Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 18th June 2006, 05:57 PM
rracasanu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
Problem installing Netbeans

Hello,

I have tried to install the latest Netbeans 5.5 on a Fedore Core 5 x86_64. I have tried to install it both as root and as a regular user. However, both attempts failed. The output of the install script is:

Code:
Initializing InstallShield Wizard........
Extracting Installation Archive.
After the last line the install script ends without doing anything (even upacking some files).

Does anyone know if there is a workaround to install Netbeans or if there are any dependencies that it failed to check for, and that prevents the installer from working?

Thank you for any answers
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th June 2006, 07:14 PM
gamradtk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brookings, SD
Posts: 128
NetBeans 5.5 is Beta and requires JDK 1.5.0 or higher... (you probably already knew that though)

I have never personally tried any NetBeans version on x86_64
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th June 2006, 05:12 AM
treak007 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 104
i had a very similar problem a while ago. The wizard freezes because it cant find the jdk. Make sure you set the path when you run the install file. The last line of the netbeans official installation instructions tells u how. Thats what i did and it worked for me afterwards. It should look something like this:

$ ./your_executable_file -is:javahome path_to_jdk_file

Hope that helps
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th June 2006, 09:04 AM
rracasanu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
I have indeed the lates version of the JDK 1.5.0_7 and I have also tried to specify the path to the JDK both as a parameter to the installer and exporting it into the path. However, none of them seem to work.

Thank you for your answeres though.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th June 2006, 09:09 AM
treak007 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 104
Are you installing as r00t or as a superuser?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th June 2006, 06:02 PM
rracasanu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
I have tried both as a regular user and as root. Not a superuser account but root exactly.

While googleing, I have found this issue http://www.netbeans.org/issues/show_bug.cgi?id=77609 that seems to be almost identical to what I experience.

Running
Code:
./netbeans-5_5-beta-linux.bin -is:log a.log
and examining the log gave the following results:
Code:
Log file created by MultiPlatform installer @Mon Jun 19 19:52:20 EEST 2006
INSTALLER_PATH=/root/kit/./netbeans-5_5-beta-linux.bin
Checking the environment variables specifed in the JVM files to find the JVM...
Verifying... /usr/bin/java  -cp  /tmp/istemp17186170195220/Verify.jar Verify  java.vendor java.specification.version
Verification passed for /usr/ using the JVM file /tmp/istemp17186170195220/jdk15unix_sun.jvm.
-cp:p operand is empty
-cp:a operand is empty
checking disk space on the parition /tmp/istemp17186170195220 for /tmp/istemp17186170195220/setup.jar
84389 512 bytes disk blocks required.
132341800 512 bytes disk blocks  available on the partition /tmp/istemp17186170195220
Disk space check on the parition /tmp/istemp17186170195220 succeeded.
Extracted Installer JAR archive file size incorrect. archive may be corrupt. Failed to launch the application.
Launch Script can't not be resolved. Run the installer with -is:log <logfile> to view the errors.
so it seems that either there is an error with the embeded archive or it has been corrupted in the download.

As a workaround I have managed to install the Java EE SDK bundled with NetBeans 5.5 and that worked OK. At least for me this is a solution since I was going to use Java EE SDK anyway .
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19th June 2006, 06:48 PM
rracasanu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
Indeed, this is my fault. I have never experienced this before so I haven't checked the file if it has been corrupted during download. The checksum of my file was wrong, and on a second download it worked.

Sorry for wasting your time on such a stupid matter.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19th June 2006, 11:01 PM
treak007 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 104
no problem, glad its working for you
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
installing, netbeans, problem

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
installing netbeans jon80 Using Fedora 5 11th August 2008 09:01 PM
NetBeans 5.5 not installing rivalslayer Using Fedora 1 18th December 2007 11:36 AM
Installing NetBeans On F8 clifweb Using Fedora 1 7th December 2007 12:27 PM
Problem while installing Java SDK and NetBeans bundle (latest version) in FC8 sumanc Using Fedora 1 5th December 2007 02:30 PM
Problem installing NetBeans rivalslayer Programming & Packaging 1 25th November 2007 01:00 PM


Current GMT-time: 02:47 (Saturday, 25-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Reo - Lidingoe - Victoria Travel Photos on Instagram