Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 8th April 2006, 04:52 PM
b1ng0 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Installing FC5 on Headless Apple Xserve

Good morning all. I'm attempting to install FC5 on a headless Apple Xserve but am having problems configuring the PXE OS. I'm using the pxeos command to setup the PXE OS but it is asking for the location of the images/pxeboot directory which does not exist in FC5. So what is the proper way of setting up pxe so I can boot the Xserve off of tftp and do a remote FC5 install?

Thank you for your help
Evan Klinger
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 9th April 2006, 03:58 PM
b1ng0 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Apparently I need the Xserve to netboot the ppc64.img. Does anyone know how to do that?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th April 2006, 01:10 AM
Jman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 7,909
Apparently OpenFirmware does that.

Now just figure out how to do it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th January 2007, 10:58 PM
bonsaidouglas Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 18
How did the install go?

I've got a headless G5 dual processor xserve I'd like to install Plesk on. FC5 seems like the way to go but only if it'll work and can be repeated relatively painlessly. Did your install work?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
apple, fc5, headless, installing, xserve

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing FC9 On G4 & G5 XServe asyadiqin Mac Chat 6 3rd October 2008 08:30 PM
netbooting headless cluster xserve moosetooth Mac Chat 2 16th June 2007 10:09 PM
Installing FC6 with Apple Bootcamp Luigi239 EOL (End Of Life) Versions 2 9th December 2006 02:10 AM
Installing 'Headless' - couldn't probe video card polc1410 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 22nd May 2005 04:18 PM


Current GMT-time: 00:24 (Saturday, 02-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat