Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 8th May 2006, 07:58 AM
Plankton Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 25
Could not allocate partitions as primary partitions

Hi,

I have a new dell system that came with Window XP installed.
I used partion magic to reduce my windows partition down by 50GB.
I downloaded FC5 install CDs and booted off the first one.

* At the boot: prompt I just hit enter to do a graphical install.
* I skipped the media test
* I click "Next" and pick English
* I click "Next" and pick U.S. English
* now I choose "create custom layout" and click next

Now I see:
Code:
                              type   format  sizeMB  start end
V Hard Drives 
   V /dev/hda          
            /dev/hda1    vfat                31        1       4
            /dev/hda2    ntfs              55592     5     7091
            Free           free space      55608  7092   14180
            /dev/hda3    ntfs              yada yada yada
            /dve/hda4    vfat              etc etc etc
I highlight the "Free space" and then click the "New" button.
The "Add Partition" dialog box appears and I try and make
the '/' partitions by setting:

- Mount point to '/'
- File System type to 'ext3'
- Size(MB) 1000
- "Fixed size"
- X Force to be priamry partitions

Then I click the "OK" button then BOOM!
I get the "Error Partitioning" error message box which says:

Could not allocate requested partitions: Partitioning failed:
Could not allocate partitions as primary partitions.

So ... I can't create any linux partitions ... and can't install Fedora Core 5

Please tell what I am doing wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 8th May 2006, 08:04 AM
markkuk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,075
You can't have more than four primary partitions, and you already have all those slots filled. If you need more than four partitions on a disk you must create an extended partition that acts as a container for the additional "logical" partitions, but then you can have at most three primary partitions in addition to the extended one.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th May 2006, 08:09 AM
Plankton Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 25
How do I create an extended partion with disk druid?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th May 2006, 09:20 AM
giulix Offline
"Fixed" by (vague) request
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: GMT+ 1
Posts: 2,950
Well, you said you used PM to shrink the windoze partition: It shouldn't have any problems in creating a logical partition, either...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th May 2006, 09:24 AM
markkuk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,075
You must delete one of your existing primary partitions before you can create an extended partition.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th May 2006, 10:53 AM
matelot Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
It's likely that your Dell will have three primary partitions, two of which are hidden. You'll see normally in Windows your NTFS partition (C:\); the other two deal with the OS and system restore.

I used the gparted LiveCD and shrunk the NTFS partition. Defrag it properly first with something like Dirms-S - more thorough than Windows Defrag. In the free space create an extended partition. That is now effectively your fourth primary, but is best described as a container in which you can put several logical partitions formatted as you wish for Linux.

Then run your install programme.

That method worked for me. Hope it helps.
__________________
Never squat with your spurs on.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 8th May 2006, 04:41 PM
Plankton Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 25
Great info guys. Let me see if I have this right.
I need to delete one of my "primary" partitions:

* Which one I am not sure I'll try removing "/dev/hda4" one of the vfat probably put there by
Dell for some reason.

* I delete this partition with partition magic (PM), right?

I need to create an "extended" partition.

* create the extended partition with PM right?

* I do this by not booting off of the PM CD but installing PM, right?

Once I have create the extented partition with PM I boot off the FC5 install CD
and everything should go smoothly from there.

Again thanks I will try this out once I get home tonight.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 8th May 2006, 04:55 PM
giulix Offline
"Fixed" by (vague) request
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: GMT+ 1
Posts: 2,950
PM 8 used to give you the option of creating 2 bootable floppy disks. I don't know if that has changed with later versions, or maybe you don't have a floppy drive (nowadays less and less people seem to care for one), anyway I guess it's the same if you do it from windoze.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 8th May 2006, 10:58 PM
matelot Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plankton
Great info guys. Let me see if I have this right.
I need to delete one of my "primary" partitions:

* Which one I am not sure I'll try removing "/dev/hda4" one of the vfat probably put there by
Dell for some reason.

* I delete this partition with partition magic (PM), right?...
If you want to keep XP, I'd make sure what they are before deleting them...
__________________
Never squat with your spurs on.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 9th May 2006, 06:30 AM
Plankton Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 25
Hey! I got it working. Thanks to all of you for your help. I didn't even need to delete any partitions. Just had to change them to "logical" partition whatever that means. I guess it was a function of having to know that I could only have four "primary" partition and how to use partition magic (right click on things).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
allocate, partitions, primary

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Could not allocate requested partitions - F11-Live Install sirloinsalot Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 4 8th April 2010 09:35 PM
Could not allocate requested partitions.. taske Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 10th June 2009 10:29 PM
Converting primary partitions into logical partitions lpsavoie Using Fedora 2 16th September 2008 04:14 PM
Primary and Extended Partitions LouArnold Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 13 1st November 2007 08:20 AM
4 Primary Partitions gonzalo76 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 11th March 2004 10:43 PM


Current GMT-time: 21:37 (Wednesday, 17-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat