Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 3rd April 2010, 12:16 AM
metaylor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 208
linuxfedorafirefox
Question Gnome Desktop stop launching

I use livecd-creator and a custom kickstart file to create an F12 liveUSB image.

About a month ago I created an image for a project then I created liveUSB tflash drives which are being used on 6 different computers.

Since I created the first image, I have make modifications to accommodate new requirements such as changing the login name, including additional packages, adding custom scripts, etc and there have been no problems.

About a 10 days ago, I received a new change request. I created an image same as before. However, with this new image the Gnome Desktop stopped launching on one of the 6 computers.

The Fedora 12 splash screen is displayed then the monitor goes blank and "no input signal" is displayed. It works fine on the other five computers. The liveUSB previously created still works on this computer, so I do not believe this a hardware issue. I provided this suspect image to my counterpart at another site with models of the same 6 computers and he had the exact same experience.

since I use the --cache=/f12-packages in the command line, I figured I would create new image but without using this parameter thinking that perhaps a particular package is causing this issue. However this did not resolve the problem.

I have no idea of where to begin. To work around this, I manually incorporated the changes I needed. However, I would really like to know what changed or what could be causing this issue.

Anyone have any ideas on how to troubleshoot this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th May 2010, 08:33 PM
metaylor Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 208
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Gnome Desktop stop launching

I have an update to this that I hope will lead to replies to the post. When I install the USB and turn on the power, the BIOS splash screen is displayed. Additionally, the Fedora Count down screen is also displayed.

However, after the count done has completed, the screen goes dark with only the cursor displayed. After a few seconds the monitor loses synchronization and the message "No input signal" is displayed.

Also, allow me to point out that if I install F12 directly to the hard drive, I do not have this issue

So I am looking for some information to help me determine when using the LiveUSB, which of the boot up script is running at the time the message is displayed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
desktop, gnome, launching, stop

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to stop X from launching? fra Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 4 14th September 2007 06:10 AM
launching gnome-main-menu from CLI Al3xanR0 Using Fedora 2 22nd December 2006 05:57 PM
why do gnome apps stop launching? idiotprogrammer Using Fedora 2 10th July 2006 12:18 PM
gnome dual-head program launching thelight Using Fedora 0 25th January 2005 09:03 PM


Current GMT-time: 10:13 (Monday, 22-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat