Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 1st April 2004, 01:08 PM
docgreen9 Offline

new install, login question????

Hi, newbie here. Just installed Fedora on a spare pc I have last night. When it can to the step where you can add users I selected not to add any because I'm the only one going to be using it. The install said it didn't matter because you can still login as the "administrator" along with the admin password which I set during install. Well finished the install and came to login and can't get in. I've tried "admin", "administrator" and my password. Can't get in. Is there a way around this or am I using the wrong login?? I'm confused. Thanks for any help.
Old 1st April 2004, 02:42 PM
proffit Offline

login

don't use admin try to log in as root.
Btw: you definately want to create a user acount because running as root all the time is a bad idea.

Michael
Old 1st April 2004, 02:49 PM
docgreen9 Offline

proffit, thanks for the info. So just use root as my user and the password I set up during install right? I'll try that. Can I set up additional users once I get it up and running?
Old 1st April 2004, 02:54 PM
proffit Offline

login

yeah users should be easy to set up wether you use kde or gnome. The setting should be in the little panel manu somewhere probably under system or something. The problem with root is that it is really easy to mess up your computer because it will literally allow you to change almost anything without warning. As a normal user it will ask you for your root password first. How new are you to linux? feel free to post up any questions and I will try to walk you through anything you need. I was new to linux myself a few months ago.

Michael
Old 1st April 2004, 03:26 PM
docgreen9 Offline