Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 1st July 2006, 12:42 AM
jsabarese Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: 16802
Posts: 150
SoundCard - e-Machines - worst ever?

hi. i'd tell you what model the card is (integrated on e-Machines W2040 model) but i can't find a system utility to scan that for me. what do you suggest? -- the only thing i can get to make sound come out of this thing is the XINE player. but, before we talk software all the way-- i just want to remark that Windows hard a hard time w/ this 'card' as well. also, the modem has some sort of audio drivers on windows too-- as if it installed the modem-- and then the audio on the modem-- and until it got that sorted out, i had no audio at all. so, took a few updates till windows figured it out-- know what i mean? again-- being a newb-- i can't give you the account of what Fedora did-- i don't recall any process of driver installs-- assuming it's much different that Win in that regard the way the Linux filesystem workds?

if someone would please teach me a little about all this, i'd be delighted. i'm sure you can tell that i have no idea what's going on when it comes to the Linux O/S and hardware.

EDIT: i missed my whole point-- it appears that amaroK is "The" audio player for Linux? well-- AmaroK is using the Helix Engine-- and neither Helix nor Amarok can play anything. -- so, this is why i'm thinking it's a hardware driver issue, as nothing but Xine will play (and i think i've installed every aud/vid-ware that Yum has to offer). this is not to say the Xine is bad-- because it's decent-- i was impressed at what it was reading from some of my hand-made playlists!... but-- there's obviously something weird here.

thanks for reading. i look forward to your reply.

Last edited by jsabarese; 1st July 2006 at 12:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 1st July 2006, 10:36 AM
huw-l Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 315
if you post the output of

/sbin/lspci

and

/sbin/lsmod

that should give people an idea of what's on your system
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd July 2006, 01:25 AM
jsabarese Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: 16802
Posts: 150
okay. cool. i'll post it as soon as i figure out how get an 'output' from this executable?.

ah... okay-- so, such files i should assume i would launch from CLI and use a text output? not knowing what the result would be i was a little wary to execute it.

here ya go... thanks!
uh... what are we looking for here then?

fyi in the meantime-- i've had some success-- but now failure again-- to the point of NO audio (except the rather annoying KDE sounds when i open / close windows, etc). i've tried XINE, VLC, XMMS, Amarok. some claim a busy device., or such as xmms:
Code:
[root@localhost ~]# xmms

** WARNING **: alsa_setup(): Failed to open pcm device (default): Device or resource busy
Message: alsa mixer timed out

### and this after some toying w/ the device setting-- 'use software volue' ###
** WARNING **: alsa_setup(): Unable to install hw params
Quote:
Originally Posted by lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8375 [KM266/KL266] Host Bridge
00:01.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8633 [Apollo Pro266 AGP]
00:0a.0 Modem: ALi Corporation SmartLink SmartPCI561 56K Modem
00:0b.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
00:10.0 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 80)
00:10.1 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 80)
00:10.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 80)
00:10.3 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB 2.0 (rev 82)
00:11.0 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8235 ISA Bridge
00:11.1 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT823x/A/C PIPC Bus Master IDE (rev 06)
00:11.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 50)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV11 [GeForce2 MX/MX 400] (rev b2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsmod
Module Size Used by
ipv6 242785 24
autofs4 21701 1
hidp 16833 2
l2cap 23873 5 hidp
bluetooth 47909 2 hidp,l2cap
xt_limit 3009 8
xt_tcpudp 3393 7
iptable_mangle 3137 0
ipt_LOG 6721 8
ipt_MASQUERADE 3905 0
ip_nat 18285 1 ipt_MASQUERADE
ipt_TOS 2497 0
ipt_REJECT 5569 5
ip_conntrack_irc 7089 0
ip_conntrack_ftp 7985 0
xt_state 2497 6
ip_conntrack 52597 5 ipt_MASQUERADE,ip_nat,ip_conntrack_irc,ip_conntrac k_ftp,xt_state
nfnetlink 7257 2 ip_nat,ip_conntrack
iptable_filter 3265 1
ip_tables 12809 2 iptable_mangle,iptable_filter
x_tables 14917 8 xt_limit,xt_tcpudp,ipt_LOG,ipt_MASQUERADE,ipt_TOS, ipt_REJECT,xt_state,ip_tables
video 16708 0
button 6993 0
battery 10053 0
ac 5189 0
usblp 14401 0
lp 12937 0
parport_pc 27237 1
parport 37129 2 lp,parport_pc
ehci_hcd 32461 0
uhci_hcd 23885 0
floppy 58437 0
i2c_viapro 8789 0
8139too 27073 0
i2c_core 22209 1 i2c_viapro
8139cp 22977 0
via_ircc 21461 0
mii 5697 2 8139too,8139cp
irda 115449 1 via_ircc
crc_ccitt 2369 1 irda
snd_via82xx 28377 0
gameport 16201 1 snd_via82xx
snd_ac97_codec 92257 1 snd_via82xx
snd_ac97_bus 2625 1 snd_ac97_codec
snd_seq_dummy 4165 0
snd_seq_oss 32705 0
snd_seq_midi_event 7745 1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq 53553 5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_pcm_oss 40017 0
snd_mixer_oss 17729 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm 83781 3 snd_via82xx,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm_oss
snd_timer 24517 2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd_page_alloc 10569 2 snd_via82xx,snd_pcm
snd_mpu401_uart 8769 1 snd_via82xx
snd_rawmidi 25665 1 snd_mpu401_uart
snd_seq_device 9037 4 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_rawmidi
snd 55237 11 snd_via82xx,snd_ac97_codec,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd _pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_timer,snd_mpu40 1_uart,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device
soundcore 10017 1 snd
dm_snapshot 18285 0
dm_zero 2241 0
dm_mirror 22673 0
dm_mod 59225 6 dm_snapshot,dm_zero,dm_mirror
ext3 129097 2
jbd 57813 1 ext3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd July 2006, 02:58 AM
jsabarese Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: 16802
Posts: 150
strangest thing... unexpected at least: i opened XINE a while ago to check if perhaps since my complete shutdown and restart from a coldboot would help, but still nothing-- then suddenly XINE started playing! i don't understand how anything would be "sticking" in the PCM / audio hardware such that nothing else could get in there after a power down. hmph

