Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 6th August 2006, 10:00 PM
buntz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 26
Fat32 automount problem

Greetings,

I just got a new drive and formated it as fat32 so i can write cross platform if I get the urge. I type
Code:
mount -t vfat /dev/hdb5 /mnt/media
in the terminal window and eveything works out good.

But when I edit my fstab file to automount with the line
Code:
/dev/hdb5 /mnt/media vfat umask=0002,nls=utf8
I get an error when my system boots telling me that there is a problem with the mounting process (not verbatim, how do i find the boot log, btw?).

What am I screwing up here?
__________________
FC6 64 bit
AMD64 3000
ASUS K8N-E
Corsair RAM 512 MB
nVidia 6200 128MB
SoundBlaster Audigy
Seagate Barracuda 80GB PATA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 7th August 2006, 04:46 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by buntz
Greetings,

I just got a new drive and formated it as fat32 so i can write cross platform if I get the urge. I type
Code:
mount -t vfat /dev/hdb5 /mnt/media
in the terminal window and eveything works out good.

But when I edit my fstab file to automount with the line
Code:
/dev/hdb5 /mnt/media vfat umask=0002,nls=utf8
I get an error when my system boots telling me that there is a problem with the mounting process (not verbatim, how do i find the boot log, btw?).

What am I screwing up here?
Hello:
I think you should be able to see the error in your dmesg file.
dmesg | grep mount
dmesg | grep fstab
etc.
or cat /var/log/dmesg

Please try adding this line to your fstab, you can comment out your other entry, in case the one below does not work for you.

/dev/hdb5 /mnt/media vfat users,defaults,umask=000 0 0

it should work
Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th August 2006, 05:53 PM
buntz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 26
Thanks,

That fixed the problem. I'm still not familar enough with Fedora to know what those arguments mean so I just copied that line from some other post. Is there some resource that I would be able to reference when putting in system commands like that?

Tony
__________________
FC6 64 bit
AMD64 3000
ASUS K8N-E
Corsair RAM 512 MB
nVidia 6200 128MB
SoundBlaster Audigy
Seagate Barracuda 80GB PATA
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th August 2006, 06:57 PM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by buntz
Thanks,
Is there some resource that I would be able to reference when putting in system commands like that?

Tony
Hello:
Yes, however, you may need to spend some time sorting through the terminology and format etc.
With the above entry for your fstab to automount your fat32 drive you would need to reference at least two documents as it involves the mount command and fstab.
With your installation of FC5 there is documentation that can be called up by just opening a terminal and type man fstab or man mount for example.
It is easier for most people, I think, to look at them on-line [google Linux man pages], for example you can read about the mount command here :http://linux.ctyme.com/man/man1762.htm
and fstab here : http://linux.ctyme.com/man/man0831.htm
You will see that each field has a description etc. and might reference other items that you may have to investigate further.
There are also some very good books out there as well. If you search the forum here, there was a thread not too long ago with some good recommendations.
hth
Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
automount, fat32, problem

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automount Problem shreedara Servers & Networking 0 11th October 2007 09:04 AM
automount problem geertsky Using Fedora 2 22nd October 2006 06:43 PM
How to automount shared Fat32 partition MNlinux Hardware & Laptops 6 8th September 2006 03:55 PM
Fat32 Problem.. :( bigboss2200 Hardware & Laptops 4 16th October 2005 12:20 PM
Automount problem ATIR350 Using Fedora 4 31st December 2004 04:22 PM


Current GMT-time: 06:31 (Wednesday, 26-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Wolomin - New Malden - Godfrey Travel Photos