Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 27th March 2006, 05:21 AM
Fibonacci Offline

WinXP not booting from GRUB

Hello.
First of all, I have no experience whatsoever with Linux, so I apologise in advance for any stupidity I might have made, or detail I might have omitted. That being said, I can proceed:

I have three hard drives, partitioned as follows:
·First, PATA, 20GB NTFS, with Windows XP installed on it.
·Second, PATA, one partition of 20GB in which I installed FC5 (so it's ext3, previously FAT32), and another of 60GB FAT32.
·Third, SATA, 250GB FAT32.
I finished downloading the DVD iso for Fedora Core 5 i386 this morning, so I proceeded to the installation on the aforementioned partition. When it came to the part where it checks for other operating systems on the machine, it listed Fedora Core 5 and "Other"; I (wrongly) assumed everything was fine and continued. GRUB was apparently installed on the third hard disk (sda1).
The installation was successfully completed, and I rebooted the computer. Fedora was running flawlessly. I then decided to reboot into Windows, so I chose the "Other" system in the GRUB menu, to find only a black screen with junk characters. Following a friend's advice, I loaded the recovery console from the WinXP installation CD, and ran fixmbr. When I rebooted the system again, it just didn't boot... no Windows, no GRUB (not even a shell), no Fedora, no anything.
Then I disconnected every hard disk except for the first one, and Windows loaded without problems. Connected the second HD, and still without problems. I then tried to reinstall GRUB, so I did what I found by googling: boot linux rescue from the Fedora DVD, and then run the following commands:
Code:
chroot /mnt/sysimage
grub-install /dev/hda
exit
... to reboot to a black console-like screen where only the letters "GRUB" are visible, and nothing can be typed (so it was not a real console).