Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 17th October 2012, 05:45 AM
br m p Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: California
Posts: 2
linuxsafari
Name resolution failing

I am having a problem connecting to the internet:

In Konsole:

$ ping google.com
ping: unknown host google.com

But

$ ping 173.194.75.94
PING 173.194.75.94 (173.194.75.94) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 173.194.75.94: icmp_req=2 ttl=45 time=107ms
etc..
^c
--- 173.194.75.94 ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 5 received, 0% packet loss, time 4006ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 106.843/107.294/108.533/0.633 ms

However my router pings the ip AND dns correctly from the netgear diagnostics program

I can connect without issue to other wireless hotspots whats the issue?

I'm running Linux 3.5.3-1.fc17.x86_64 x86_64 KDE 4.8.5

Netgear N300 Wireless ADSL2+ modem router

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17th October 2012, 03:56 PM
marriedto51 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 897
linuxfirefox
Re: Name resolution failing

It sounds like you have no DNS server configured.

Try opening the network manager connections editor with
Code:
nm-connection-editor
then select the relevant connection and click the Edit button. Make sure that you have at least one IP address in the "DNS servers" box: you might just want to make this be the IP address of your router, or you might wish to use something else like OpenDNS.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th October 2012, 04:04 PM
inkrypted Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 156
linuxfirefox
Re: Name resolution failing

Sometimes this can happen with a fast internet connection when the pool of avalible IP's change. Try unplugging your DSL or cable modem for a bit and try again. If not I agree it's a DNS issue and you can try an alternate free server such as Google DNS 4.4.4.4, 4.4.8.8 or OpenDNS 208.67.222.222,208.67.220.220 and see if that fixes the issue.
__________________
Inkrypted
(Insert witty comment here)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th October 2012, 03:14 AM
br m p Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: California
Posts: 2
linuxchrome
Re: Name resolution failing

The resolv.conf file was setting the wrong nameserver. For some reason it had 192.168.1.1. I changed the file to my router's IP which is 192.168.0.1 and now its working.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th October 2012, 11:11 AM
stevea Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 8,696
linuxfirefox
Re: Name resolution failing

Quote:
Originally Posted by inkrypted View Post
Sometimes this can happen with a fast internet connection when the pool of avalible IP's change. Try unplugging your DSL or cable modem for a bit and try again.
Not so much.


Quote:
Originally Posted by br m p View Post
The resolv.conf file was setting the wrong nameserver. For some reason it had 192.168.1.1. I changed the file to my router's IP which is 192.168.0.1 and now its working.
Manually editing the resolv.conf works until the next connection or lease update, then the file is re-written.

You system didn't just make up the 192.168.1.1 IP, it's either in the dhcp server (router) or else it's in your NetworkManager config.

marriedto51 gave you the means to verify your NM connection settings.
__________________
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dns, failing, resolution, wireless

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gnome-shell failing - failback also failing omgimdrunk Using Fedora 3 9th June 2012 07:43 PM
Window resolution enlarged but screen resolution OK Cyclist Using Fedora 2 11th March 2010 09:05 PM
Update: Dependency resolution failing concoran Using Fedora 32 13th March 2008 02:20 PM
Login screen resolution different from desktop resolution pobbz Using Fedora 5 5th June 2007 08:59 PM
Set my screen resolution to a higher resolution yinglcs Using Fedora 18 21st February 2007 02:57 AM


Current GMT-time: 23:03 (Friday, 25-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat