Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 2nd April 2004, 04:23 AM
mars_hall Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: S.E. USA
Age: 52
Posts: 135
Printing to windows computer

I am having problems printing to a HP LaseJet 1000 connected to a Windows XP Pro computer. I have the printer set up in the Gnome Printer configuration tool, and I have followed the instructions given. I keep getting this error:
I [01/Apr/2004:22:17:07 -0500] Adding start banner page "none" to job 5.
I [01/Apr/2004:22:17:07 -0500] Adding end banner page "none" to job 5.
I [01/Apr/2004:22:17:07 -0500] Job 5 queued on 'printer' by 'root'.
I [01/Apr/2004:22:17:07 -0500] Started filter /usr/lib/cups/filter/texttops (PID 5798) for job 5.
I [01/Apr/2004:22:17:07 -0500] Started filter /usr/lib/cups/filter/pstops (PID 5799) for job 5.
I [01/Apr/2004:22:17:07 -0500] Started filter /usr/lib/cups/filter/foomatic-rip (PID 5800) for job 5.
I [01/Apr/2004:22:17:07 -0500] Started backend /usr/lib/cups/backend/smb (PID 5801) for job 5.
E [01/Apr/2004:22:17:07 -0500] PID 5800 stopped with status 1!

What do I need to do?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2nd April 2004, 05:25 AM
Jman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 7,909
You can see the printer from Fedora, right? Try running
Code:
smbclient -L <WinXPMachine>
in a terminal and see if your printer appears.

I wish that error message would be more verbose.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd April 2004, 03:35 PM
mars_hall Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: S.E. USA
Age: 52
Posts: 135
Here is what I get when I run the command you provided:
# smbclient -L mars-hall
Password:
Domain=[MARS-HALL] OS=[Windows 5.1] Server=[Windows 2000 LAN Manager]

Sharename Type Comment
--------- ---- -------
Aud-Vid (E) Disk
E$ Disk Default share
IPC$ IPC Remote IPC
D$ Disk Default share
print$ Disk Printer Drivers
SharedDocs Disk
Printer3 Printer Acrobat PDFWriter
Printer4 Printer Acrobat Distiller
Printer2 Printer hp LaserJet 1000
ADMIN$ Disk Remote Admin
C$ Disk Default share
Printer Printer hp LaserJet 1000 DOS
Domain=[MARS-HALL] OS=[Windows 5.1] Server=[Windows 2000 LAN Manager]

Server Comment
--------- -------

Workgroup Master
--------- -------


Marshall
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd April 2004, 05:43 AM
Jman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 7,909
It appears that something is wrong with the samba setup, as it only quit when the smb backend started.

What share did you specify when setting it up? The printer named Printer on mars-hall has DOS on the end of it. DOS driver maybe? Try running the config tool again, editing the printer, queue type tab. Check that the share box reads something like
Code:
//mars-hall/Printer2
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd April 2004, 05:48 AM
mars_hall Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: S.E. USA
Age: 52
Posts: 135
That was the one that I selected going through the printer configuration utility on linux. I showed up just like when you set up a networked printer from windows. What is confusing me is that I am set up as a workgroup, and it seems that Linux thinks my XP box is in a domain "mars-hall" which is the name of my other computer. I have double checked the indentification of my windows box and it shows it is in the workgroup "WORKGROUP"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd April 2004, 06:17 AM
Jman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 7,909
I think the domain is equivalent to the Windows computer name. Confusing I know.

We need debugging info. Edit /etc/foomatic/filter.conf. Uncomment debug and change to 1, so that line looks like
Code:
debug: 1
Now /tmp/foomatic-rip.log will have some detailed output. Try your test again and have a look at the log.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd April 2004, 06:27 AM
mars_hall Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: S.E. USA
Age: 52
Posts: 135
Okay did that removed and re-installed printer and checked the log. Here it is:
foomatic-rip version $Revision: 3.43.2.2 $ running...
called with arguments: '7', 'root', 'testprint.ps', '1', 'cpi=12 lpi=7 page-bottom=86 page-left=57 page-right=57 page-top=72 scaling=100 wrap'
Parsing PPD file ...
*cupsFilter: "application/vnd.cups-postscript 0 foomatic-rip"
Added option ColorSpace
Added option PageSize
Added option PageRegion
Added option ImageableArea
Added option PaperDimension
Added option InputSlot
Added option MediaType
Added option Duplex
Added option Resolution
Added option ColorMode
Added option Copies
Added option PrinterType
Added option ICM
Added option Intent
Added option Nup
Added option Font

Parameter Summary
-----------------

Spooler: cups
Printer: printer2
PPD file: /etc/cups/ppd/printer2.ppd
Printer model: HP LaserJet 1000 Foomatic/foo2zjs (recommended)
Options: cpi=12 lpi=7 page-bottom=86 page-left=57 page-right=57 page-top=72 scaling=100 wrap
Job title: testprint.ps
File(s) to be printed:
<STDIN>

Pondering option 'cpi=12'
Unknown option cpi=12.
Pondering option 'lpi=7'
Unknown option lpi=7.
Pondering option 'page-bottom=86'
Unknown option page-bottom=86.
Pondering option 'page-left=57'
Unknown option page-left=57.
Pondering option 'page-right=57'
Unknown option page-right=57.
Pondering option 'page-top=72'
Unknown option page-top=72.
Pondering option 'scaling=100'
Unknown option scaling=100.
Pondering option 'wrap'
Unknown boolean option "wrap".