any suggestions now that i'm back to semi functional? i'm afraid i'm stuck w/ XINE! perfectly fine player-- but the implications of malfunction make me nervous.

any more data i could get now?
i'm gonna venture to guess that it's largely a matter of trial and error from here out?
i should remark that prior to by re-start, the audio loss occurred as i was testing for the first time XMMS, as i had only just installed it. so all of those new plugins, mpeg encoders, decoders, transcoders, and codecs, etc hadn't played w/ each other yet.

Last edited by jsabarese; 2nd July 2006 at 06:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd July 2006, 12:48 PM
huw-l Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 315
looks like your hardware is fine

in xmms make sure it's pointing at ALSA as it's output device
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd July 2006, 06:52 PM
RedFedora Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 503
I seem to have the same problem. I'm using Fedora Core 4 on an e-Machines
with built-in sound. Xine appears to play sound OK, but Mplayer and XMMS can't
seem to find the soundcard. I setup XMMS to use ALSA, but controls like alsactl and alsamixer
don't seem to work either. Any suggestions?
__________________
Registered Linux User # 373325
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd July 2006, 05:46 AM
jsabarese Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: 16802
Posts: 150
@RF, sorry i don't have any 'educated' solutions for you. only thing i would think of-- and this is very 'backyard mechanic' kinda thinking but sometimes it works
this might be going a little far but what about trying the non-functional stuff while the working apps are temporarily disabled from that hardware, or uninstalled? that way, at least in theory there'd be no conflict over the hardware.

as for my situation-- XINE has repeated the aforementioned behaviour, and just as i was about to restart the system for no audio again... XINE started playing. it just occurred to me this second. if you're familiar w/ Konquerer, you'll know the orange 'monitor for updates' icon? well-- i'm new, so i didn't knw what it was at first... so, i thought ... "hmm-- maybe when Konquerer opened -- it kicked it in" (i thought the update icon was a 'music' indicator!) it did after all happen just as i was opening the browser to post here regarding the continued issues. -- i'm going on that it was purely coincidence.

@huh-I
how are you able to tell that the hardware is 'okay' from looking at those two reports?

thanks for the help!!

Last edited by jsabarese; 3rd July 2006 at 05:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 3rd July 2006, 06:24 AM
Craig Pemberton Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Austin
Posts: 195
Back durring FC3 and FC4 my sound card wasn't very well supported but xine was one of the first things that would play for me oddly enough. Eventually I got sound. I'm still waiting for the ability for two programs to play sound simultaneously.

One thing to note is that when an audio program closes improperly it leaves a file in the /tmp directory that reserves the sound channel for the (now dead) program. Normally I have to manually delete this file if for some reason I have to kill, for example, xmms. Normally this file has "alsa" in the name.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 3rd July 2006, 07:53 AM
jsabarese Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: 16802
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Pemberton
I have to manually delete this file if for some reason I have to kill, for example, xmms. Normally this file has "alsa" in the name.
hmm... i figured there was probably something like that going on. interesting, and good stuff to know. thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 3rd July 2006, 09:05 PM
RedFedora Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 503
I don't seem to have any conflicts. I also tried booting Knoppix and it couldn't find any
sound output either. At least I know it's not a Fedora issue... I may have
to go out and invest in a better card.

In other news, I noticed that most of my sound apps (like XMMS and Mplayer) are
trying to send sound output to /dev/dsp. That device doesn't exist on my
system. Does that help at all?
__________________
Registered Linux User # 373325
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
emachines, soundcard, worst

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
kernel-2.6.31 52 worst than 46 SlowJet Fedora 12 Alpha, Beta & Release Candidates 2 3rd October 2009 03:10 AM
The WORST Game EVER pete_1967 Wibble 15 8th July 2008 08:19 AM
Fedora 9 the worst yet? gmchenry Using Fedora 1 27th May 2008 08:19 AM
sound problem and become worst irbadguyzs Hardware & Laptops 1 1st March 2008 09:39 AM
FTP - what's the worst that can happen? Chris NS Security and Privacy 3 2nd September 2006 02:26 PM


Current GMT-time: 23:37 (Monday, 01-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat