Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 1st April 2004, 01:08 PM
docgreen9 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 6
new install, login question????

Hi, newbie here. Just installed Fedora on a spare pc I have last night. When it can to the step where you can add users I selected not to add any because I'm the only one going to be using it. The install said it didn't matter because you can still login as the "administrator" along with the admin password which I set during install. Well finished the install and came to login and can't get in. I've tried "admin", "administrator" and my password. Can't get in. Is there a way around this or am I using the wrong login?? I'm confused. Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 1st April 2004, 02:42 PM
proffit Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 39
login

don't use admin try to log in as root.
Btw: you definately want to create a user acount because running as root all the time is a bad idea.

Michael
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st April 2004, 02:49 PM
docgreen9 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 6
proffit, thanks for the info. So just use root as my user and the password I set up during install right? I'll try that. Can I set up additional users once I get it up and running?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st April 2004, 02:54 PM
proffit Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 39
login

yeah users should be easy to set up wether you use kde or gnome. The setting should be in the little panel manu somewhere probably under system or something. The problem with root is that it is really easy to mess up your computer because it will literally allow you to change almost anything without warning. As a normal user it will ask you for your root password first. How new are you to linux? feel free to post up any questions and I will try to walk you through anything you need. I was new to linux myself a few months ago.

Michael
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st April 2004, 03:26 PM
docgreen9 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 6
Michael, I'm real new. I just started reading about Linux a month ago. Decided to mess around with it and figured I'd give Fedora a shot. I know absolutely nothing about it and it's a little scarey but that's why I installed it on my old pc I had just laying around. I'd like to learn how to use linux fluently and possibly build a pvr box but that's down the road. I got to get logged in first.... LOL. Thanks for the offer on the help I'm sure I'll be taking you up on it a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st April 2004, 03:37 PM
proffit Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 39
Np, there is alot of info out there about linux and alot of helpful people willing to walk you through whatever you need. And don't worry about it being scary, just be willing to make some mistakes and learn from them. Since this is your first install it would be a good idea to take it all in steps. First ofcourse you want to get it installed properly. After that you want to make sure all essential hardware is working properly including modem/network (whatever you use for internet)video (including monitor/video card) keyboard and mouse. From there move on to anything else that might now work right like your printer and sound. After all that is done you should install apt and learn to manage .tar files and rpm files. After that you can decide if you enjoy kde or gnome and start personalizing everything and focus on other parts of your system. You should also start getting comfortable with the command line because it is a very powerful tool and usually the most efficient way to fix problems with your system. It will all come to you pretty quick, I promise

Michael
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 7th April 2004, 02:54 AM
YourDoom123 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8
I installed fedora but i never got a prompt askin me to create new users.... do i need to get into fedora first cause i have the same problem as him.
__________________
Athlon64 3000 system@ 2.307 ghz
64-BIT ROCKS!!!!!!!!
OS: Windows XP, Fedora
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 7th April 2004, 05:18 AM
Thoreau Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Age: 31
Posts: 410
yeah just follow what proffit said. Linux is different from windows, it has been said before being root it will not ask if you are sure, it'll just do it.

don't be afraid to post either, everyone had to ask some time.
__________________
Things do not change; we change.
HDT

"Do I understand your question, man, is it hopeless and forlorn?" Bob Dylan

I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it.
-- The Friends of Voltaire, 1906

My NcpMount script for Netware servers
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forum/showpost.php?p=544473&postcount=8
Thanks to: Brunson & Ibbo
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22nd April 2004, 02:11 AM
Blaze2gs Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Granbury, TX
Posts: 1
I have the dumbest question of all?

I am very new to linux so I decided to download the fedora core 1 CD's Yarrow. I started to install when it told me it did not detect my video card (BFG Asylum 5700 Ultra) so I decided to do a text install. Everything went great and it installed perfectly but when it rebooted it loaded just fine the it asked me for (LocalHost Login: )
I created a root password in the install but it never gave an option to create user. What must I do here. I was told to enter HOME but i do that and it gives me (Login). I am very lost here. If anyone knows what to do please help. Thanks in advance

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22nd April 2004, 02:35 AM
Jman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 7,909
If you don't have a user account log in as root with the root password. But as soon as possible run Main Menu > System Settings > Users and Groups and create a user for everyday use with the Add User button.

Login as root as little as possible, just to do administrative stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 22nd April 2004, 02:45 AM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 46
Posts: 8,256
Quote:
Originally posted by YourDoom123
I installed fedora but i never got a prompt askin me to create new users.... do i need to get into fedora first cause i have the same problem as him.

MOST distribution will ask you to create user! if you were clicking or going to fast you missed it!

I also recommend to read the step by step cofiguration of your installation....it is important for all hardware to work proberly even for the monitor!
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D

Last edited by imdeemvp; 22nd April 2004 at 02:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 22nd April 2004, 06:22 AM
crackers Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 58
Posts: 3,423
He did a text install - I don't think that prompts for a user account.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 4th May 2004, 04:45 PM
fdbolker Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1
problem with add user

hi

i have installed fedora 1.91. When i tried to add an user with adduser <user> this <user> only can login in romote with ssh , but not in local mode. The system says that the directory /home/<user> not exists but it exits
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 5th May 2004, 06:52 AM
crackers Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 58
Posts: 3,423
Check the permissions of the /home/<user> directory and see if they're set/owned by the <user> account.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 6th May 2004, 04:18 AM
Thoreau Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Age: 31
Posts: 410
doesn't the add new user progam set the directory permissions?
__________________
Things do not change; we change.
HDT

"Do I understand your question, man, is it hopeless and forlorn?" Bob Dylan

I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it.
-- The Friends of Voltaire, 1906

My NcpMount script for Netware servers
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forum/showpost.php?p=544473&postcount=8
Thanks to: Brunson & Ibbo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
install, login, question

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
vncserver re-login question lollysticky Servers & Networking 0 4th June 2009 04:37 PM
Where can i? (GDM login question) t0nedef Using Fedora 13 16th November 2007 11:24 AM
Graphical login question sri_ram1982 Using Fedora 5 28th October 2007 04:18 AM
Grub question and Login (init 3 or 5) question Anla-shok Using Fedora 2 11th June 2006 11:35 PM
Login Question rpgsearcherz Using Fedora 10 18th August 2004 05:55 AM


Current GMT-time: 16:17 (Wednesday, 26-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Iwakura Travel Photos on Instagram - Middelburg Photos on Instagram - Hiddenhausen Travel Photos on Instagram