Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 31st March 2006, 02:04 AM
webdude Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 23
Windows Shared Folders

How do I see the shared folders on my other computers that are running Windows XP? I don't want to share any folders, etc on my linux box but I want to grab some data from the XP box.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31st March 2006, 04:11 AM
pparks1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Westland, Michigan
Age: 39
Posts: 2,317
You need to mount your shared folder, or use konquerer (just one option) inside of X windows

mounting from a command line
mkdir /mnt/windowsshare

mount.cifs //name_of_XP_box/share /mnt/windowsshare -o username=name_of_nt_user_acccount

cd /mnt/windowsshare.....you should see your data


From inside of X windows;

This is just one way. Open up konquerer web browser. In the address field type in smb://name_of_XP_box/share. It will prompt you for username and password from an XP account with access. You should now connect and can drag and drop files.
__________________
RHCE and MCSE systems administrator
Registered Linux User #375155 For More Info or to register yourself

My Linux box is:
Ubuntu 8.04, Antec Sonata II case with 450-watt PS, AMD 64 X2 4600+ (65 watt), 4GB DDR2 800 RAM, 18X Lite-On DVD burner, Asus M2NPV-VM, Nvidia GeForce 7600GT (256MB), 320GB Western Digital SATA 3.0Gbps, Logitech MX-310, Dell 18" ultrasharp LCD, Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 and 2.1 Boston Acoustics sound system..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31st March 2006, 12:36 PM
webdude Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 23
Thanks pparks1 but that didn't work. I think I have a configuration problem somewhere.

My nework is behind a rounter. My public IP address is assigned to the router and all the boxes behind it are in the 192.168.1.X range.

When I run smbclient -L name_of_XP_box I get the following message:

timeout connecting to 70.26.224.204:445
Error connecting to 70.26.224.204 (Connection refused)
Connection to winxpwork failed
[webdude@bigdogpc ~]$

Why is my external ip address showing up?

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st March 2006, 04:05 PM
pparks1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Westland, Michigan
Age: 39
Posts: 2,317
webdude,

When you run smbclient, why is your name_of_XP_box resolving to 70.26.224.204? Is this your outside IP address? Did you put that into your /etc/hosts file? If so, you need to remove that.

You should be hitting the 192.168.1.x address from your linux box when you type ping name_of_xp_box.

As a test, go to your WindowsXP machine and run ipconfig. Then, from your linux box use the smbclient command with the IP instead. Also, try the mount command with the IP and it's probably working.

I suspect you put the external ip in the /etc/hosts file.
__________________
RHCE and MCSE systems administrator
Registered Linux User #375155 For More Info or to register yourself

My Linux box is:
Ubuntu 8.04, Antec Sonata II case with 450-watt PS, AMD 64 X2 4600+ (65 watt), 4GB DDR2 800 RAM, 18X Lite-On DVD burner, Asus M2NPV-VM, Nvidia GeForce 7600GT (256MB), 320GB Western Digital SATA 3.0Gbps, Logitech MX-310, Dell 18" ultrasharp LCD, Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 and 2.1 Boston Acoustics sound system..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st April 2006, 04:03 PM
webdude Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 23
pparks1,

You are right. My hosts file has my external IP address. I changed the IP address to be the 192.168.1.x one. I restarted the computer but it still doesn't work. I think I still have a config problem. Here is my latest investigation:

When I run smbclient -L name_of_XP_box I get the following message:

timeout connecting to 70.26.224.204:445
Error connecting to 70.26.224.204 (Connection refused)
Connection to winxpwork failed
[webdude@bigdogpc ~]$

Here is the interesting part. When I run the command:

smbclient -I 192.168.1.10 -L name_of_XP_box

everything works correctly. How does smbclient determine the ip address of the host machine? If it does a DNS query of my domain then I've got a problem because it will always be my external addrss. If it looks into /etc/hosts then it should be okay.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st April 2006, 06:01 PM
pparks1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Westland, Michigan
Age: 39
Posts: 2,317
You can check the /etc/nsswitch.conf file. Scroll down to the line that begins with hosts. It should read

hosts : files dns

This means that the system will ALWAYS look at files first (/etc/hosts) to determine a machine name rather than DNS. So, with that setting (which is the default), your /etc/hosts files ALWAYS overrides DNS (or is always used first).

