Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 10th May 2006, 06:32 AM
Joe48 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Diego CA USA
Posts: 114
Xserver will not start in FC5

Xserver will not start in FC5 instillation. I do know that my ATI Radeon 128mb 9250 card is identified as a 9200pro instead of a 9250. But it was also identtified that way by FC4 and it works. One thing I have noticed when I install FC4 it see my ps2 optical mouse as where FC5 does not. Any chance that could be what is stopping FC5 from loading ? Here is a copy of my xorg.conf file from FC4 in that it might help me install FC5.
[joe@localhost ~]$ cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf

# XFree86 4 configuration created by pyxf86config

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"

# RgbPath is the location of the RGB database. Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db"). There is normally
# no need to change the default.
# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, Red Hat 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
# the X server to render fonts.
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
FontPath "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "fbdevhw"
Load "glx"
Load "record"
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
Load "dri"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
# Option "Xleds" "1 2 3"
# To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.
# Option "XkbDisable"
# To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
# lines below (which are the defaults). For example, for a non-U.S.
# keyboard, you will probably want to use:
# Option "XkbModel" "pc102"
# If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
# Option "XkbModel" "microsoft"
#
# Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
# For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# or:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# Option "XkbVariant" "nodeadkeys"
#
# If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
# control keys, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:swapcaps"
# Or if you just want both to be control, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:nocaps"
#
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Unknown monitor"
HorizSync 31.5 - 37.9
VertRefresh 50.0 - 70.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "radeon"
VendorName "Videocard vendor"
BoardName "ATI Radeon 9200PRO"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 16
Modes "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
Group 0
Mode 0666
EndSection
Is it worth changing to hardware that is supported ?
Xorg hardware link

Last edited by Joe48; 10th May 2006 at 07:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th May 2006, 07:06 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello:
What does your xorg.0.log say ? It should tell you what the issue(s) are.
Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th May 2006, 03:02 PM
mekon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 55
I had a lot of problems with X on installing FC4 on a machine using a Cyberbladei1 card using the Trident driver, eventually with help from this forum I got it fixed. I needed to change the Trident driver to Vesa, and after this X started ok, but with crappy screen resolution. After doing all the updates I was able to change the driver back to Trident, and it works ok now.

I've just had similar problems with FC5 on the other machine that has a Rage 128 card. Using nano, I changed the r128 driver to vesa in /etc/X11/xorg.conf, and again, X now starts ok. It may be worth trying this. I've only just finished the updates on FC5, so havn't tried changing the driver back to r128.

Don't know whats going on with FC4 and FC5, but I had no such problems on either machine with FC1, 2, and 3.

Nigel.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th May 2006, 03:37 PM
SHtRO Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 178
Make certain the kernel is current before doing the driver work. Do not use 2107 because it is broken.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
--Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th May 2006, 04:01 PM
mekon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 55
In my case, the kernel that came with the iso's is 2.6.15-1.2054_FC5.

Nigel.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th May 2006, 06:04 AM
Joe48 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Diego CA USA
Posts: 114
Seve
How do I access xorg.0.log ? The instillation (anaconda) will not start.
Please I need some help with this. thank you Joe

PS the only screen I get besides the Xserver trying to start is the 1st one in this sequence from this link.
FC5

I have 1 more question Would this instillation problem be solved by buying a ATI card that is supported by
Xorg ? Xorg (ATI) supported cards
Thanks again Joe

Last edited by Joe48; 17th May 2006 at 06:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th May 2006, 09:19 AM
rantanplan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 125
Look in /var/log. Ther are ALL system-logs (i think). There you can find xorg.0.log. Read the explanation at the beginning of the file. And look for errors/warnings. That could help to figure out what problem you have.

cu
__________________
No bugs, no hugs, no virus, no spiritus. :rolleyes:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18th May 2006, 06:03 AM
Joe48 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Diego CA USA
Posts: 114
rantanplan
How would I access this since FC5 will not install. Would the log be in FC4 which is already there ?
Thanks Joe48
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18th May 2006, 01:35 PM
a thing Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 288
Hmm, strange. Try installing by entering linux text at the boot prompt. Then on first boot, get to a TTY device with Ctrl+Alt+F[1-6], run yum update kernel and reboot into the new kernel.

DO NOT go out and get a new video card. You have one of the few that are very well supported by X.

Last edited by a thing; 18th May 2006 at 01:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 31st May 2006, 07:51 PM
JPurretta Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2
I'm having the same problem on one of my FC5 installations. The box I installed from scratch had no
problems, but the upgrade from FC4 leaves me without being able to startx. I suspect our problem
is related to a problem thread I read elsewhere. They say that in FC5 the fonts directory moved
from /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts -> /usr/share/X11/fonts which is causing all the headaches.
Here's a pointer to that thread.
http://www.nomachine.com/tr/view.php?id=TR04D01355
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 31st May 2006, 08:19 PM
JPurretta Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2
opps.. sorry folks. Wrong thread for my previous post.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fc5, start, xserver

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xserver appears to not start Masterofpsi Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 11 Only) 0 4th May 2009 04:58 AM
Failed to start xserver JustRob Using Fedora 38 19th February 2009 08:07 PM
xserver will not start morrislex Using Fedora 5 31st October 2008 11:49 AM
Xserver does not start on FC9 hmf204 Using Fedora 16 27th June 2008 03:05 AM
cannot start Xserver/KDE Ashton Using Fedora 1 10th August 2005 02:03 AM


Current GMT-time: 19:54 (Tuesday, 21-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Cupira Travel Photos - Tunisia Instagram Photos - Wazirabad Photos