================================================

File: <STDIN>

================================================

Reading PostScript input ...
--> This document is DSC-conforming!

-----------
Found: %%BeginProlog
Found: %%EndProlog

-----------
Found: %%BeginSetup
Inserting PostScript code for CUPS' page accounting
Found: %%BeginFeature: *PageRegion Letter
Option: PageRegion=Letter --> Option will be set by PostScript interpreter
Found: %% FoomaticRIPOptionSetting: PageSize=Letter
Option: PageSize=Letter --> Setting option
Found: %%BeginFeature: *InputSlot Auto
Option: InputSlot=Auto --> Setting option
Found: %% FoomaticRIPOptionSetting: InputSlot=Auto
Option: InputSlot=Auto --> Setting option
Found: %%BeginFeature: *MediaType Standard
Option: MediaType=Standard --> Setting option
Found: %% FoomaticRIPOptionSetting: MediaType=Standard
Option: MediaType=Standard --> Setting option
Found: %%BeginFeature: *Nup 1-up
Option: Nup=1-up --> Setting option
Found: %% FoomaticRIPOptionSetting: Nup=1-up
Option: Nup=1-up --> Setting option
Found: %%BeginFeature: *Duplex Off
Option: Duplex=Off --> Setting option
Found: %% FoomaticRIPOptionSetting: Duplex=Off
Option: Duplex=Off --> Setting option
Found: %%BeginFeature: *Copies 1
Option: Copies=1 --> Setting option
Found: %% FoomaticRIPOptionSetting: Copies=1
Option: Copies=1 --> Setting option
Found: %%BeginFeature: *Intent Perceptual
Option: Intent=Perceptual --> Setting option
Found: %% FoomaticRIPOptionSetting: Intent=Perceptual
Option: Intent=Perceptual --> Setting option
Found: %%EndSetup

-----------
New page: 1 1
Inserting option code into "PageSetup" section.
No page header or page header not DSC-conforming
Stopping search for page header options
Found:
pageHeight sub % Move down...
--> Output goes directly to the renderer now.


Starting renderer
JCL: <job data>

renderer PID kid4=4050
renderer command: foo2zjs-wrapper -P -r600x600 -p1 -s7 -m1 -d1 -n1 -I0
sh: line 1: foo2zjs-wrapper: command not found
tee: standard output: Broken pipe

Closing renderer
tee: write error
renderer return value: 127
renderer received signal: 127
tail process done writing data to STDOUT
KID4 exited with status 0
KID4 finished
KID3 exited with status 1
Renderer exit stat: 1
Process dying with "The renderer command line returned an unrecognized error code 127.", exit stat: 1
The renderer command line returned an unrecognized error code 127.
Renderer process finished
Killing process 4049 (KID3)
Process dying with "Error closing renderer", exit stat: 1
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 3rd April 2004, 07:04 AM
Jman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 7,909
This is your problem:
Quote:
Originally posted by mars_hall
sh: line 1: foo2zjs-wrapper: command not found
The filter to get the data to your printer is not installed. Download it from this site (thanks Google), extract the archive, and follow the install instructions.

I can't find an rpm package for this, so it looks like you will have to make install.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 3rd April 2004, 11:40 PM
mars_hall Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: S.E. USA
Age: 52
Posts: 135
RESOLVED!!!!
Thank you VERY much. Sorry you had to do my leg work for me.
I was starting to think it was something to do with the beta of service pack 2 I had installed, and then removed from my XP box. Then I checked from one of my other windows computers and I was able to print from there. I had read in the driver "Notes" that the firmware needed to be update to connect directly to my Linux (C2T2) box, but felt sure it should be able to print through the network.
Thanks again, Jman
Marshall
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 8th April 2004, 02:16 AM
Jman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 7,909
No problem.

Marked as resolved.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
printing, windows

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to configure NetWork between a Linux computer and Windows Computer ? ZaraCattle Using Fedora 4 1st March 2007 02:16 PM
Printing to windows using CUPS frotor Using Fedora 0 1st April 2006 04:34 PM
Printing From Windows rpaulpen Servers & Networking 3 25th August 2005 02:00 AM
Printing from Windows XP to a FC3 box cbeane357 EOL (End Of Life) Versions 7 19th August 2005 09:47 PM
Printing to a Windows computer over a network Joshua Servers & Networking 3 10th May 2004 04:58 AM


Current GMT-time: 03:59 (Monday, 24-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Merta Travel Photos on Instagram - Petrovsk-Zabaykalskiy Travel Photos on Instagram - Petauke Instagram Photos