Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Using Fedora
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Using Fedora General support for current versions. Ask questions about Fedora that do not belong in any other forum.

Old 29th March 2004, 03:35 AM
jabz Offline

Maybe a HowTo install and run Evolution 1.4.6 and Evolution 1.4.6 Connector

This is possibly a HowTo...
I'll let the mod's decide, since I'm new to Fedora...
and...
WARNING!! THIS PROCEDURE MAY BREAK SOMETHING (krb5libs?, samba?)
DUE TO FORCING REMOVAL AND INSTALL OF COMPONENTS.... USE AT YOUR PERIL....I WON'T BE HELD RESPONSIBLE IF YOUR Fedora BOX BLOWS UP...
THIS PROCEDURE MAY OR MAY NOT WORK FOR YOU!!!.

Well that's enough shouting.. on to the nitty gritty....

I did a "yum update"
before all of this...

All of these procedures will require you to su root.

I had Evolution 1.4.6 and it's connector working fine in RH9, little did I know it doesn't even install on Fedora. But I dived in head first and didn't read up on compatibility, before installing Fedora :P
So I scoured via Google and pieced together how to get it working.

Step 1. download Evolution 1.4.6 and supporting dependencies from here...
ftp://apt.kde-redhat.org/apt/fedora/1/RPMS.evo/

Thanks to Rex Dieter

Install the supporting dependencies.
rpm -Uvh GConf2-2.4.0.1-0.fdr.0.1.i386.rpm GConf2-devel-2.4.0.1-0.fdr.0.1.i386.rpm
rpm -Uvh libgal2-1.99.11-0.fdr.0.1.i386.rpm libgal2-devel-1.99.11-0.fdr.0.1.i386.rpm
rpm -Uvh gtkhtml3-3.0.10-0.fdr.0.1.i386.rpm gtkhtml3-devel-3.0.10-0.fdr.0.1.i386.rpm
rpm -Uvh libbonobo-2.4.2-0.fdr.0.1.i386.rpm libbonobo-devel-2.4.2-0.fdr.0.1.i386.rpm
rpm -Uvh libbonoboui-2.4.2-0.fdr.0.1.i386.rpm libbonoboui-devel-2.4.2-0.fdr.0.1.i386.rpm
rpm -Uvh libsoup-1.99.28-0.fdr.0.1.i386.rpm libsoup-devel-1.99.28-0.fdr.0.1.i386.rpm

Note: I had to force remove the previous install of Evolution 1.4.5
rpm -e --nodeps evolution