When you change /etc/hosts, it's not necessary to reboot the linux computer.

Let's say your XP box is called Panther. Your /etc/hosts file would read like this;
192.168.1.3 panther.domain.com panther

Therefore, you should be able to go to a command line (on linux) and type ping panther and it should respond with 192.168.1.3. Optionally, you could also ping the fully qualified domain name (FQDN) of panther.domain.com and it should also respond with the 192.168.1.3 address.


As far as DNS goes, this really shouldn't need to go out to DNS ever. For example, let's say I have registered a domain of myname.com. Well, that name is associated with my outside IP address which is currently held by my router. However, the machines on my internal network have names likes panther.anotherdomain.com, and windy.anotherdomain.com, and airbag.anotherdomain.com. Therefore, there should NEVER be any confusion as to which is which. Your external domain name SHOULD NOT be the same as an internal machine name. Make sense?
__________________
RHCE and MCSE systems administrator
Registered Linux User #375155 For More Info or to register yourself

My Linux box is:
Ubuntu 8.04, Antec Sonata II case with 450-watt PS, AMD 64 X2 4600+ (65 watt), 4GB DDR2 800 RAM, 18X Lite-On DVD burner, Asus M2NPV-VM, Nvidia GeForce 7600GT (256MB), 320GB Western Digital SATA 3.0Gbps, Logitech MX-310, Dell 18" ultrasharp LCD, Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 and 2.1 Boston Acoustics sound system..

Last edited by pparks1; 1st April 2006 at 06:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st April 2006, 10:53 PM
webdude Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 23
pparks1,

That is it! I made a terrible configuration error when I installed FC5. Being a newbie I filled in the network screen with my dyndns domain. This was a BAD move. Using your reply and the new found knowledge, I ran system-config-network applet and removed all the references to mydomain.com which is external. After that everything worked out great!

Thank you so much for your help.

Cheers,
webdude.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2nd April 2006, 03:56 AM
pparks1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Westland, Michigan
Age: 39
Posts: 2,317
webdude,

Thanks for letting me know that you have things working. That's the great thing about this forum, you will almost always find somebody willing to help you out with your problems.

I'm sure others have done what you did in the past and will continue to do so in the future. And hopefully if they do they will find this thread and figure out what happened.
__________________
RHCE and MCSE systems administrator
Registered Linux User #375155 For More Info or to register yourself

My Linux box is:
Ubuntu 8.04, Antec Sonata II case with 450-watt PS, AMD 64 X2 4600+ (65 watt), 4GB DDR2 800 RAM, 18X Lite-On DVD burner, Asus M2NPV-VM, Nvidia GeForce 7600GT (256MB), 320GB Western Digital SATA 3.0Gbps, Logitech MX-310, Dell 18" ultrasharp LCD, Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 and 2.1 Boston Acoustics sound system..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
folders, shared, windows

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Samba on F8 - Cannot access windows shared folders tx836519 Servers & Networking 1 12th December 2008 06:56 PM
Access to Windows shared folders and printers out-of-the-box? ygramoel Servers & Networking 3 3rd July 2008 09:42 AM
Windows live messenger shared folders PsyGhost Linux Chat 1 7th June 2008 11:56 AM
Windows shared folders via Gnome voodoodoc Using Fedora 3 3rd March 2008 09:22 PM
Accessing Windows Shared Folders rinux Servers & Networking 16 23rd May 2004 03:42 AM


Current GMT-time: 20:54 (Tuesday, 29-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat