Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 14th August 2006, 01:46 PM
fooDK Offline

Question Upgrading Fedora

Hi Linux-folks.

I am fairly new in the Linux world, and Fedora C5 is my first ambitious atempt to addapt, but it has been a bumby ride so far...

I finnaly succeded in installing yesterday after some strugglin with the installer, and then i wanted to run a yum upgrade - no problem there.

No the problem was when i rebooted - the new core (2.6.17-1.2139_FC5smp) was in a panic

http://www.foo-online.dk/P8130012.JPG

I could switch back to the old core (2.6.15-1.2054_FC5smp) but after i tried installing drivers for my GFX yum install nvidia-graphics8762 the X application couldnt run either.

So my idea now is to make a clean install, but when i upgrade, how do i make the new kernel boot without getting in the same problem, and can i install the drivers for my GFX and have success there?

Thank you in advance, and thank you for your patience

foo`

PS: Please describe everything i have to do, because I am not that familliar with the linux term yet.
Old 14th August 2006, 02:31 PM
b_martinez Offline

Before you re-install, try this out.
You need to edit the file '/etc/X11/xorg.conf' and in the monitor section (I think) you need to change the driver from 'nv' to 'nvidia'.
You can also try to edit the start-up script [temporarily] to boot without ACPI.
To do this, at the boot screen press the 'e' key. You should see two entries. One for the old kernel, one for the new. Use the up/down arrows to highlight the new kernel entry, hit the 'e' key again, arrow down to highlight the second line,[begins "kernel /vmlinuz...." or similar] and hit the 'e' key again. add 'ACPI=0' {zero not the letter "O"} or 'ACPI=off'.
NOTE: do not type in the '' '' , just what's between them.
hth
Bill
Old 14th August 2006, 02:49 PM
fooDK Offline

b_martinez >> That would just give me a picture on the screen again or what?