i wil have to wait for FC6 stable to see it working.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screen.png
Views:	694
Size:	8.4 KB
ID:	8946  
__________________
Linux User #365705

Last edited by Salamandra; 22nd August 2006 at 06:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 23rd August 2006, 01:37 AM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 22
Posts: 9,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by FynitE
Ok. But:

Code:
[root@localhost ~]# gnome-xgl-info
bash: gnome-xgl-info: command not found
[root@localhost ~]# gnome-xgl-switch --enable-xgl --auto
bash: gnome-xgl-switch: command not found
Sorry if im being stupid :P
Did you install all the packages mentioned?
As for the blue - That's really wierd, have you tried googleing? I recall somebody on Ubuntu having similar results...
Firewing1
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aiglx, beryl, compiz, working, xgl

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 7 +Intel965+ [Beryl, Compiz, Compiz-Fusion] Freezes bala04 Hardware & Laptops 0 15th September 2007 08:43 PM
beryl? aiglx? compiz? ANYTHING? ruthik Using Fedora 4 18th October 2006 11:57 PM


Current GMT-time: 14:21 (Thursday, 24-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat